We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel with great staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of COMO Uma Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
COMO Uma Ubud
Ranked #15 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing hotel with great staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

I recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit Ubud. There's a lot to in Ubud itself, but the hotel makes you want to stay indoors and enjoy everything that the Uma has to offer. Staff are courteous, very helpful, knowledgeable. The rooms and amenities are very well maintained. Pure and simple luxury. Food is healthy and divine.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COMO-GSM, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear S S

Your review of Uma touches on many of our favourite aspects of our hotel, and perhaps the things that set us apart. Barefoot, casual luxury is something that we strive to offer our guests. So we're all happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and our service.

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Uma by COMO, Ubud on Tripadvisor. And being so close, to Bali, we hope to welcome you back very soon.

With warmest regards

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,099
    148
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
179
750
83
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arusha
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I am a returning customer to Uma Ubud, and I love every single thing about it. For me it is probably one of the most beautiful, comfortable, welcoming, well-managed hotels in the world. Many years ago we have discovered it through a yoga teacher, and stayed for weeks at a time for a private retreat. There are 2 great fully-equipped yoga pavilions with ropes and props, that Ayengar practitioners would love. This time I came for a honeymoon with my husband, and we celebrated his birthday there in May.
The place is as gorgeous as ever - the staff is friendly, the quality of work of every person, from housekeeping to gardeners is still up to the highest standards, the waiters at the restaurant remember me by name after all these years, the elegant pool bar, the picturesque pond next to the restaurant, where we fed the remaining of our bread basket after each breakfast, the luxury spa and complimentary sauna... I can go on and on! And the rooms, from pool suites to the most simple garden rooms are stunning. Designed by the famous architect YewKuan Cheong they are so tastefully decorated, that you feel like home after 5 minutes. This new season the hotel, which has been so popular for many years, is adding extra room and a new bar in the front, and I can't wait to see what it will look like. The location of the property is most convenient - only 10 min from the center of Ubud, however in a quiet location. If you get bored, you can always go for a stroll around the art and antique galleries just outside the door, and there are a few nice restaurants located 5 minutes walk from the property.
Do not miss complimentary activities that Uma offers to all their guests - the temples, dance performances, biking and walking tours. And I strongly suggest to visit their sister property, a more up-market Como Shambhala Estate only 30 minutes drive from Uma. You can book a lunch in their restaurant and take an opportunity to walk down the spectacular ridge towards the river.
With great pleasure I highly recommend it to all travelers.

Room Tip: If the budget allows you - check their Pool Cottages with private plunge pools and stunning view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COMO-GSM, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Katya R

You've posted over 300 reviews on TripAdvisor, and the Uma team and I are grateful to be one of them. Especially in that we're your Ubud favourite!

Thank you for writing such a complete review and for sharing with the TripAdvisor community what awaits our future guests.

We look forward to welcoming guests to Uma, and giving them the same experience that you've enjoyed time and time again. But we also look forward to welcoming you back. It's almost at the point where next time, we'll be able to simply hand you a room key and say 'welcome home'.

Congratulations again on your recent wedding!

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Top of the line. Gorgeous. Extraordinary service. Amazing healthy menu/restaurant/yoga studios/pool. Super zen/minimalist environment. Everything about Uma was top notch. We stayed in a basic room and it was Awesome! Walkable to town (20 minutes) or a quick motor bike ride. Truly extraordinary. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Don't think you can go wrong - all super gorgeous and well laid out
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaA675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COMO-GSM, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear RebeccaA675

Reading your short and concise review of Uma and knowing that you'll be back to stay with us brings a smile to my face. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for recommending Uma to future travelers. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon!

With warmest regards

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We arrived at the Uma to a warm and professional welcome. Marc, one of the managers gave us a personal welcome with a brief rundown of the amenities and activities available. Gede, also introduced himself and made himself available for the duration of our stay. A very nice personal touch. The resort is beautiful, set in lush land and on the side of a beautiful valley. Everything has a subtle understated elegance and style.

The reception leads to a beautiful very large infinity pool, plenty of space for lap racers and those who wish to just relax. The pool area is not crowded and the bar set back from the pool is a beautiful place to relax and enjoy a cocktail. The grounds are full of amazing flowers and trees, tropical views throughout, clear attention given on maintaining the gardens.

Our villa was discreet and overlooked the valley and river. Though being the furthest one from the main buildings means a lot of steps which for some might be a consideration. The Vila itself was huge and beautiful with a separate dining area, living space, four poster bed, sunken bath. The shower though set indoors is also set against the elements with no exterior wall - a nice touch. The villa had a lovely decked area, lawn and infinity plunge pool, looking down the valley. Simply beautiful.

On offer are a range of activities, the yoga pavilion is a beautiful space for free yoga. It ended up being a private n to one session, exceptional teacher. Th gym is small, well equipped and easily accessible. The Pre-breakfast walk round the village is lovely.

The hotel offers a range of excursions including freewheeling on bikes from the volcano, white water rafting and the usual temple trips. You can easily base yourself here.

The centre of town is a good 20 mins walk away with lots of galleries, spas and shops en route. The hotel does offer a complimentary shuttle service.

The food uniformity delicious, room service great. Breakfast being the only weaker point. It's a choose one from part a and one from part b affair, with bread and pastries being considered a "main". Bit silly, just offer all tables bread, pastries etc. In the event, it was provided as an extra by the professional courteous staff who all knew every guests name.

The resort has full wi-fi with a strong signal.

All in all, a beautiful hotel, fantastic accommodation, attentive staff and management set in outstanding surroundings.

Highly recommended.

Tayfun

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 31, which comes with a infinity plunge pool. Note that there are many levels of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tayfun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COMO-GSM, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear tfadil

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and heartfelt review of your time spent at Uma.

I know that many guests pondering a stay with us will book as a result of your generous and sincere review, so, the team and I thank you for this.

You comment positively on many of the features and services that can be expected at Uma. I am however sorry to read that you felt our breakfast experience could be improved. We receive many amazing comments about our Uma breakfast which is always cooked to order. And so, while I am surprised to receive your suggestion of improvement, I am also thankful for it and will look into the necessary changes.

Thank you once again for staying with us at Uma and for encouraging future travelers to do the same.


Warmest regards

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

There are so many special things about this place that it's hard to put into a review, so here are the highlights. We've travelled a lot over the past 10 years and at Uma we received the best service we have anywhere else we've stayed. Every single staff member genuinely interacts with you throughout your stay. They make you feel special and attend to every need. Every request we made like a last minute couple's massage or often dinner in the bar area was not only met, but exceeded, the old cliche of nothing is a problem was on show every time. We took a few activities and they were awesome. In particular the bike ride through the villages and coffee plantation tour was expectacular and educational. We also visited the sister property for brunch, which we highly recommend. They made it even more special when our hotel manager arranged for us shown around the Shambala property and gave us access to the natural pools on the mountain side for a swim before brunch. They also arranged for showers and lockers, they think of every detail. We wanted a late check out and we were given a "courtesy" room which was fantastic, it was one of the garden rooms fully equipped. The food at the hotel was amazing, especially the spa and indonesian food and martini hour at 5pm was sensational. Try some of the varities they have like wild pepper and chilli martini. We will be back sooner rather than later and would sincerely thank every single staff member for making this stay so special. Also note, Ubud and it's sorrounds are very beautiful to see and the people who live there are lovely.

Room Tip: Try one of the villas on the side of the mountain with your own plunge pool. Just note you may have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NIFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COMO-GSM, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear NIFT

Ten years of travel and Uma is the best experience so far? Thank you!

The entire team and I are humbled by your generous comments.

I'm so happy to read your review which covers all aspects of what we offer here at Uma including our superlative spa treatments, tasty cuisine from our applauded COMO chefs, The Pool Bar's beverage list created by our mixologist from COMO's Met Bar in London, as well as our rooms and facilities.

I hope to welcome you back to Uma soon, but also look forward to welcoming future guests who book with us as a result of reading your wonderful review.

With warmest regards

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We arrived at uma ubud on 14 June to kick start our honeymoon. We were exhausted following our 20 hour journey. However we managed to overcome any tiredness thanks to the warm welcome we received from the uma staff and news that we had been upgraded to a "pool villa king". The room was simply amazing with breathtaking views of the river valley, made even more spectacular by the private infinity pool.

It's the little touches at uma which make it such a brilliant place. Everyone is cheerful and helpful. From the restaurant staff to the tour guide, everyone made us feel like we were the only guests in the hotel! There were plenty of options for breakfast which made it difficult to choose at times. However the staff offered us tastings (unprompted) of a few items from the menu to help with the decision making! We returned back from a trip to ubud one day and I found that whilst tidying the room the staff had kindly bookmarked my book which had previously been lying facedown on the table. Just another one of many examples of them going out of their way for us.

We also took advantage of dinner at the kemiri restaurant one evening, a couples massage at the spa, and cocktails at the bar all of which were simply brilliant. Uma was different from places we have previously stayed in that, every day it offered something better than the previous day. Where Other hotels have simply impressed us on day one, uma continued to wow us with something new and better than the previous day throughout our stay!

We did have a small hiccup with the transport from ubud one day but the staff (namely Sika) more than made up for it and in no way did it impact upon our stay. Most people would agree that mistakes do happen but it's how they are dealt with that leaves a lasting impact on customers. And Sika exceeded our expectations in apologising for it.

In short we could not have asked for a better place to start our honeymoon. We left for seminyak knowing that our next hotel had some big shoes to fill. Indeed we were correct, and since we arrived here we find ourselves continuously drawing comparisons with uma! We would definitely consider returning someday and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting ubud. The staff here will truly make you feel like VIPs.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rankin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COMO-GSM, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Dear Rankin2013

We're all humbled by your generous review and thank you for you kind words and recommendation. But we mostly appreciate how much you enjoyed Uma during your stay and the service that our team provided to you with.

As a manager, I'm so happy to read how our Uma team made your stay so special. To learn that you were offered tastings of dishes when you were unsure what to order, to being offered adequate and appreciated service recovery, is wonderful. Thank you also for highlighting our Front Office Manager, Sika.

So, thank you once again for taking the time to write your gracious review and we all hope that we will one day get to welcome you back to Uma - perhaps for a special anniversary.

Congratulations once more!

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bornem, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

If you're looking for a great hotel in Ubud, then you should take Uma by COMO! What a great hotel, friendly staff, great breakfast and a nice pool. Every day there's a shuttle service to the city centre of Ubud (7 minutes by car).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tineke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COMO-GSM, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Krimpvarkie

With over 100 reviews on TripAdvisor, your short and sharp and encouraging review of Uma is very much respected and appreciated.

The entire team and I thank you for tipping your hat to Uma.

Best regards

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
1.6 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#6 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
1.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.0 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#46 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Uma Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Uma Ubud

Property: COMO Uma Ubud
Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan | Banjar Lungsiakan, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#6 Business Hotel in Ubud
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#12 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#13 Family Hotel in Ubud
#15 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Uma Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uma by COMO, Ubud is located in central Bali, close to the cultural hub of Ubud with tropical views of temples, rice paddies and the Tjampuhan Valley. The resort’s contemporary Asiatic design is pared down to ensure sunshine flows through interiors, from bedrooms to cooling plunge pools. Kemiri restaurant boasts world-class, healthful cuisine, created with fresh local ingredients, subtle spicing and distinct Balinese flavours. A signature COMO Shambhala Retreat, replete with a range of holistic wellness therapies, help to nurture and relax, while cultural activities, such as visits to artisans, are complemented by a range of outdoor pursuits, including white-water rafting, mountain biking and trekking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, MrandMrsSmith, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your COMO Uma Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uma Ubud Hotel Ubud
Uma Hotel Ubud
Uma Resort Ubud
COMO Uma Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing