We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, nice and quiet”
Review of Villa Sonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Sonia
Ranked #17 of 614 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Quite romantic. Large rooms with sunken bath, netted bed, private balcony and outdoor shower. We ate the included breakfasts on our balcony and had a nice dinner there one night too. You can walk to Central Ubud through the Monkey Forest or the staff will drive you in. Quiet location (which central Ubud would not be). The AC was not that strong but that is OK in the Ubud climate. Its does not have a lot of rooms so a strong sense of privacy.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank FB165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

Cost of accommodation at this hotel was not matched by standards of comfort or service.
Rooms were large and clean, but somewhat sparsely furnished with no comfortable seating.
The swimming pool is a good size and pleasantly landscaped as you would expect in Bali, but with only four sun loungers, which have seen better days and apparently also double as massage beds.
The staff are very pleasant but took a long time to deliver room service. Breakfast varied in quality and on one occasion we had to ask for cutlery and other items that had been forgotten. When we had a problem with hot water staff did not communicate what was being done to fix it so that we had to keep chasing them up.
Not very large problems admittedly but not expected given the price paid.



  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

It's a wonderful hotel with a lovely pool and nice spacious rooms. The room has a big bath and an outdoor shower. The bed is large and comfy. Breakfast is simple but tasty From the hotel it's a 10 minute walk to central Ubud right through monkey forest. The hotel offers a free pick up service.
The hotel is very quiet and peaceful and a great place to stay if you want to go to Ubud.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed three nights and were a bit disappointed with Villa Sonia. The grounds are lovely, the rooms are big and private, the staff is friendly and breakfast on the balcony is a nice touch. However, our room smelled of sewage, a couple of light bulbs were not working, the walls and lamp covers were dirty, the toilet sometimes wouldn't fill back up, the hot water stopped working during our stay, breakfast was served 45 minutes before the time requested on our first morning (making for a rather unpleasant wake-up call) and inexplicably, a trashcan was half-filled with water when we first arrived. The internet connection for our room did not work half of the time.
Maybe we were just unlucky, but with all these small things combined, we were not as charmed by Villa Sonia as other reviewers were. Especially when comparing it to the other wonderful accommodations we've stayed at in Bali in this price range (or cheaper).
As other reviewers have said, the restaurant next door is good, and we enjoyed the inexpensive massage place a few doors down the road towards Monkey Forest.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sputnikchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

we had a great time at villa sonia, the rooms are very private and clean! we also loved the pool! breakfast could have been a little better, but the rest was just great! as a restaurant we can recommend waroeng kertiyasa (next door). if you walk from the city center back to villa sonia its nicer to walk jl. bisma than jl. monkey forest.
thank you for the good time we had!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank britta_246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Having stayed in Villa Sonia May 2013 for the 2nd time in two years we were a bit concerned by the fact that there was a new owner.
It was as good as the first time and provided to us a wonderful start of our three week Bali vacation. Service and food were excellent and although every now and then we ran out of water or electricity this never took long.
Happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oclaassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I have just returned from a few days in Bali and stayed at Villa Sonia. This place is truly blissful. The Villas are pristine, the pool is gorgeous, there is a lot of privacy and even though there were other gusts staying we felt like we had the place to ourselves. Last but not least, the staff are so friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren4807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#34 of 196 in Ubud
586 reviews
3.9 mi away
Inang Ubud Villa
Inang Ubud Villa
#5 of 614 in Ubud
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tebesaya Cottage
Tebesaya Cottage
#13 of 614 in Ubud
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Purana Boutique Resort
2.6 mi away
Anulekha Resort  and Villa
3.3 mi away
Pajar House Ubud
Pajar House Ubud
#23 of 614 in Ubud
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sonia

Address: Jl. Nyuh Bojog, Banjar Nyuh Kuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 614 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range: £32 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Sonia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Sonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sonia Hotel Bali
Sonia Hotel Ubud
Villa Sonia Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing