We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved everything about Uma Ubud”
Review of COMO Uma Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
COMO Uma Ubud
Ranked #14 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Stayed in the terrace room ( first night) which was lovely and had a view of the valley. The rest of my stay was in a garden room, no view but spacious with a sitting area in the garden and a little area between the bedroom and bathroom with a fish pond. I opted for the spa package which was perfect. What I love about Como shambhala/Uma Ubud hotels is the attention to detail re design, toiletries, comfort and the staff, who go out of their way to make your stay memorable. They do it without being obtrusive, yet are friendly and professional.

I was happy to have most of my meals at the hotel. Breakfasts have daily juices and could probably add a few other daily specials to add a bit more variety, so to with lunch and dinner menus but what they do offer is always fresh and imaginative with a healthy option. Dinner is generous with added small extras which had an element of surprise.
Love the spa/massages, the yoga and the morning walks and did one or all each day!
The pool area is perfect with shade or full sun, lots of seating, always a dry towel and iced water plus you have the option of lounging in the bar area day and night.
I think you pay$ for what you get in Bali these days and I don't mind spending a bit more to stay at Uma Ubud and would return next time I holiday in Ubud.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhaym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,076 - 1,082 of 1,433 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed at the Uma for 3 nights during our honeymoon. As we arrived we were greeted with cold towels and check in was easy. Our room was a Terrace Room, which I think is the most basic room. It was nice, if a little smaller than I had imagined. Comfy bed, with mosquito nets, very nice rainfall shower and the toiletries are REALLY lovely! The main downsides for me were the lighting (it was really dark as there were only lamps and no overhead light) and the birds in the roof. As you may have gathered from other reviews, the rooms have a thatched roof. We had no problems with the smell others had encountered, but we were woken very early two of the three mornings by very loud birds in the roof. Not the hotel's fault, but a factor if you're keen on a lie in.

The pool area and bar were both really nice - the pool was really good for actually swimming in as it's long and straight. The morning walk was really good, and we used the gym a couple of times as well which was fine. We had a complimentary dinner at the restaurant included in our price which was a nice surprise when we arrived, and I can't recommend the restaurant enough. We had a brilliant meal there - I think the best of the whole trip. Absolutely delicious. We did also try Mozaic, which was a little disappointing. The rib shack across the road from the hotel is AWESOME!

The location is a bit out of town, which makes it nice and peaceful. We did walk into town once but it's a long walk beside a mainish road with a very uneven pavement - not really an enjoyable stroll. We did take the shuttle bus in one afternoon, but due to the preparations for the cremation that was going on it only took us half way, dumping us at the bottom of the hill into town. It was then very late picking up on the way back.

So the hotel was really nice, but I think didn't quite live up to expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viross5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This boutique hotel was simply perfect for a relaxing stay of 3 nights, allowing us to visit Ubud and the surrounding area. The facilities are all top level, in a modern cool design, and the points I would like to highlight in this hotel are:
Rooms - staying in intercomunicatings rooms 22 & 28, which both where in a small villa with private gardens and terrace, where very spacious and with a huge bathroom
Gardens - magnificient and luxuriant and well integrated in the landscape,
Pool - infinity type,
Breakfast - à la carte, with wide choice of juices, fruits, and bakery basket or hot dishes
Activities - must do the rice fieldsmorning walk organised by the hotel. I also recomend the tours in the area with the guide from the hotel, Mr. Suasta, which is very nice, patient and knowledgeable.
Service - outstanding and fully personalized

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMCF0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We recently stayed at the Uma Ubud for 6 nights as part of our honeymoon. The hotel (and Ubud itself) was beautiful and exceeded all of our expectations.
We stayed in a Garden room that was huge. The room opened on to our own fish pond with stepping stones to a seating area. There was a large bedroom to one side and a separate bathroom with an enormous free standing bath and large shower. The whole room was spotless, cleaned twice a day, replenished daily with fresh fruit and bottles of water. It felt like a private villa more than a hotel room. It was perfect.
Breakfast was included in our room rate and was absolutely amazing. There was a variety of things on the menu and it is very easy to over indulge!
The grounds of the hotel are very natural, it is a real life Eden project! The pool is large enough to swim lengths and very refreshing after a hot and sticky day of exploring Ubud. There is plenty of sunbeds but as stated in previous reviews, Ubud is often overcast (but very hot) due to it's position in the centre of Bali, so don't expect hours of sunbathing,however we often spent a couple of hours round the pool, relaxing after busy mornings.
The position of the Uma Ubud was perfect for us. It is about a 20 minute walk in to the centre of Ubud, but there are shops and restaurants the whole way along the road you walk down and it is also a stunning walk; rice fields, river gorges, beautiful and interesting buildings. We were so pleased to be staying out of the centre because it gave us the chance to see more of this beautiful place. We would often walk in to town but get a taxi back for about £2 or alternatively you can catch the Uma's shuttle bus.
Finally, the staff at the Uma were amazing; so welcoming and couldn't do enough to help. The reception staff would welcome us home, every time we arrived back at the hotel and hand over cold towels. They also couldn't have been more helpful when advising on trips, they didn't try to sell their trips, they completely understood that we wanted to do things independently. The house keeping staff were so polite and always left our rooms perfectly; I have never seen so many towels in a bathroom, we never did work out what each one was for! The nightly turn down service where they let down our mosquito nets, lit incense and candles, turned on the fan and brought new water for us was a real luxury. The restaurant staff were also wonderful; again, nothing was too much. We had some lovely conversations with them about Bali, the culture, the food. Everyone was a credit to the country and the hotel company.
The Uma Ubud really was our perfect honeymoon destination and we would recommend it to anyone who wants to be a little bit active and to see a place that is not yet ruined by tourism. The hotel was luxurious without being pretentious. We hope to return to Bali again and we would, without any doubt, choose the Uma.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kw0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

If you fancy an inland hotel look no further. Uma Ubud is just outside the busy town of Ubud (half an hour walk) but the taxi's are really very available and cheap. RP30,000 will get you into the middle of Ubud which is less than a bottle of beer. Sun worshipers beware that the hotel is set in amongst a jungle and there is as much shade as sun, it is not possible to sit in one place for more than an hour or two before being cast into the shade. To compensate this the views from the lower rooms (particularly # 38) are over a valley of jungle and rivers which we found very tranquil, we didn't experience any problems with insects even so the hotel provides plenty of deterents. We used the hotel as a base for day trips including visiting the nearby elephants which was great, riding throught the rice fields, and highlight of the holiday white water rafting. If you are seeking a quiet and friendly hotel with lovely staff and a slendid setting you will enjoy Uma Ubud. Once you get over the culture shock of Ubud itself, with its slightly third world feel, you will enjoy the hustle and atmosphere of a vibrant town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in their garden room. Very nice setting with a koi pond right at the entrance. Previously had stayed in the terrace room, which was smaller but had a better view overlooking at the valley. No complains as this room is much bigger.

Service was good, only a slight glitch on the second day of breakfast. Coffee too longer than before to refill and the toast took a while to come too.

Overall still a pleasant stay. A good place for your personal retreat.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eng98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Uma Ubud is certainly one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in! The staff is perfect and every little detail of the hotel is taken care of. The accomodations are very confortable and peaceful, the meals are excelent, the pool is wonderful and the complimentary activities (yoga + morning walks) are sure a nice touch.
I had a great experience at Bali and I have to say that Uma is a big part of it!
Go to my travel blog for pictures: vivinaviagem.blogspot.com

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but the terrace room has a view to the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ViviCACarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.6 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 199 in Ubud
1,097 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,263 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#41 of 199 in Ubud
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#17 of 199 in Ubud
1,962 reviews
0.5 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
277 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Uma Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Uma Ubud

Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan | Banjar Lungsiakan, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ubud
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#12 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#13 Family Hotel in Ubud
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £185 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Uma Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Uma Ubud is located in central Bali, close to the cultural hub of Ubud with tropical views of temples, rice paddies and the Tjampuhan Valley. The resort’s contemporary Asiatic design is pared down to ensure sunshine flows through interiors, from bedrooms to cooling plunge pools. Kemiri restaurant boasts world-class, healthful cuisine, created with fresh local ingredients, subtle spicing and distinct Balinese flavours. A signature COMO Shambhala Retreat, replete with a range of holistic wellness therapies, help to nurture and relax, while cultural activities, such as visits to artisans, are complemented by a range of outdoor pursuits, including white-water rafting, mountain biking and trekking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Splitty, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your COMO Uma Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uma Ubud Hotel Ubud
Uma Hotel Ubud
Uma Resort Ubud
COMO Uma Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing