We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Honeymoon spot in the art center of Bali”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of COMO Uma Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
COMO Uma Ubud
Ranked #14 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Honeymoon spot in the art center of Bali”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Uma was our first experience with Como Hotel chain, while it takes a while to get to Ubud (about 1 hr) it is worth it. The hotel is in the middle of Ubud, the capital of arts In Bali, complementary shuttle service to the center of Ubud leaves the premises every 15 minutes, where you can take a short walk to the monkey forrest or the main market.
While this hotel is beautiful its most surprising features are their spa treatments ( a bit expensive but totally worth it, specially in the couples cabin) and its food (everything we tried was outstanding don't forget to try their coffee)!!
Service was great, everyone was super friendly and they learned our names rather quickly, making the feel of the hotel very personal and exclusive. On our second day we hired a tour at the hotel which provided us with a lifetime experience going well beyond the line of duty taking us to their local ogoh ogoh anual festival, this memory will last forever.
The only con was that the first days there were to many kids in the common area to our taste, however we guess this depends on which season you are visiting.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose a room that is in the "new section" that is located near the spa and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uma-ResortManager, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Jose C,

First of all, Congratulations! and thank you for spending your honeymoon with us, we are happy that we can be part of your celebration.

Uma is indeed blessed by its location, very accesible from most interesting places in Ubud but at the same time secluded between the Wos River valley and lush green gardens. You are very fortunate that you were in Bali while we were celebrating our Saka Calender new year and able to witness the Ogoh Ogoh festival. I am glad that you enjoyed your special occassion with us.

We look foward to welcoming you back to Uma very soon.

Kind regards,

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,102
    149
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
181
751
84
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed 2 weeks at this property in Spring 2014. Overall an excellent experience, nice and very pleasantly furnished room with ample space, good food and very nice staff througout the resort.

One big draw of the resort for us were the free yoga sessions to be had every day. These were excellent, so we even topped these up with private yoga. Budi, the resort Yoga master is an excellent teacher and very motivating. He adjusted very well to the needs of my wife and myself, which were quite different in terms of advanced vs. beginner level yoga and made these work in the same session. For us definitely the best yoga practice so far. Would be a key reason to come back to the place.

The resort also features a highly recommendable spa, go for the Como Shambhala signature massage. The grounds are nice, but not extensive, like in the Como Shambala Estate nearby. What we liked of our terrace romm was the little garden space in front and that the building had only two rooms in it, so it felt very private.

We would definetely recommend the place to our friends.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HamburgTraveller1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uma-ResortManager, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear HamburgTraveller10,

Thank you for your recent stay and recommending Uma by COMO Ubud to all readers.

It is very encouraging to hear that you have an excellent stay with us and enjoyed so much what Uma could offer, particularly our daily Yoga Class. I will pass your comments to Budi our Yoga Teacher which I am sure will motivate him. Budi is indeed very special person, caring and inspiring in all different level of yoga background.

We look forward to welcoming you back and having more yoga sessions with us at Uma in our stunning yoga pavillion.

Kind regards,

Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Attention to detail marks everything at Uma.The pool villas offer a wonderful private space in which to follow the Balinese custom of an early morning and early evening bathe. Service is impeccable, individualized, ever being intrusive. The spa is deeply refined ( often booked out) and the daily yoga lessons are often held in a wonderful pavilion overlooking a secluded valley- bliss. We found the hotel a wonderful "stage"'to meet interesting people from all over the world, and a terrific gateway to the magical world of Bali, completely different to the beach scene at Kuta.The hotel arranged us to make an evening visit to the Como Shambala wellness resort, and eat a wonderful dinners at the restaurant there. Also recommended. Overall,we loved Uma by Como and cannot wait to return!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DavidHEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uma-ResortManager, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear David E,

It's lovely to read your review and thank you for sharing your experience with other reviewers.

We are delighted that you had a memorable stay and particularly feel humble that you found our service as impeccable and individualized. I will share your positive comments to our team which I am sure will motivate them.

Please return and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 nights in Uma by Como. The staff is very very friendly, the swimming pool amazing, the spa treatments great, the rooms spread around the property. We also really enjoyed the yoga classes - fantastic yoga teacher. It is very difficult to find something negativ about the hotel. Maybe the fact that the hotel is so good that it is difficult to go out for sightseeing. So overall Great Value!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Celine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uma-ResortManager, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Celine b,

We are delighted that you had 4 wonderful nights with us and enjoyed so much our pool, spa treatment, room, yoga class and most importantly you found our Uma team very friendly.

Thank you for your great review and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Next visit, will be the time for you to explore Ubud's nature and culture.

Kind regards,

Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

My Husband and I booked Uma for our First year wedding anniversary .
We booked 11 nights at this hotel and stayed in a pool Villa ( number 2).
Upon arrival at Denpasar airport we where met by a very lovely member of staff who took us to our driver. The drive up was extremely peaceful and the driver respected that we where very tired from travelling .
After around 1 hour and half we arrived at the beautiful hotel where we were met by lots of friendly , smiley polite staff ( Good Start :) ). We checked in and then where shown to our beautiful room.
The first few days we mainly vegged out in the hotel and took advantage of the excellent pool bar . We did eat at the Cucina restaurant a couple of times but unfortunately it did not Wow us.
After a few days we looked into a few of the activities and booked the Duck Feast , The Beraong Dance , White water Rafting and The Bathe , wash and Breakfasts with the elephants. All the Activities where outstanding and the hotel did an excellent job of seamlessly booking them for us. We also took advantage of the exquisite spa where my husband and I enjoyed a couples treatment , and by far its the best treatment we've had and we attend a spa at least every 6 weeks !
Over all this hotel is fantastic and all the staff go above and beyond to make your stay as relaxing as possible.
The only tiny thing for us was the amount of small children at the resort. Personally for me i feel the hotel should be adults only given the amount of time that has gone in to making it feel like a retreat .It is also so quiet and peaceful that it seems unfair to bring children there as they will want to jump and splash in the main pool !

Thank you to all the Staff at Uma Ubud

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pixiehawkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uma-ResortManager, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Pixiehawkes,

Thank you so much for your positive review and we are glad that you have a wonderful stay with us. Congratulations once again on your first wedding anniversary and we are gratefull that we can be part of the celebration.

It is good to know that you experienced many of the Ubud's highlights from traditional cuisine - Bebek Betutu, the Balinese Barong Dance to more adventurous activities like rafting and elephants ride.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cabo
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Our stay at the Uma Ubud was the most hotel stay in our lives and we have stayed in many hotels throughout the world.
Beautifully landscaped gardens, fabulous pool suite villa, delicious food and the most charming attentive staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaboDrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uma-ResortManager, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear CaboDrifter,

We are very humble to read such a great comment from a senior reviewer, like yourself.

I am glad that you had a great time and enjoyed your stay and I am particularly happy to read that you found our staff as charming and attentive.

Thank you so much and I trust that we will see you again soon at Uma Ubud.

Kind regards,

Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I could not recommend staying at Uma by Como more highly. We stayed for six nights last week and found it the perfect base for exploring the Ubud region of Bali. We were upgraded on arrival to a Pool Suite Villa (No.41) and the room was excellent, very clean, tastefully decorated, amazing views across a valley and large for two people.
All of the hotel staff were friendly, exceptionally helpful and went to all lengths to make sure we felt instantly at home. Our driver Agung who collected us from the airport gave us such an interesting guided tour in the car on the way up to Ubud.
The food was delicious and there was a very varied choice. Breakfast was particularly good, lots of variety of healthy juices and fruits as well as eggs and traditional Balinese red rice porridge – which was REALLY good! They catered easily for gluten-free options as well as my boyfriend’s nut allergy. Supper at Uma Cucina as part of the Bali Jazz festival was a particular highlight of the week.
We really enjoyed the complimentary daily yoga and the tours to the volcano, Kintamani Temple and the Cecak and Barong Dances in the evening. We indulged in massages at the spa which were excellent! The staff at the hotel were very good and helping us organise a schedule so that we had a perfect balance of relaxing and seeing the area.
We had the most wonderful holiday at Uma and woud definitely go back and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uma-ResortManager, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Sarah P,

It was a great pleasure having you staying with us at Uma.

I am grateful that your 6 nights stay with us was a memorable one. It was lovely to have good chats with you and enable us to share some recommendations to explore what Ubud/Bali could offer. It seems that you discovered lots of aspects. Besides enjoying your villa, our breakfast at Kemiri, the valley view, as well as our Uma Cucina's cuisine, I am delighted to know that you got the opportunities to have adventurous and cultural experiences, including the Tania Maria Jazz concert, yes indeed it was the highlight of the week.

We look forward to welcoming you back and discover more Ubud and Bali.

Kind regards,

Suteja
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
1.6 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#12 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
1.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.0 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Uma Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Uma Ubud

Property: COMO Uma Ubud
Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan | Banjar Lungsiakan, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#6 Business Hotel in Ubud
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#12 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#13 Family Hotel in Ubud
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Uma Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uma by COMO, Ubud is located in central Bali, close to the cultural hub of Ubud with tropical views of temples, rice paddies and the Tjampuhan Valley. The resort’s contemporary Asiatic design is pared down to ensure sunshine flows through interiors, from bedrooms to cooling plunge pools. Kemiri restaurant boasts world-class, healthful cuisine, created with fresh local ingredients, subtle spicing and distinct Balinese flavours. A signature COMO Shambhala Retreat, replete with a range of holistic wellness therapies, help to nurture and relax, while cultural activities, such as visits to artisans, are complemented by a range of outdoor pursuits, including white-water rafting, mountain biking and trekking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, MrandMrsSmith, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your COMO Uma Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uma Ubud Hotel Ubud
Uma Hotel Ubud
Uma Resort Ubud
COMO Uma Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing