We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #60 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Karlstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Excellent service, impeccable rooms (with the exeption that there was no door to the toilet), cosy grounds with four smaller rooms. Pricey decent restuarant, great breakfast. We were going to the Gili islands afterwards but got delayed because bad weather on the ocean. The hotel took care of everything and was of invaluable help.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    379
    104
    60
    32
See reviews for
242
527
60
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

This hotel is not the 5 stars it claims to be. I have high expectations for a 5 star hotel and they were not met at the Mansion. Read below for my explanation but I would NOT stay here again and would only recommend you do if you get an amazing rate and are prepared to ALWAYS go out for meals and put up with MANY small annoyances. I stayed for 7 nights solo on a working holiday in a deluxe room. This hotel seems to have won awards many years ago but in my opinion would be questionable that they deserve any of those now. I've stayed in much nicer places in Bali for similar prices.

Don't get me wrong, there were some good things about the hotel - the setting is picturesque - generally pretty quiet, trees all around, pools throughout the hotel; it is about 10mins in a car to town (depending on your driver and the traffic); the staff are friendly (but see below - SLOW); the rooms are decorated nicely and the beds are super comfortable; there is a spa in the hotel which does amazing (and relatively expensive) massages and other treatments. But it ends about there...

The restaurant, Indochine, don't bother. The menu is boring, the meals small, service slow and it is overpriced. If you stay at Mansion, definitely go into town for meals unless you're desperate and exhausted from a day of exploring Ubud. Be prepared for stray cats mingling (not entirely unexpected in Bali), but don't expect the staff to shoo them away. Breakfast is served in Indochine, always the same things on offer which are (apart from the Indonesian dishes) poor attempts at western breakfast food (think soggy French toast with watered-down maple syrup, horrible bread and pastries, and not-so-fresh looking fruit). Fight for a table if you arrive between 8 and 830am. And don't expect the restaurant to be open at 7 as advertised. Leaving for work at 715 I thought I could get a quick breakfast in, only the restaurant wasn't open. Also when you do finally get in to the restaurant and have fought off dozens of French tourists for your precious table (granted I was there in European school holiday time!), be prepared to wait for your eggs as they have one chef servicing dozens of people at the egg/pancake station.

And don't order anything for room service or by the pool, you'll be waiting at least an hour and it will be cold when it arrives.

Speaking of which, the pools are nice but again 5 star? Really? There is practically no service around the pool areas, towels are hard to come by and when you do get one you hope it's going to be a big green and blue stripey one (not a crappy thin little white one fraying at the edges).

The wifi is unreliable and slow. Being in Ubud on business but I was unable to get much work done due to the very poor connection. There were better wifi connections in the local warungs in town. From what I understand, wifi is generally not great throughout Ubud but surely a resort can do better than this.

Maintenance of the hotel is generally lacking and not 5 star standard (although the gardens are nicely maintained). Also things like room service plates are left outside rooms for more than a day, attracting ants (and I'm sure other pests...). Unpleasant to have to walk past.

The gym, while I didn't use it, consists of one treadmill, two elliptical machines, one stationary bike a couple of hand weights and a weights machine, all looking a bit dodgy. It overlooks one of the main pools so you don't get much privacy if you're wanting to work out. I didn't use it for this reason. It's position also means that if you are relaxing poolside and someone comes to use the gym, all you can then hear is the pounding of feet on the treadmill or the whirring of the bike...very intrusive and unpleasant.

Staff - so friendly, always smiley, but my god are they slow. Whether it's room service or getting a fork at the restaurant, they are definitely on Bali time. Whilst once in a while this really isn't a big deal, when everything is taking forever it really does start to wear away at you. Also no one seems to really want to solve any problem that you have - all you hear is "wait a moment" and they disappear never to return.

Spa - I had a traditional scrub/massage which wasn't what I expected from the description on the list. It was very good nonetheless. The spa is much more expensive than what you'd pay in town for a similar treatment (it was about AU$65 for a one hour massage, which is creeping up to Sydney prices!). I guess you're paying for the convenience of having the treatment "at home".

Shuttle bus service - every 1.5hrs (not regular enough), it's a bun fight to get a spot (though they'll get a random taxi driver to take any left over people), but it often runs late. It's too far to walk into town regularly and quite risky on the dangerous roads.

I had a few other problems with the hotel that I won't detail, as the hotel dealt with them to satisfaction after discussion with management, but needless to say my stay was not what I expected. It was very disappointing and impacted negatively on my entire stay in Ubud. I would definitely look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KG0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

My boyfriend and I arrived at The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa on August 6th and left on August 10th. The staff had been already friendly before we left from Italy answering all my many questions about our accommodation, the chance to be picked up at the airport and on the possibility to have a car with a guide to accompany us around for the duration of our stay and showing us explaining all the wonders of the island of Bali.
When we arrived at the airport we found the friendly Mr. Ketut that all the way until the hotel has already begun to show us the road for all of the wonderful temples and interesting things that we could visit in the next 3 days of our stay. When finally arrived at the hotel we were greeted by the friendly staff and a refreshing welcome drink made ​​from fruit juice and ginger. The path leading from reception to our room (Singasari) was amazing: we seemed to walk immersed in the jungle! The room was spotless and furnished with nice Balinese taste, the particularity of our room was the absence of the door separating the bathroom from the bedroom. Overcome the initial concerns we were excited: the most beautiful thing was the wonderful bath in lava rock!
Then what about breakfast? Fresh fruit, pastries always delicious, various cereals, fresh yogurt, fruit juices and so on and so forth! Unfortunately we were unable to enjoy the pool and the spa because of our desire to explore the island as much as possible in all its wonderful aspects, but we got the impression that even about that the staff was extremely prepared and available!

In short, highly recommended hotel to stay couple but also for family holidays!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FillyOli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuthurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We only had one night in The Mansion but certainly would have liked to have spent longer there. The arrival is very grand and harks back to the days of the Indian Raj. We booked a double and a twin room for our two boys but were shown two twin rooms. this was quickly sorted out albeit the rooms were a little distance apart. The hotel is a lot bigger than it looks from the outside with many different areas to explore. The hotels shuttle bus takes you the 10 mins in to the centre of town where there are many shops and restaurants.

The rooms were well appointed and comfortable, although the bathrooms were quite small.

The staff were all very friendly and extremely courteous - we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Loved every detail gone in making it a lovely property worth the stay !! The owner not only has style but a flair for class and luxury !! Staff is friendly and always ready to help !! Made our stay extremely comfortable with all Information available at the reception. Would rate it more than a 10 stars if the scale was available.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Narayan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminyak, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We enjoyed a couple of days in this little paradise. Great service, super reception (we felt like movie stars), very friendly staff, superb grounds.We found to our surprise that hotel management speaks French, which in our case was very helpful.The complimentary regular shuttle to Ubud is great asset.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stefan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel was just great.
- The rooms are enormous. Ours was around 700 sq feet.
- The private bathroom was actually outside (enclosed) and had a large bathtub and a nice separate shower. Not only is it outside, but they have decorated it very well with plants and pictures. Easily my favourite bathroom ever.
- Breakfast was delicious and there were fresh omelets and pancakes made to order.
- Room service was prompt and delicious
- The grounds are stunning. They put a lot of effort into the grounds and it definitely shows.
- The travel desk was very helpful in planning any day trips or giving advice on what shows to go see.
- They have a free shuttle to/from town that was convenient
- The WiFi was very weak and not very usable in our room. Hopefully this improves. They do have computers upstairs in the lobby which made up for it.
- There were numerous pools and sunbathing areas around the hotel
- definitely not crowded

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

We stayed in the room called "Metal Wood". It was fantastic I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room "Metal Wood" and it was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steinbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
2.6 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#46 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#32 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.1 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.3 mi away
The Lokha Ubud
The Lokha Ubud
#54 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Jl. Penestanan, Sayan, Ubud 80571 , Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Ubud
#44 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#47 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#52 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion Hotel & Spa is one of Bali's rare gems. Set in a tropical lush green park estate, it offers outstanding hospitality and the extensive facilities of a luxury resort. The Mansion is a registered five stars luxury hotel. The Mansion is situated in the artist community of Penestanan on the Sayan Ridge just a few minutes drive from the centre of Ubud, the island's cultural centre. The Mansion Resort has been nominated by the prestigious Conde Nast Traveler as the World's 100 Best New Hotel, 2004 Hot List, is selected by Luxury Group since 2006, and is choosen by National Geographic Traveler Indonesia as one of 20 favourite hotels, may 2010. Hotels were chosen throughout Indonesia based on the following criteria: service; unique hotel personality; environment and social awareness; online booking facilities; architecture and views; safety and security; value for money. Heaven & Earth Spa at The Mansion Resort has been awarded by the prestigious "World Luxury Spa Awards" as "Best Luxury Hotel Spa - Country Winner 2011" and "Best Luxury Medical Spa - Country Winner 2012" , and was recently selected by Conde Nast Johansens 2013 in its epicurean collection of Luxury Spa. Experience the ultimate in massage and healing rituals at Heaven & Earth, The Mansion's celebrated spa facility. Treatments are drawn from the most traditional therapies to the most comprehensive selection of modern medical spa therapies to rekindle your Body, Health, Beauty, Mind & Senses. Guests at The Mansion can enjoy a unique culinary experience reminiscent of classic dining ambiance. In an ornate setting, perfect for celebrating a special occasion or important announcement, dining at The Mansion offers the ultimate in ambience, service and attention to detail. At Indochine, savour the unique combination of Asian & Continental nouvelle cuisine, an ideal location for a select dinner or gathering. Cafe La Terrace offers a casual menu in an airy conservatory, decorated with an impressive array of art selected from The Mansion's private collection.Sia Pacific region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion Resort Hotel And Spa
The Mansion Hotel Ubud
Mansion Hotel Ubud
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing