We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice but needs updating”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of COMO Uma Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
COMO Uma Ubud
Ranked #14 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very nice but needs updating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2008

We stayed at Uma for 3 nights last week. We had paid for a Terrace room but were upgraded to a Garden room. Overall the hotel is very nice however for the price we paid the value wasn't there. The room was a good size, especially since we were traveling with our young daughter, but the rooms were tired and are in need of updating. There is nothing on the walls other than white drywall so you really notice that the tiling is in need of repair, stains on the walls, the mosquito nets have tears and the towels were often tattered. It looks like the hotel was once absolutely wonderful but it has now past its glory days. It needs some love and care...or at a minimum something on the walls so you don't notice all the faults. If you stay in a Garden room I recommend asking for #16 as it has the biggest garden area. I did not see the villas so perhaps they are in better shape and have been more recently updated. I would stay at Uma again but not at the price we paid. I think a fair price for what you get would be around the US$100 mark. We paid almost the same price that we paid at the Ritz Carlton the week before. Although lovely and charming, Uma is nowhere near the same category.

The food at Uma was fabulous. Breakfasts were excellent as was dinner. I would also recommend going to Glow at Como Shambalah (Uma's sister property) for one of the best dinners you'll ever have. Also Indus Restaurant is walking distance down the road which was one of the best restaurants we experienced while there. Naughty Nuri's (where all the local 'expats' hang...and drink waaaay too much) is also across the street and they serve easily what can be considered the best martini in all of Bali if not Indonesia. Some people rave about the food there, but I was mainly impressed by their martinis.

The spa was excellent and the prices were much more reasonable. Definitely worth a visit.

Service was nice and friendly and everyone cheerfully helped when you asked. Really good service predicts your needs and next move so that you don't have to always ask. Uma's not quite at that level yet. Or my expectations may have been influenced by the Ritz the week before where the service was outstanding. Like I said, the price we paid was very similar so I guess I expected the same level of service.

In my opinion the hotel is not walking distance to the town. We did walk it once but it is not something you will want to do frequently unless you are an avid walker, especially coming back to the hotel where it is uphill the whole way. Also the shuttle leaves only once every 2 hours, so we were unable to rely on it as a mode of transport unless we wanted to base all our plans around when the shuttle leaves and comes back. Taxis are a better way to go. The hotel taxi is about 2-3 times the price than if you walk out onto the road and hail one yourself. Depends on how comfortable you are doing that and how comfortable you are bargaining.

Overall I liked Uma and I would stay again, but I wouldn't stay there for the price they had us pay....unless of course they updated the rooms and took their service to the next level. Based on some of the other guests we met while we were there, I suspect that there was a large discrepancy in the price different people are quoted and were paying. We were the unlucky ones I guess.

  • Liked — Food and Spa
  • Disliked — Value for Money
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,100
    148
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
180
750
83
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

We stayed at Uma for 2 nights having spent 2 days at another property (see below). Uma is great, large rooms (we had a pool suite), great views accross the valley through the vegetation. The spa is great, very extensive "menu" with lots of innovative treatments. The resort is expansive. There is a main pool in the main area with a bar etc. Had we not been to one down the road for the previous two days, the place would have seemed perfect, but, having seen another place, it is hard not to compare......

So - positives:

- Massive room / suite! We had a Uma Pool Suite, and it was superb. I reckon that the total length of the frontage of the suite was at least 20 metres, This was a massive patio area with outdoor seats looking into the vegetation. Truly amazing. The bathroom had a sunken bath (plenty of room for 2...) and a separate part outdoor shower. The bed was huge, with nets around (not needed as no bugs / massies), but, made for a romantic feel. The pool area was away from the room (you get the idea of the size - and can see on the photos) with two sun beds - great

- Fantastic spa - like the normal Bali type thing, but, with some really innovative treatments / body wraps / electric (!!) treatment

- Amazing Yoga Studia, great view

- Large outdoor restaurant bv a large pond serving great food.

There were no negatives. However, having been at the Komaneka Tangayudda for the previous two days, it is hard not compare (expecially as we basically stayed at the two properties in the first place as we could not choose between them based on our research which included heavy reading of Trip Advisor..). The differences were

- Uma is a bit more commercial. You can tell it is run by a larger hotel group (or at least thats what we understand) and therefore you get all of the "room service surcharges" which come with that (at the Komaneka it did not matter where you ate, service is included in the rate. Its a small point and the cash value is not the point, more, about how it makes you feel....! In addition, the staff at the Komaneka seemed that little more personal again as if they are working as part of small team, than for a hotel chain.

- The main pool at Uma (the plunge pool in the suite is great for cooling down, but, not big enough for a swim...) is between reception and the bar. Hence, whilst its relaxing to sit down there, and read etc, there is a constant flow of people walking past being shown round on the customary "guided tour" which you get upon arrival. This is not a problem, but, makes it a bit more "busy". At the Komaneka for example the pool is at a "cul de sac" hence the only people you see are those using the pool, and hence, a bit quieter.

That said, the stay at Uma was great and we would recommend it to others. We had a good relaxing time, the food was good breakfast extremely extensive and relaxed thoroughly. If someone booked us to stay there, we would thank them kindly and enjoy the visit. If we were to choose ourselves, then the Komaneka it would be. This is more based on the feeling the place generates than the actual substance of the rooms or resort. However, Uma does have big and airy rooms, a great spa and generated a relaxing feeling especially the yoga studio, so, you will definately have a good time.

  • Liked — Room, Spa and Yoga Studio
  • Disliked — Bit too commercial, not quite an idyllic paradise
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moscow_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2008

Uma Ubud was our first stop on Honeymoon and absolutely blew us away.

Nothing about it disappoints. The staff, from the point at which they meet you at the airport with cold towels and water (after the nightmare that is Bali airport - tip: run of the plan to get in the queue first) to the time we sadly had to go, were fantastic. Ridiculously helpful, always friendly and accommodating of all our whims.

We had a Pool suite which had its own infinity pool overlooking the valley - highly recommend this, the view is perfect as you lounge back in the water. The rooms themselves are brilliant - light, airy and romantic. Some reviewers have quibbled on the stairs but to be honest the reward is more than enough for the climb.

The restaurant, rightly given a rave review in the Luxe guide, is really good. A really lovely setting and great food. If you want room service that is very efficient and well presented.

My wife has always enjoyed yoga so was chuffed at the facilities but, given that we had the honeymoon package, an hour's private tuition for the both of us was included so we tried it as a couple. I had never done it before but I loved it! The place you do it, near the restaurant, is outrageously nice and the teacher manages to accommodate both experienced and inexperienced in the same class.

The main pool, though we never really used it is lovely, never busy and backs onto a really relaxed chilled out bar. The amazing thing is that, even though the hotel was apparently at 100% capacity when we were there, you never really see anyone so it feels really private and exclusive all the time.

The best place we stayed all honeymoon and sad we didn't stay longer.

  • Liked — Everything but especially staff, food, rooms, pool, bar, view, yoga teacher, yoga venue and treatment
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pads4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, UAE
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2008

My husband and I stayed at Uma Ubud for our honeymoon. It was highly recommended by a friend so we were expecting something good but this surpassed our expectations. It was the perfect combination of luxury/ attentive service and privacy. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the food was excellent and the hotel rooms and grounds are beautiful.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rannoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2008

This was my second time to Ubud, and I had stayed at the idyllic Amandari before. I was a little skeptical of the lavish praise given to this hotel, and I had the memory of my near-perfect vacation at the Amandari as a basis for comparison. The Uma Ubud lived up to the hype. We had a fantastic room with a private plunge pool. The grounds were impeccable. Every corner is a design inspiration for your home or garden. The service, especially at the restaurant, was impeccable. Check-in, check-out, reservations, all were handled quickly. Staff is great. The only downside is that the walkways do get a little slick in the rain, despite the rough hewn blocks that make up the sidewalk.

Despite the significantly lower price, The Uma Ubud gives the higher priced Ubud properties a run for their money. One suggestion if you're staying for more than a few days is to get the annual Tablet Plus membership, which gives you a room upgrade if space is available.

  • Liked — Setting, room, location, service
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank AAMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
128 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2008

Uma Ubud lived up to the praise at TripAdvisor. Bali is a beautiful island, and the setting of Uma takes full advantage of it. The staff treated us as if we were the most important guests in the place, always greeting us by name and re-confirming all our plans. If we had a request, they couldn't take care of it any faster.

We only had one dinner in the hotel, but it was quite good. (Note, there's a cheap and quite good BBQ joint across the street that you should try once during your stay). Treatments in the spa were first class, as was yoga. This was a rare hotel where I felt the staff was interested in our experience, not just increasing their revenue. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2008

We spent the middle section of our Balinese honeymoon in Ubud and stayed at lovely Uma. Our "room" was in fact a light and spacious villa with its own terrace, sun lounging area and infinity pool dropping off into the vibrant green jungle that envelopes the complex. It would have been very easy not to leave the suite at all during out stay! But we did venture out - to the chic poolside bar at Uma, or via the hotel shuttle car into Ubud itself. This hotel is a great place to stay if you want a luxurious base from which to explore the fascinating local area.

  • Liked — The suite in which we stayed was amazing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TheWardsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
1.6 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#7 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
1.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.0 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Uma Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Uma Ubud

Property: COMO Uma Ubud
Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan | Banjar Lungsiakan, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#6 Business Hotel in Ubud
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#12 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#13 Family Hotel in Ubud
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Uma Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uma by COMO, Ubud is located in central Bali, close to the cultural hub of Ubud with tropical views of temples, rice paddies and the Tjampuhan Valley. The resort’s contemporary Asiatic design is pared down to ensure sunshine flows through interiors, from bedrooms to cooling plunge pools. Kemiri restaurant boasts world-class, healthful cuisine, created with fresh local ingredients, subtle spicing and distinct Balinese flavours. A signature COMO Shambhala Retreat, replete with a range of holistic wellness therapies, help to nurture and relax, while cultural activities, such as visits to artisans, are complemented by a range of outdoor pursuits, including white-water rafting, mountain biking and trekking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, TravelUp, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your COMO Uma Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uma Ubud Hotel Ubud
Uma Hotel Ubud
Uma Resort Ubud
COMO Uma Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing