We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and needs more maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #62 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We stayed at The Mansion for 4 days in April for a short vacation and we were disappointed when we got to our villa. We had requested for a 2 bedroom villa because we travelled with family as well. We were looking forward to a relaxing weekend in a villa, the kind you expect to get in Bali.

Instead of getting a whole villa, the entire villa building, to ourselves, we were brought to a section of the villa. It was just 2 bedrooms in 1 part of the house sharing 1 bathroom. Only our room had a tv and minibar, and the other room had a bed, wardrobe and dresser.

The staff was very gracious, warm, and very helpful.

The Mansion was beautiful but a bit too rustic for us. We could really use some amenities such as bedroom slippers, and the rooms could also be furnished. It was weird there was only 1 minibar in 1 bedroom, and it would have been better if the hotel had informed us about the layout of the "2 bedroom villa".

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeriemKPeillet, Manager at The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2010

Dear Ms and Mr RachLZ,

As you user details are not visible or incomplete on Trip Advisor, as the General Manager of the Mansion Resort Hotel and Spa since March 2010, I would be delighted to know your complete name and the dates of your stay at the Mansion Resort Hotel and Spa. This would give me the opportunity to have a complete information about your booking, the reservation you made and the price you paid.
Only at that moment, Iwould be able to reply to your statement, in the most appropriated manner.
However, I am very surprised that you were expecting to have an entire villa where to stay as the Mansion do not have Villa on sale as accommodations. The description made on all the extranet and event on our website do not mention it and cannot induce to error or misunderstandings.

I thank you in advance for your co-operation and for your participation.

Kind regards,

Meriem K. Peillet, Ms.
General Manager
The Mansion Resort Hotel and Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

843 - 849 of 1,298 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2010

Excellent selection. Staff very efficient and professional. Breakfast scrumpious. Convenient and punctual van service to Ubud city center. We hired a driver/guide for a day's outing and quite appreciative of airport service. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PKT2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

I've never been disappointed with any hotel I've stayed at in Bali and the Mansion is no different. It's really designed to look like a mansion which makes for a really unique hotel design. The decor also seems very personal with lots of art objects scattered around.
We requested a villa with a pool. Since none of their villas have private pools, we were given the Frangipani villa, right in front of the main hotel pool. It was just like having our own pool.
The rooms are very spacious, and have separate bedroom, living room and study/closet room. The Indochine restaurant serves excellent shaking beef and fish curry and has a beautiful view of the valley across the (second) swimming pool.

The hotel is slightly far away from the bustle of the Ubud market, but its still very accessible via a complimentary shuttle that runs every hour. The staff and service is excellent as always in Bali and make you feel genuinely welcome. We didn't get a chance to try the spa on this trip, but it seemed pretty expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ifmanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Mansion was absolutely beautiful!!! We were in awe as soon as drove past the gated entrance, past the fountains and up to the main entrance & lobby. The grounds looked like an oasis. The rooms were decadent but romantic at the same time. And the staff were so friendly and very accommodating. We took advantage of the spa and got a massage...it was so fabulous we ending up going back the next day! This place is not your typical resort type of vacation spot. It is more intimate and relaxing. You absolutely feel like your in your own little world. If you do feel like joining the rest of society, you can take a shuttle or car service into town which is less than 10 minutes away. If your feeling adventurous you can also walk into town but make sure you get directions from the concierge. You have to walk on the local side streets which wind around and can be confusing but that's also what makes it so fun. There are a ton of cute shops and galleries. After all, Ubud is known for their artists.

Overall, The Mansion made our stay so beautifully memorable. Thanks!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suebeehoney77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 26 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 January 2010

The Mansion is one of those quiet, unobtrusive, boutique hotels for the discerning traveller. It is just the right size (about 20 or so rooms, only half occupied during our stay), just the right location (away from the center of Ubud, yet only a 10 minute shuttle ride away), the right ambience and excellent service. This is the good news that makes it a gem specially at a price that is deeply discounted from their so called rack rates or standard rates.

Now the bad news. This gem badly needs managemnt. There appeared to be a total absence of it during our 4 day stay there. It appeared to run on auto pilot with no manager in sight or on call, in spite of having almost 2 staff for each guest! And each staff member has the perfect training for his / her job, and thats it. Beyond that they are clueless. They are polite to a fault. But ask them for information or help, and they are left flustered.

The following went wrong during the 4 days, and yet there was no explanation for any of them:

1. The wifi did not work.
2. I was bitten black and blue by mosquitoes while lying on the spa table having a massage in the middle of the day.
3. The room had all the amenities one could ask for including the water kettle. Yet there was no outlet to plug in the kettle!
4. Healthy and vegetarian meals are not the norm or even understood. One evening I ordered veg spring rolls and veg soup and clarified and specified over and over what I meant by vegetarian. Yet, the dishes smelt and tasted of fish/meat.
5. Breakfast becomes monotonous and boring after the first 2 days for lack of choice.
6. The shuttle schedule from Ubud to the hotel says 20 mins.after each hour. Twice we kept waiting at the appointed place and time in soaking rain, but no sign of the shuttle. Later on we realized from another guest that one has to call the hotel to 'arrange' for the shuttle!!!
7. Lighting in the rooms is very poorly thought out. There is no light at or near the sink in the bathroom. There is no reading light or place in the room. So good luck trying to read a book or whatever in the room after sunset.

However the beauty and value of the place is such that all of the above bad news is far overwhelmed by the beauty, elegance and service at the place. If only, there was someone to keep this gem polished all the time!

Go for it!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ZenHealer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 15 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.6 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#26 of 199 in Ubud
788 reviews
1.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.6 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#39 of 199 in Ubud
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.6 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#44 of 199 in Ubud
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Jl. Penestanan, Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Ubud
#44 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#49 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#53 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £57 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion Hotel & Spa is one of Bali's rare gems. Set in a tropical lush green park estate, it offers outstanding hospitality and the extensive facilities of a luxury resort. The Mansion is a registered five stars luxury hotel. The Mansion is situated in the artist community of Penestanan on the Sayan Ridge just a few minutes drive from the centre of Ubud, the island's cultural centre. The Mansion Resort has been nominated by the prestigious Conde Nast Traveler as the World's 100 Best New Hotel, 2004 Hot List, is selected by Luxury Group since 2006, and is choosen by National Geographic Traveler Indonesia as one of 20 favourite hotels, may 2010. Hotels were chosen throughout Indonesia based on the following criteria: service; unique hotel personality; environment and social awareness; online booking facilities; architecture and views; safety and security; value for money. Heaven & Earth Spa at The Mansion Resort has been awarded by the prestigious "World Luxury Spa Awards" as "Best Luxury Hotel Spa - Country Winner 2011" and "Best Luxury Medical Spa - Country Winner 2012" , and was recently selected by Conde Nast Johansens 2013 in its epicurean collection of Luxury Spa. Experience the ultimate in massage and healing rituals at Heaven & Earth, The Mansion's celebrated spa facility. Treatments are drawn from the most traditional therapies to the most comprehensive selection of modern medical spa therapies to rekindle your Body, Health, Beauty, Mind & Senses. Guests at The Mansion can enjoy a unique culinary experience reminiscent of classic dining ambiance. In an ornate setting, perfect for celebrating a special occasion or important announcement, dining at The Mansion offers the ultimate in ambience, service and attention to detail. At Indochine, savour the unique combination of Asian & Continental nouvelle cuisine, an ideal location for a select dinner or gathering. Cafe La Terrace offers a casual menu in an airy conservatory, decorated with an impressive array of art selected from The Mansion's private collection.Sia Pacific region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion Hotel Ubud
The Mansion Resort Hotel And Spa
Mansion Hotel Ubud
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing