We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I can say it in one word: Magical!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of COMO Uma Ubud

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
COMO Uma Ubud
Ranked #14 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Angeles City, Philippines
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“I can say it in one word: Magical!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Everything is right in Uma, from the moment you arrive until the day you leave. Fantastic and friendly Staff (terimah kasih banyak!), magical surroundings, great food, a beautiful pool and lounge pool bar, Uma has got it all for us!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller196420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,091
    146
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
177
743
82
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

We stayed here on our honeymoon in July 2011 and it was amazing from start to finish. We had a gorgeous garden room with wine and fruit and rose petal filled bath on arrival. Room was huge and clean and gorgeous. Staff were nothing but amazing, food was extremely delicious and healthy. There were other honeymooners but lots of families too so not just loads of couple which was nice. Major highlight was the Como shambala signature massage which was amaaaazing and worth every penny you pay for it.

We did have one slight issue with the hotel regarding some art we bought in Ubud which the hotel agreed to ship back to the UK for us. The final price ended up being over 4 times the initial price quoted by the hotel (and also 4 times the price if the original art itself!) we emailed a complaint and I am very please to report it was handled extremely quickly and efficiently - a full investigation was launched (!) and we were refunded a significant amount of money which both amazed and surprised us THANK YOU UMA UBUD.

We found this beautiful hotel through using a bespoke travel agent, Passepartout travel, who helped create an affordable personalised 2 weeks mixing in rest, relaxation, cultural experiences whilst creating the wow factor we were looking for, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room Tip: Use Passepartout travel to arrange your trip to Bali as they have strong relationships wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, Ca
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Just returned from a two-week stay at Uma Ubud, where I co-led a yoga retreat with a fellow teacher from Singapore. We had 45 retreat guests, and everyone loved the resort!

Service: The hallmark of a great resort, especially at the pricier levels. Guest Service Manager Marc offered helpful tips and ensured that everything went smoothly with our group. The entire staff was unerringly friendly and helpful, and many staff members remembered and referred to us by our names, even when we were simply walking around the resort. The room was discreetly refreshed twice-daily, and housekeeping was prompt when called. Drivers were always on hand for trips into Ubud town.

Accommodations: I stayed in a Garden Room, which was essentially a mini-villa, entered via a koi pond. Room was extra spacious, the King-size bed firm and super-comfortable, the indoor/outdoor bathroom a designer's tableau of black stone and bleached wood. Excellent Como Shambhala toiletries products! Everything was subtly beautiful and functional, though a brighter desk lamp would have been helpful for work matters. I also visited a Terrace Room, which is technically the lowest room category. Its terrace had an open view, which I ultimately preferred to the more enclosed feeling of the Garden Room. Still, no complaints for style or comfort in either room. If you need to be insulated in an A/C-blasting room and have absolutely no contact with bugs or geckos, this is not the place for you. The resort does its best to ward off mosquitoes and other creepy-crawlies -- even offering bug repellent in the rooms -- but it stays true to the Balinese way of indoor/outdoor living, celebrating rather than denying the gorgeous nature all around it.

Food: Kemiri, the main restaurant, is dramatically situated next to a large koi pond. Staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful, even if a few breakfast orders occasionally got lost in the shuffle (largely due to the size of our retreat group). Special requests were graciously and generously honored, unlike some expensive resorts which try to nickel-and-dime guests for every extra item. I loved the coconut pancakes, and the laksa for more savory flavor. Food was a nice selection of Western and Indonesian, and there was something tasty for every diet. More casual dining was offered at the poolside bar/lounge, which was a wonderful place to gather for drinks, snacks, and full meals. Waitstaff would bring portable eating trays, making dining both convenient and comfortable. While there were certainly cheaper places to eat near the resort and further in town, the Uma prices were still reasonable enough to eat in-house a few nights.

Leisure: Part of the Como Shambhala spa/resort group, Uma is perfect for wellness programs/retreats, or for anyone who enjoys a chic detox refuge. The two yoga studios had gorgeous views, and were fully outfitted for hardcore yogis -- all the props available. One of the studios overlooked the resort's gorgeous infinity pool, which was more than long enough to satisfy the swimmers in our group. I didn't try any of the spa treatments, though the treatment rooms looked peaceful and clean. I also didn't try the steam room, for which you must apparently alert the staff about 15 mins prior to turn on the steam. (Not sure why anyone needs a steam in a steamy climate!). A small gym offers cardio equipment and some light free weights, i.e., not a place for serious bodybuilders.

Overall Style: Chic, minimal yet warm, casually luxurious, a good blend of indoor/outdoor, taking full advantage of Ubud's lush greenery. Exceptional attention to details; every corner of the resort offers a fresh visual surprise. White/gray/tawny palette is calming, especially in contrast with the beautiful and colorful gardens.

Clientele: Younger to middle-aged couples, mostly straight but some gay, European/Western/Singaporean/HK. Best for couples and singles, though some guests brought young children. Generally fit clientele, which is helpful to climb the fair number of stairs throughout the multi-level property.

Summary: While there are many beautiful upscale resorts in the Ubud area -- including Uma's sister property the Como Shambhala Estate in Ubud -- this resort stands out for its hip-chic vibe and exceptional yoga/wellness facilities, which make is such a FANTASTIC VALUE. It's an extremely well-run resort, and they get the important things right. Would be thrilled to return as a solo guest or for another yoga retreat.

Room Tip: All the rooms differ slightly, even within the same category. If the resort is not full, definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKYoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
171 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

I spent a week at Uma, doing a yoga retreat.

The terrace rooms at Uma are understated but beautiful. Rooms are furnished with whitewashed light wood furniture and four poster beds and the view is quietly breathtaking, especially the view of the valley. If you are doing yoga here, this is the best place I have experienced so far, especially in terms of facilities. The yoga pavillion next to the spa which overlook the valley is gorgeous.

One thing though is that given the proximity to nature, you have to get used to insects and I did get bitten many times throughout the nights there.

The ala-carte breakfast has a good variety of western and indonesian choices and food is very well-done except that service was not always consistent.

While the Uma is not walking distance to town, town is not far and the hotel offers a shuttle a couple of times a day. You have art galleries and spas (Bliss and Botanical Day Spa - recommended) and variety of eating places (Mosaic, Nuris and Pulau Kelagua) within walking distance. The distance from town is a good thing as the feature of the hotel is provding guests with rest and a quiet elegant stay.

Room Tip: Pick the terrace rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keiragopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

I finished off our Bali holiday with 2 nights at Uma, however next time I will make this hotel the highlight. Sure this is not the most luxurious hotel in Ubud however in term of elegance and tranquility Uma certainly gives the big guns a run for their money. I loved the laid back style and the staff were genuinely attentive and always warm and friendly. I had some terrible spa treatments in Seminyak but the Como Shambala retreat therapists at Uma are so wonderful that I enjoyed 3 90minute treatments during the 2day stay. Everything was heavenly and I even purchased product to bring back home. Another reason I chose Uma was for the complimentary yoga and morning walks. The yoga pavilion is beautiful and it was very enjoyable to practice listening to the sounds of the local animals and trying to remain focused during "tree pose" whilst squirrels were playing in the forest. I also took one morning walk
which was so beautiful and the guide was very informative as we wandered through the local rice paddies. Another highlight at Uma is the wonderful food, my 2 day stay was not long enough to sample everything I wanted to try even though we ate every meal at the hotel. The breakfasts were so enjoyable after yoga or walking, please try the bircher muesli and eggs benedict.
Thank you Uma for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SYDmelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Badung, Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

I stayed at Uma Ubud for 1 night only during my trip to UBUD. The hotel area is really nice and tranquil. I was really amazed by the staff.... i could feel their honest hospitality. The room was great ( i stayed at Como Suite), the pool was nice.

I did the 'guided morning walking" , a bit dissapointed, as the route wasn't as beautiful as i expected and it took only 30 minutes (the receptionist told me that it would be 1 hour and 30 minutes). However, over all, i would highly recommended this resort!.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stayed in the Uma for three nights. The hotel is beautiful and my room was lovely, lots of light, great view into the woods, beautiful bed with a mosquito net around it (they opened it up at night), large bathroom with a sunken bathtub. I particularly liked the fact that I had to go down a private staircase to get to the room and it felt like my own house and very secluded. 

Pool area was beautiful (although a bit too much shade). Gym is small but with modern equipment. Spa is nice (although there are too many bugs there). Service was impeccable: the staff remembered my name, was very helpful and attentive. 

Food was very good. I had choices from both their normal and their healthy menu and both were excellent! Breakfast was good although wished they had a compilation menu (breakfast items are ordered individually and each item is meal-size). What I had was excellent though.

The one main negative thing - and the reason why it has been difficult to rate the hotel  - is that the hotel is just missing something. The wow-factor maybe? The nature around Ubud is so incredible and it feels like the hotel could have made more so much out of the surroundings. Or maybe chosen a slightly different location? It is just not as nice and peaceful as I would want it to be. That made the whole experience good but not amazing.

Couple of more things: 
- My mattress felt a bit worn out. 
- The location of the hotel is not the best. It is too far from Ubud to conveniently walk (about 45 min) but too close to be in the middle of nowhere. That being said, taxis are plentiful and cheap.
- if you book the package with the free tour, be very specific as to what you want to see. Otherwise, the guide will take you from one touristy store to the next (I.e. The place to buy wood carvings, silver jewelry, batik cloth, etc). It feels like he is taking you to his friends place and gets a cut of the profits they make off of you. However, the rest of the tour (rice terraces, temple, etc.) was lovely and you learn a lot about the culture and people.

Room Tip: Request room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AE-traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaliManager, General Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Dear AE-Traveling,

Thank you for your review and feedback about Uma Ubud. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Uma Ubud and trust that we certainly value your comments and it will help to further perfect Uma Ubud's services and facilities for our future guests. I do regret that your experience on our beds, our humble approach to landscaping and our location was not as you had expected. Within our discretely elegant setting, we strive to offer our guests the highest of standards. As such, we continually re-invest through frequent renovation and refurbishment projects to ensure we maintain standards for which COMO Hotels & Resorts is known.

In regards to your comment on the location of Uma in relation to Ubud centre, please allow me to offer some clarification for guests that may be considering staying with us at Uma Ubud in the future: Uma Ubud is located within Ubud in the Sanggingan area. Although Uma is not situated in Ubud's bustling centre, we are literally moemtns away with collector’s shops, and art galleries, lining the road that leads to the centre. Uma Ubud is fortunate to be in an ideal position offering proximity to the excitement of Ubud, yet a peaceful, quiet and relaxing location. We also provide daily complimentary shuttle service to Ubud for thios who prefer not to walk.

Once again, I thank you for your comments. I do hope to welcome you back to Uma Ubud and equally hope that the above information serves as some assistance to our future guests.

warm regards,

Marc Lacoste
Guest Services Manager

Uma Ubud
Jalan Raya Sanggingan, Banjar Lungsiakan,
Kedewatan, Ubud, Gianyar 80571,
Bali, Indonesia.
Tel: +62 361 972448
Fax: +62 361 972449
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
1.6 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#7 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
1.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.0 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#47 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Uma Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Uma Ubud

Property: COMO Uma Ubud
Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan | Banjar Lungsiakan, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#6 Business Hotel in Ubud
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#11 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#13 Family Hotel in Ubud
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Uma Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uma by COMO, Ubud is located in central Bali, close to the cultural hub of Ubud with tropical views of temples, rice paddies and the Tjampuhan Valley. The resort’s contemporary Asiatic design is pared down to ensure sunshine flows through interiors, from bedrooms to cooling plunge pools. Kemiri restaurant boasts world-class, healthful cuisine, created with fresh local ingredients, subtle spicing and distinct Balinese flavours. A signature COMO Shambhala Retreat, replete with a range of holistic wellness therapies, help to nurture and relax, while cultural activities, such as visits to artisans, are complemented by a range of outdoor pursuits, including white-water rafting, mountain biking and trekking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems and TravelUp so you can book your COMO Uma Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uma Ubud Hotel Ubud
Uma Hotel Ubud
Uma Resort Ubud
COMO Uma Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing