We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #61 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not worth it!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Looks good from online pictures, but in reality its secluded place. Though the resort is big, with lot of greenery all around but in night it looks scary. We spotted very few people staying there. Even the room we got was not up to the mark. It was so huge, that our voices were echoing in the room. Was kind of scary. The architecture is old, which looks decent, but not worth for staying. Food was good, staff was nice. Whole experience was okay. Will think twice before recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somyakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    381
    106
    60
    33
See reviews for
245
533
60
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel just enhanced our Ubud experience! It is simply magical, we loved it. High point? The gardens at night! There are just no words to describe how beautiful they are. We stayed in Maduwood room that is in a very calm a private area of the hotel, very nice. I also recommend the spa. Not very cheap compared to other options in town, but worth your money. Food at Indochine restaurante is also very good. About the staff, they defenetly go the extra mille to help you. Excelent customer care! All in all, a wonderfull experience. Perfect for a honeymoon, recommend it 100%.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here recently with my daughter. We were allocated a beautiful twin bedded deluxe room as per our pre-payment. Unfortunately, there was a baby next door and when we arrived in the afternoon after a long flight, we just wanted to sleep! Due to the extremely thin walls, this was impossible due to the babys' constant crying. After going to front desk and asking them to change our room, we were eventually taken a long way through the gardens and up some stairs where there were 4 rooms, we were given the one at the end! I felt as if it was my fault we were given this room far away from everything! There were no other people on the 1st floor where we were sent. I don't really believe we received even a deluxe room! It was much smaller than the original room I had prepaid, so I was left very disappointed. No-one even bothered to ask me how the new room was! I felt this was very poor customer service indeed!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandypink1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I was lost in too many choices and trying to get just the right place in the Ubud area. A fellow traveler told me to just take a night at The Mansion and see if you like it. I stayed 5 nights!!!
As a solo women traveler, I felt well cared for at The Mansion. Ms. Kerti Komang, in the restaurant took instant care of me as I arrived with a bit of a cold. Her kindness and attention was warm as well as the ginger tea. I looked forward to coming back from Ubud hoping to see Kerti. She will remain a friend for life.
The grounds and gardens are well kept with loving care and attention to detail on color and beauty. There are six different swimming areas and a spa with massage available. The art collection around the hotel is amazing.
The restaurant was nicely prepared food and service was attentive. Breakfast overlooking the pool was a wonderful way to start the morning.
The Mansion offers a free shuttle to Ubud and back several time of day and the evening. Ketut was a wonderful driver and person. Taking great pride in his work and Bali, sharing things about Bali you might ask and always taking a moment to learn a bit about me. On his way home one night he saw me walking in Ubud and stopped to say good bye to me as I was leaving the next day.
Ubud is only 7-10 minutes by car. Walking would be about 45-min to an hour. This is perfect because it is so nice and quiet at night and even during the day for relaxing from the hum of Ubud. Around the hotel are some walks in the rice fields and some neighborhood businesses and few cafes.
The rooms were quite, clean and had anything I could need including a very comfortable bed.
I highly recommend The Mansion and look forward to my next trip to the beautiful land of Bali.
Thank you to the wonderful staff at The Mansion.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elie G, General Manager at The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa,

We are delighted to read through your wonderful review about The Mansion Bali and the services you experienced while you were staying with us. Ibu Kerti, Bapak Ketut and the entire team were very happy to receive your kind comments.

We hope we will soon have the opportunity to welcoming you back at our property,

Kindest regards,

Elie Gaborit, Mr.
General Manager
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa ~ Ubud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

it is agesago, when this hotel was nice...
on pictures it looks fantastic! lovely garden!
but all furniture outside is rotten, dirty etc you just dont want to sit on any of them,
pool: stones next to it - all moving, not fixed....

feels like a ghost house....everything is just old!!! and horrible,
stayed there 5nights.....

restaurant: you will be the only guests!!!!

Room Tip: it is quiet area, but loud: no isolation, you can hear in your bed every insect flying outside! ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katja m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elie G, General Manager at The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Ms. Katja,

Warm greetings from The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa,

We would like to thank you for staying at The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa Ubud, an internationally recognized resort.

Among hundreds of guests indulging at our restaurants, pools, garden, rooms & spa facilities each day, we regret that you could not enjoy the same as our other guests.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to host you in the future. We would be happy to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.

Kindest regards,

Elie Gaborit, Mr.
General Manager
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

If you are a little tired of large chain hotels, but still want a luxury resort experience, head to the Mansion. It's a little quirky, and I can understand why some people don't like it. But it has a character and charm all of its own, the grounds and rooms are spectacular and the service is fantastic. We stayed with our two kids (8 & 12) in the Villa Rama which was fitted with two extra beds for us. Although it was a single room, it was huge and we did not feel cramped at all. The kids swam in 2 of the 4 large pools, and we got lost in the gardens at least once. The grounds are amazing - full of nooks and statues and ponds and tree houses and much more. The food was very good and the spa, while expensive by Bali standards, was still cheaper than Australia and in a spectacular setting with frogs providing the serenade and very helpful staff. We were ready to move on after 3 days, but would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LesNKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elie G, General Manager at The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Mr./Mrs. Kerry,

Warm greetings from The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa,

Thank you so much for taking time to write. We are most pleased to read that you and your family have enjoyed The Mansion services & warm Balinese team, the unique landscape & style of the resort, as well as the many swimming-pools.

Thank you for staying with us, and we all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa.

Kindest regards,

Elie Gaborit, Mr.
General Manager
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

As a family of 4 we loved the Mansions. It far exceeded our expectations in terms of a place to stay. Rooms were good enough for 4 star but grounds, staff and food were more 5 star. Choice of pools and zen like grottos and not feeling crowded with other travellers meant it was hard to leave and look around Ubud! Very relaxing and beautiful surrounds - a place to return to. The free shuttle into ubud was a bonus.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShaneShona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
2.6 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 195 in Ubud
674 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#46 of 195 in Ubud
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lokha Ubud
The Lokha Ubud
#53 of 195 in Ubud
555 reviews
1.1 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.1 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#35 of 195 in Ubud
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Jl. Penestanan, Sayan, Ubud 80571 , Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Ubud
#44 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#47 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#52 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion Hotel & Spa is one of Bali's rare gems. Set in a tropical lush green park estate, it offers outstanding hospitality and the extensive facilities of a luxury resort. The Mansion is a registered five stars luxury hotel. The Mansion is situated in the artist community of Penestanan on the Sayan Ridge just a few minutes drive from the centre of Ubud, the island's cultural centre. The Mansion Resort has been nominated by the prestigious Conde Nast Traveler as the World's 100 Best New Hotel, 2004 Hot List, is selected by Luxury Group since 2006, and is choosen by National Geographic Traveler Indonesia as one of 20 favourite hotels, may 2010. Hotels were chosen throughout Indonesia based on the following criteria: service; unique hotel personality; environment and social awareness; online booking facilities; architecture and views; safety and security; value for money. Heaven & Earth Spa at The Mansion Resort has been awarded by the prestigious "World Luxury Spa Awards" as "Best Luxury Hotel Spa - Country Winner 2011" and "Best Luxury Medical Spa - Country Winner 2012" , and was recently selected by Conde Nast Johansens 2013 in its epicurean collection of Luxury Spa. Experience the ultimate in massage and healing rituals at Heaven & Earth, The Mansion's celebrated spa facility. Treatments are drawn from the most traditional therapies to the most comprehensive selection of modern medical spa therapies to rekindle your Body, Health, Beauty, Mind & Senses. Guests at The Mansion can enjoy a unique culinary experience reminiscent of classic dining ambiance. In an ornate setting, perfect for celebrating a special occasion or important announcement, dining at The Mansion offers the ultimate in ambience, service and attention to detail. At Indochine, savour the unique combination of Asian & Continental nouvelle cuisine, an ideal location for a select dinner or gathering. Cafe La Terrace offers a casual menu in an airy conservatory, decorated with an impressive array of art selected from The Mansion's private collection.Sia Pacific region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion Resort Hotel And Spa
The Mansion Hotel Ubud
Mansion Hotel Ubud
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing