We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpassed all expectations & more!”
Review of COMO Uma Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
COMO Uma Ubud
Ranked #12 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surpassed all expectations & more!”
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Amazing service starting from the front desk, to the store, to the pool and bar staff, maintenance and especially the breakfast staff.

The bar food was absolutely fantastic and the breakfast menu the best we've ever seen. A smallish selection but extremely well selected and gourmet. Would beat any top restaurant/cafe brunch menu in Sydney and Melbourne (now I know that's a big call but it's true).

We had booked this hotel because the major ones were fully booked or extremely expensive and was going to be a 2 night stop over in Ubud. We were pleasantly surprised to have found a fabulous intimate boutique hotel and will definitely be back.

They were also very accommodating of our child, even though it was a primarily adult hotel.

Highly recommended if you're looking for great service and value.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank WendyJoshTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uma-ResortManager, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear WendyJoshTravel,

Thank you for staying at Uma by COMO, Ubud and for taking your time to write a wonderful review.

We am delighted that you started your review by highlighting the service from all our team, and we are humble to know that we met and even axceeded your expectation.

Thank you for your compliment on our breakfast food and service, which I will share with our Food & Beverage team to encourage them to serve even better.

Please return to Uma, and next time please stay longer so we can assist you to explore more about Ubud and Bali.

Happy New Year 2014, and we wish you all the best!

Kind regards,

Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,170
    159
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
193
809
86
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I would have given three stars purely based on the room, but that wouldn't be fair, since service is easily five star standard, and also the food here is pretty damn good.

We stayed at three places during our Bali holiday, and would rank this one lowest of them. That doesn't in any way mean it's bad, because it's actually very good, but there is some pretty strong competition in the competitive Bali hotel market.

Reception, check in and first impressions: We got in on a late flight and had to pay for the transfer to the hotel (the other places we stayed had airport transfer included in the price). After arriving we were welcomed in a very friendly way and shown our room with the option of full tour or wait till tomorrow (due to late hour). We went straight for the room service menu and ordered a couple of dishes, which I would have scored highly for any seated high price restaurant. Top marks for the kitchen night staff.

Public areas: Very nice, but after going to the Chedi just afterwards, this place does seem a bit closed in and restricted in comparison. The gym is fine for a hotel of this size (hardly any users), and they actually provide a sauna and steam bath. The steam bath is nice, but the sauna is too small. And the big problem is that they have a far too low temperature in both! The thermostat didn't allow me to turn up the temp to anywhere near the level I would like it at...

Food: The food here is surprisingly good. Even late night room service was an eye-opener for me. If we hadn't also found other top class food venues during our stay in Ubud we would have returned here for food even after checking out. Breakfast is just about right. Some nice a la carte options, and a very basic buffet. But for me it almost hit the spot. I'm usually incredibly picky about my breakfast, but was happy here even if it's not the stuff I would have made for myself.

Room (based on pool suite): Very clean and spartan. Does it for some and not for others. I have no problems with that overall (personal preferences are for a little bit more opulence, but whatever), except I would have liked a couple of nice chairs in the main room to slouch in. The office area is in contrast disproportionally large, and has a big couch which I'm sure no guests have used or ever will use. The outside area consists of a dinky little plunge pool and a couple of sunbeds, from which noone ever removes the raincovers, or adds a towel, or plugs a parasol in to the little table between them... Probably because there's never any sun down in the walled hole they built their pool suites in. Also this damned modern trend of making the toilet some public spectacle has been taken aboard here. If you want to go and enjoy a nice number 2 in peace and quiet with a book, then you can't unless you're alone in the accomodation. There's some crappy transparent glass door between you and the rest of the place. Any sound you might make whilst there is also audible to your neighbouring hotel guests.

Service: Top notch. Left this till the end. All staff at all times always did their best for their guests. The service is just about flawless, and i have to make mention of a specific episode. Four days after checking out of the Uma we were walking around in Ubud and the driver from Uma pulled to a stop and hailed us to ask if we wanted a lift, since he was going in the same direction. It sounds like so little, but the implication is that they actually care about making their customers happy, even when they won't directly make any money from it.

Room Tip: Do not choose the pool suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saltcreep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uma-ResortManager, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Saltcreep,

Thank you so much for staying with us at Uma by COMO, Ubud and your great review is highly appreciated.

We are very humble to know that you consider our team and our service as your top notch. We are glad that despite you arrived very late at night we still could provide you with our warm hospitality. Our cuisine is the highlight of all our guests, we are thankful to our kitchen team who are able to provide our guests with a healthy but really tasty food.

I am sadenned to learn that our Pool Suite didn't meet your expectation. Your constructive feedbacks are very important for us for future improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back and being able to accomodate you in different room catagory to suit your preference.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year...

Warmest regards,

Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

You could have all the beautiful surrounding and luxurious things in a hotel but the most amazing thing that complete the entire package, is the staff. This hotel will not succeed without it's people, their customer service, knowledge and friendly approach goes beyond and above the standard level of Service. The staff Suri, Ayu, Putri and Agus, management Sika and our favourite Yoga instructor Budi, make this place grow and it is an exceptional place to wind down and get in touch with Mother Nature.

We travelled around Asia pacific and stayed in many 5 stars resorts, this place stands out from all the different places where we have stayed, the minute you checkin to the minute you start exploring the hotel services, everything is set up in such details that leaves ever lasting memories.

We like our massages, so this is another step up, the environment is very peaceful and serene.
Attending the Yoga classes, looking over the beautiful Ubud mountain, rice field watching the mist rising up from the jungle takes your breath away. The class is designed for starters but it is the most amazing experience, we attended private classes with Budi, he designed the Yoga session specifically for our body and mind, it leaves that personal impression and you feel connected to inner self and Mother Nature as a one but importantly that the instructor can take you to that place, amazing soul Budi has.

Breakfast, what an experience, if you are on strict diet or after a health retreat, the place to be.. I have not seen anywhere else in the world that comes close. Fresh juices to detox, refresh and energise your body and mind. The nutritious breakfast all freshly cooked to order is exceptional, you must have the black sticky rice or the corn cake with salmon, everything on the menu is divine.
The staff, my two favourites Suri and Ayu, the smile on their faces and genuine characters is the essence of Bali for us. They take care of everyone, and take the time to have a chat and understand your needs and requirements plus they remember you as repeat customers, which makes the service more rewarding.

Sika the manager, exceptionally down to earth gentlemen, always willing to listen and invites you for recommendation that helps the hotel even further. I would highly recommend that anyone wanting to experience real Bali and get in touch with Mother Nature to visit Uma and experience it for themselves as it is truly wonderous place.

If you have an expectation to play Tennis, Golf with western style breakfast this is not for you, but it will be an exceptional experience to get in touch with your inner self and cleanse your mind and body, which are the important things in life to get busy and business people going to refocus, rebalance and recharge.

We will definitely be back and stay longer. A big thank you to the exceptional staff, management for our great retreat at the Uma Ubud, without your great service, this place wouldn't be possible.
very hard to leave the place and we are missing it after few hours.

These people will do anything for you, just ask the staff they turn miracles into reality. Truly humble
John and Micheline

Room Tip: garden view villa or the rice field
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uma-ResortManager, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear John & Micheline,

It is a delight to read your wonderful review, especially your compliment to our team.

Our team is indeed our biggest asset and it is very motivating when we know that we have made you felt welcomed and cared which is our ultimate goal to our guests. I will share you very positive comments to Sika, Sari, Ayu, Putri, Budi and Agus which I am sure it will make them humble and encouraged to do even better.

I am glad that you enjoyed our yoga class and took the oportunity to experience the private class with Budi. The combination of breathtaking location of the yoga pavilion with a very genuine yoga teacher - Budi is one not to be missed while staying with us.

A big thank you for both of you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcome you back to Uma very soon.

Sincerely yours,

Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is by far one of the best hotels I have stayed at in Asia. From the amazing jungle surroundings to the unbelievably friendly staff, this experience was delightful. We stayed in one of the villas, but all the rooms have a similar relaxing and beautiful decor. Ask for the best view of the jungle to be certain. I won't even go into details about the breakfast because I want you to be surprised, but to sum it up: INCREDIBLE. While some people may recommend taking taxi's outside of the hotel for excursions, I very much recommend do any activities with the hotel staff. We loved our Volcano and Temple tour that also stopped in a beautiful place along the rice paddies. The guides were very friendly and helpful, it was worth the extra price. STAY at UMA!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. The Uma VIlla was PERFECTION.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank capechic08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uma-ResortManager, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Capechic08,

We are very humble to read your review and consider Uma by COMO, Ubud as one of the best hotels you stayed in Asia - Thank you!

I am delighted that you found our design and decor helped you to feel even more relax while surrounded by Wos River valley and jungle. Our breakfast has indeed been always a highlight by our guests and I am glad that you felt similarly. However, it is most encouraging to read that our team has been able to add the delight of your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Uma Ubud very soon.

Merry Christmas & Happy New Year!

Warmest regards,

Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Even by Bali standards the Uma by COMO is a superior hotel. I wonder why people spend a lot of money on therapies. All they should do is come to this tranquil place and spend a few days and go back fully rejuvenated. Everything about this hotel reminds you of serenity, tranquility, bliss and inner peace. Right from the design to execution to service! Food is an integral part of this experience and the cutlery reflects the overall theme. Service is truly magical and makes you stay for one more day. The hotel is a 30 minute walk from the town and there is a shuttle bus service if you don’t want to walk. I enjoyed the visit to Mount Batur and the volcano there as also the Lewak coffee farm and the monkey forest. One friendly and useful tip – in the town when you purchase something just bargain hard.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RolandoPBeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uma-ResortManager, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear RolandoPBeat,

Thank you ever so much for writing such a wonderful review.

Uma by COMO, Ubud has always been trying to provide our guests with the true Bali experience, and I am thrilled that you felt it during your stay. I am more than happy to know that you feel fully rejuvenated after your stay.

We are blessed to have such perfect location, unique design, rich of activities, healthy and yet tasty cuisine and most importantly a dedicated team.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you very soon.

Kind regards,

Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

This is an intimate and lovely hotel and as you will read in the other reviews, it has the most fabulous staff. Incredibly helpful and friendly and an almost uncanny ability to know and remember your name from the moment you arrive.
I would say ideal for couples rather than as a family which is what we were.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ServicemattersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uma-ResortManager, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear ServicemattersLo...,

Thank you choosing Uma by COMO Ubud to spend your family time.

It is very motivating to read your lovely comments about our team which will encourage us to always improve.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed in a terrace room at the Uma by Como, Ubud in November 2014. The hotel is excellent, from the friendly and helpful staff to the peaceful jungle location. The main pool is delightful surrounded by greenery and totally shielded from the main road some distance away. The room was large, clean and well presented. The bathroom, with semi outdoor shower was very nice. Breakfast was also a big part of the experience with plenty of freshly prepared food and drink. The pool bar offered a good range of cocktails & wine with bottles bought kept over your stay so you could spread out your drinking. WIFI coverage was very good with decent injection speeds.

Room Tip: Terrace room 29 was very good with a nice view down the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Rochdalien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uma-ResortManager, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear The_Rochdalien,

Relax and unwind are the perfect words to describe an excellent experience at Uma by COMO, Ubud.

We are very happy that we were able to provide you with services which allowed you to totally relax. I am glad that you liked our location and enjoyed our pool, room, and our cuisine. It is particularly encouraging to know that you found our team as friendly and helpful.

We trust that we will see you again in very near future.

Kind regards,

Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#18 of 196 in Ubud
1,893 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 196 in Ubud
1,154 reviews
1.6 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 196 in Ubud
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.9 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
1.4 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#13 of 196 in Ubud
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Uma Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Uma Ubud

Property: COMO Uma Ubud
Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan | Banjar Lungsiakan, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#6 Business Hotel in Ubud
#10 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#13 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Uma Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Uma Ubud is located in central Bali, close to the cultural hub of Ubud with tropical views of temples, rice paddies and the Tjampuhan Valley. The resort’s contemporary Asiatic design is pared down to ensure sunshine flows through interiors, from bedrooms to cooling plunge pools. Kemiri restaurant boasts world-class, healthful cuisine, created with fresh local ingredients, subtle spicing and distinct Balinese flavours. A signature COMO Shambhala Retreat, replete with a range of holistic wellness therapies, help to nurture and relax, while cultural activities, such as visits to artisans, are complemented by a range of outdoor pursuits, including white-water rafting, mountain biking and trekking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your COMO Uma Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uma Ubud Hotel Ubud
Uma Hotel Ubud
Uma Resort Ubud
COMO Uma Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing