We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Rooms, Spa and Yoga Studio”
Review of COMO Uma Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
COMO Uma Ubud
Ranked #14 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We stayed at Uma for 2 nights having spent 2 days at another property (see below). Uma is great, large rooms (we had a pool suite), great views accross the valley through the vegetation. The spa is great, very extensive "menu" with lots of innovative treatments. The resort is expansive. There is a main pool in the main area with a bar etc. Had we not been to one down the road for the previous two days, the place would have seemed perfect, but, having seen another place, it is hard not to compare......

So - positives:

- Massive room / suite! We had a Uma Pool Suite, and it was superb. I reckon that the total length of the frontage of the suite was at least 20 metres, This was a massive patio area with outdoor seats looking into the vegetation. Truly amazing. The bathroom had a sunken bath (plenty of room for 2...) and a separate part outdoor shower. The bed was huge, with nets around (not needed as no bugs / massies), but, made for a romantic feel. The pool area was away from the room (you get the idea of the size - and can see on the photos) with two sun beds - great

- Fantastic spa - like the normal Bali type thing, but, with some really innovative treatments / body wraps / electric (!!) treatment

- Amazing Yoga Studia, great view

- Large outdoor restaurant bv a large pond serving great food.

There were no negatives. However, having been at the Komaneka Tangayudda for the previous two days, it is hard not compare (expecially as we basically stayed at the two properties in the first place as we could not choose between them based on our research which included heavy reading of Trip Advisor..). The differences were

- Uma is a bit more commercial. You can tell it is run by a larger hotel group (or at least thats what we understand) and therefore you get all of the "room service surcharges" which come with that (at the Komaneka it did not matter where you ate, service is included in the rate. Its a small point and the cash value is not the point, more, about how it makes you feel....! In addition, the staff at the Komaneka seemed that little more personal again as if they are working as part of small team, than for a hotel chain.

- The main pool at Uma (the plunge pool in the suite is great for cooling down, but, not big enough for a swim...) is between reception and the bar. Hence, whilst its relaxing to sit down there, and read etc, there is a constant flow of people walking past being shown round on the customary "guided tour" which you get upon arrival. This is not a problem, but, makes it a bit more "busy". At the Komaneka for example the pool is at a "cul de sac" hence the only people you see are those using the pool, and hence, a bit quieter.

That said, the stay at Uma was great and we would recommend it to others. We had a good relaxing time, the food was good breakfast extremely extensive and relaxed thoroughly. If someone booked us to stay there, we would thank them kindly and enjoy the visit. If we were to choose ourselves, then the Komaneka it would be. This is more based on the feeling the place generates than the actual substance of the rooms or resort. However, Uma does have big and airy rooms, a great spa and generated a relaxing feeling especially the yoga studio, so, you will definately have a good time.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moscow_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,180 - 1,186 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2008

Uma Ubud was our first stop on Honeymoon and absolutely blew us away.

Nothing about it disappoints. The staff, from the point at which they meet you at the airport with cold towels and water (after the nightmare that is Bali airport - tip: run of the plan to get in the queue first) to the time we sadly had to go, were fantastic. Ridiculously helpful, always friendly and accommodating of all our whims.

We had a Pool suite which had its own infinity pool overlooking the valley - highly recommend this, the view is perfect as you lounge back in the water. The rooms themselves are brilliant - light, airy and romantic. Some reviewers have quibbled on the stairs but to be honest the reward is more than enough for the climb.

The restaurant, rightly given a rave review in the Luxe guide, is really good. A really lovely setting and great food. If you want room service that is very efficient and well presented.

My wife has always enjoyed yoga so was chuffed at the facilities but, given that we had the honeymoon package, an hour's private tuition for the both of us was included so we tried it as a couple. I had never done it before but I loved it! The place you do it, near the restaurant, is outrageously nice and the teacher manages to accommodate both experienced and inexperienced in the same class.

The main pool, though we never really used it is lovely, never busy and backs onto a really relaxed chilled out bar. The amazing thing is that, even though the hotel was apparently at 100% capacity when we were there, you never really see anyone so it feels really private and exclusive all the time.

The best place we stayed all honeymoon and sad we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Pads4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2008

My husband and I stayed at Uma Ubud for our honeymoon. It was highly recommended by a friend so we were expecting something good but this surpassed our expectations. It was the perfect combination of luxury/ attentive service and privacy. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the food was excellent and the hotel rooms and grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rannoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2008

This was my second time to Ubud, and I had stayed at the idyllic Amandari before. I was a little skeptical of the lavish praise given to this hotel, and I had the memory of my near-perfect vacation at the Amandari as a basis for comparison. The Uma Ubud lived up to the hype. We had a fantastic room with a private plunge pool. The grounds were impeccable. Every corner is a design inspiration for your home or garden. The service, especially at the restaurant, was impeccable. Check-in, check-out, reservations, all were handled quickly. Staff is great. The only downside is that the walkways do get a little slick in the rain, despite the rough hewn blocks that make up the sidewalk.

Despite the significantly lower price, The Uma Ubud gives the higher priced Ubud properties a run for their money. One suggestion if you're staying for more than a few days is to get the annual Tablet Plus membership, which gives you a room upgrade if space is available.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank AAMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2008

Uma Ubud lived up to the praise at TripAdvisor. Bali is a beautiful island, and the setting of Uma takes full advantage of it. The staff treated us as if we were the most important guests in the place, always greeting us by name and re-confirming all our plans. If we had a request, they couldn't take care of it any faster.

We only had one dinner in the hotel, but it was quite good. (Note, there's a cheap and quite good BBQ joint across the street that you should try once during your stay). Treatments in the spa were first class, as was yoga. This was a rare hotel where I felt the staff was interested in our experience, not just increasing their revenue. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank traveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2008

We spent the middle section of our Balinese honeymoon in Ubud and stayed at lovely Uma. Our "room" was in fact a light and spacious villa with its own terrace, sun lounging area and infinity pool dropping off into the vibrant green jungle that envelopes the complex. It would have been very easy not to leave the suite at all during out stay! But we did venture out - to the chic poolside bar at Uma, or via the hotel shuttle car into Ubud itself. This hotel is a great place to stay if you want a luxurious base from which to explore the fascinating local area.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TheWardsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2008

The Uma Ubud was the third stop on our 3 week honeymoon to Bali last July. Of all the hotels in Bali, the Uma Ubud left me the most centered and satisfied with my vacation. If I had left for the airport right after this hotel, I would have felt completely fulfilled. The surroundings are completely zen. The way everything smelled, the way the food tasted, practicing yoga in a studio perched over the river valley, the massages, the delicious drinks, the cool marble floors on your bare feet - it's all just perfect. There may be more posh resorts, or fancier restaurants, or better pools, but this place is just incredibly special. When i think back about our trip to Bali, it's this hotel that gives me the goose bumps.

The restaurant down at the bottom of the resort has just incredible food - everything is organic and extremely well prepared. It's the best mix of upscale resort food with the traditional simple Balinese food. One caveat, we only ate there for breakfast because Ubud has the absolute best restaurants in all of Bali. While in Ubud, you MUST visit a few restaurants - Ibu Oka is the most famous place on the island to eat babi gulung (pig roasted over coconut fire). Oh my god I still dream of it. It's spicy and crispy and completely delicious. Also, make sure you visit Dirty Duck, a Ubud staple in a fabolous rice paddy setting near the Monkey Forest. On the upscale end, we did the tasting menu at Mosaic which was probably the nicest dinner we had on the island - as good as the best French restaurants in Paris. Another highlight was Jazz Cafe, we just chilled listening to some great low key jazz music and eating some pleasant Italian food.

In the Ubud area, there is the best shopping in Bali especially for art and furniture. We purchased beautiful hand carved wood furniture from a store called Danoe Furniture near the neighborhood called Mas. We got an amazing deal on beautiful work, although our canopy bed was destroyed in transit. But that doesn't diminish his work! And we bought these two carved masks that would have costs thousands in New York for $100.

The bartenders at this hotel were top notch. Stiff drinks, great recommendations, very friendly and not one of them tried to sell us anything (which was very different than other hotels where the bartenders all tried to convince us to pay them for tour guide services).

The only negative thing I can say about the hotel is that the marble gets a little slick when it rains, and a few people slipped while I was there. I actually wiped out and sprained my wrist while furniture shopping, but that wasn't at the Uma (it rained a decent amount, but always got really nice and sunny afterwards). Also, a slight negative was that our private dipping pool was so cold that it was totally Polar Bear club. Of the 5 days we stayed, we pledged that we needed to swim in the pool at least once. So one day, we just jumped in and moved around as fast as possible to dull the pins and needles. They should probably put some heaters in the private pool to make it more usable, especially since it was that cold in July!

Overall, this place was incredible. I'll stay here every time I go back to Bali - it's that nice. Zen is the only way I can put it, it just was balanced perfectly in every single way. The gods were in agreement the day they created the Uma Ubud.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank petercasella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.6 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 199 in Ubud
1,096 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,263 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#41 of 199 in Ubud
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#17 of 199 in Ubud
1,962 reviews
0.5 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
277 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Uma Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Uma Ubud

Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan | Banjar Lungsiakan, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ubud
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#12 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#13 Family Hotel in Ubud
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £183 - £395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Uma Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Uma Ubud is located in central Bali, close to the cultural hub of Ubud with tropical views of temples, rice paddies and the Tjampuhan Valley. The resort’s contemporary Asiatic design is pared down to ensure sunshine flows through interiors, from bedrooms to cooling plunge pools. Kemiri restaurant boasts world-class, healthful cuisine, created with fresh local ingredients, subtle spicing and distinct Balinese flavours. A signature COMO Shambhala Retreat, replete with a range of holistic wellness therapies, help to nurture and relax, while cultural activities, such as visits to artisans, are complemented by a range of outdoor pursuits, including white-water rafting, mountain biking and trekking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Odigeo, Splitty, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your COMO Uma Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uma Ubud Hotel Ubud
Uma Hotel Ubud
Uma Resort Ubud
COMO Uma Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing