We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional!!!”
Review of COMO Uma Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
COMO Uma Ubud
Ranked #12 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2008

Even whilst we were there we were discussing what to write in our TripAdvisor review!

We spent the first four nights of our 12 night honeymoon at the Uma Ubud, and never regretted it for a second!

We arrived around 9pm, exhausted and delirious from an 18 hour journey from London via Singapore, to a very warm welcome. The first thing we noticed was the feeling of peace & calm, as it is set away from the main road into Ubud and once you reach reception you'd think there was nothing else for miles around. Check-in was quick, quiet and easy, and we were then shown to our garden villa (number 29 - recommended!) and were mightily impressed.

Although not a large space, it was beautiful - light shades of distressed white wood, light oak and crisp white linen on a huge canopied bed. The bathroom was lovely with huge sunken bath, plenty big enough for two, and a semi-outdoors shower. Within 10 minutes of arriving we received a delivery of complimentary pink champagne on ice which was delicious and much-needed after the journey!

As we arrived at night (the sun sets at 6.30pm all year in Bali) we had no idea what views awaited us from our veranda. When we woke the next morning we were awe-struck - we were on the edge of a valley of coconut palms and banana trees with a river rushing through it... so that's what the 'wildlife' noises had been through the night! (tip: if you are woken at night to what sounds like something loudly tapping on glass, don't worry it's actually just a frog in the nearby foliage!).

The food in the restaurant is fabulous, very tasty and only slightly 'expensive' in relation to Bali restaurant prices (you can still have a 3 course meal and drinks for around £10 each) but is worth it at least once whilst you're there. Breakfast is a must, especially the mixed juices (smoothies but nicer). The pool bar has those great big mattress sofas to cuddle up on, the cocktails are wonderful, and the music is relaxing and funky.

There are koi karp in the many ponds scattered throughout the grounds. The grounds are beautifully maintained by an army of gardeners, who were really the only people we saw during the stay! The place was full but we saw maybe 4 or 5 other couples during the whole stay! The main pool is lovely, but very cold!

We didn't have any spa treatments as we felt they were overpriced in relation to what you could get in massage spas in town (can recommend Eve on Monkey Forest Road - a wonderful 30 minute massage was 50,000, just £4!). The yoga pavilion has the best views and we did do one of the complimentary 4pm yoga classes just for the experience - try it, it's worth it, even if you can't touch your toes!

Through our guide Pusmara (from Asia Trails - recommended) we had a full day tour of east Bali including a temple, paddy fields (spectacular) and an active volcano and lake. It's worth taking a tour as Bali is more beautiful than words.

After four days of alternately resting in Uma and touring we were ready to move to our 'real' resting place in Sanur for 8 more days, but that is not to say we didn't love everything about the Uma. It is a fantastic place, perfect for people who like us wanted to unwind from planning a wedding!

We would go back tomorrow if we could afford another honeymoon!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank KelG79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,385)
There are newer reviews for COMO Uma Ubud
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,135 - 1,141 of 1,385 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2008

My friend and I stayed at Uma 2 nights last week after a longer stay at Warwick Ibah located in the same area.

The room:
We had a garden room and it was just perfect. It looked like a private bungalow divided in 2 units: bathroom separated from the bedroom with a patio between. The open air black and white bathroom was astonishing. The bed was perfect and the room was clean and looked quite new.
But I also agree with a previous post saying that the sense of space is relative and the private garden in front of the bungalow is very small. I kind of felt surrounded by walls nicely hidden by the vegetation.

The hotel and it's staff:
The service at the restaurant was 1st class, even a little bit too courteous. The staff at the reception is friendly and helpfull. The pool is nice and quite large. As the number of room is very limited in this hotel, it's never get too crowded or noisy.

The location:
That is the only problem. The hotel is a good 25 minute walk to monkey road and Ubud Palace wich is quite long because of the heat (and all the holes in the pavement). Don't trust the map on their website: it's quite confusing without a scale.
They provide a shuttle service but only 1 every 2 hours and until 5 pm only. Do they do so to push clients having dinner at the hotel? So after 5 pm you need to take a cab and then starts a long negotiation about price as they don't have taximeter there.... We finalely payed 10,000 rupiah to go to Ubud Palace (do go to the dance show there on thursday it's awesome!).
If you don't want to go having dinner downtown you can still go to the Mozaic restaurant wich is only a 5 minute walk. That restaurant is really gastronomique but then get ready to digest the note also ;-)

Overall:
The hotel is so great and the staff so nice that it's still almost a 5/5 experience to me though they really should increase the frequency of their shuttle and extend that service until the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AxelFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2008

We just returned from our stay at the Uma for the second part of our honeymoon in Bali. It was truly a wonderful experience. I had decided to book our stay at the Uma based largely on other trip advisor reviews and I was very happy I followed the advice of other trip advisor travelers who had stayed there. When we first arrived at the front desk they had cold, refreshing towels waiting for us to cool off our face, and they escorted us to the pool-side bar for our welcome drink. Our room wasn't ready right away, which they felt very bad about (even though we had arrived before check-in so we knew it wouldn't quite be ready!), but it was actually ready very quickly (after about 15 minutes) so it was no problem at all. We had the most basic type of room, but it was still gorgeous. A canopy bed, a beautiful little terrace outside where you can sit and read while over-looking the jungle, and a wonderful bathroom with a tub and a separate open-air shower. The water pressure was strong and hot, which I really appreciated and the towels were big and fluffy. Every morning the hotel made up the room, and again at night, there was another clean-up and turn-down service. My one complaint about the room was that the sheets on our bed were quite stained in a few places. It was clear that they had been washed (so it was sanitary) but clearly some previous stains had been hard to remove and were still very visible. I don't know whether this was just our experience or whether other guests found this, too. Other than this, though, everything else about the room and the hotel were perfect.
Location-wise, the Uma is not directly in the center of Ubud, but I rather liked this because the main part of Ubud felt a lot more crowded and noisy, and I appreciated being in a little bit quieter of an area while still having easy access to Ubud. There is a free shuttle every few hours from the hotel into town, and if the schedule does not fit your needs, they will always drive you in at another time for a slight charge. Also, it is a pleasant walk into town (about 20-25 minutes). Going there is downhill, but coming back is uphill, so we got a ride back rather than walk. Right in the vicinity of the Uma are several delicious restaurants that are worth a visit. Naughty Nuri's is directly across the street and is a popular but inexpensive choice where you can have Indonesian food, bar-b-que, and famous martinis. Locals and tourists, alike, go there, so you will definitely get a feel for the local (or at least the ex-pat) community. About a 5 minute walk from the Uma is the restaurant Indus which is delicious (we went there 3 times over our 6 days in Ubud!). There is a lot of variety on the menu, a beautiful view overlooking the valley, and great prices. For example, we had dinner with an appetizer, two entrees, two cocktails, and dessert, and including tax and service charge the total was about $35 US. A great price! The other famous restaurant in the neighborhood of the Uma is Mozaic, which is a bit more on the pricey side but is an amazing, luxurious, and delicious dining experience. You sit in the garden atmosphere and dine on a 6-course tasting menu (they will cater the courses to vegetarian needs or other prefereneces, too!) If you want to get a massage or other spa treatment right near the Uma, there is Bali Botanica day spa, which I highly recommend. Very relaxing, comfortable, and a great deal.
But back to the Uma, itself! It was the kind of hotel where you could easily spend all day there relaxing by the beautiful pool, taking one of the complimentary guided walks through the rice paddies, working out at the gym, taking a free yoga class, or checking out a DVD from the front desk to watch in your room on a rainy day. The yoga pavillion is the most gorgeous place you can ever do yoga-- even if you don't normally do it, it's worth a try just for the setting (it overlooks the lush river valley). There is also a business center with several computers, and I believe the hotel has free wireless internet if you bring your own laptop (which we didn't). There was just so much there that whether we were touring around Ubud or just hanging around the hotel we were never bored and it was relaxing at the same time. The food at Uma is also delicious. There are healthier options, too, on both the breakfast and lunch/dinner menus. Breakfast, which is included, has many choices and comes with amazing fruit juice smoothies (our favorite was the coconut, mango, papaya juice -- try it!)
Perhaps what stood out most at the Uma is the hotel staff. They are so friendly, calm, responsive, and helpful with anything you might need either around the hotel or in the area. Whether we had questions about restaurants, attending a dance performance in the area, or getting to/from the airport, they were always there to help and make arrangements. On the first night we were there, they even sent a complimentary bottle of champagne to our room since they knew it was our honeymoon. That was such a sweet touch and we really appreciated it.
We saw a range of guests there, from young couples like us to families with young children to older visitors.
We absolutely loved the Uma and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank chilly18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2008

We have just returned from a trip to Bali including four nights at the Karma Jimbaran (see review) and three nights at Uma Ubud. Our stay here did not get off to a good start. We had booked a car to pick us up from Jimbaran, but the car didn't arrive. I phoned the Uma and they sent a car immediately, but due to the distance between the resorts, we ended up waiting over two hours in total. We also had to switch rooms after the first night due to some plumbing problems, which wasn't such a big problem, but certainly not ideal. We received a free late check-out at the end of our stay, which may have been intended as compensation, although no-one said this explicitly.

As for the resort, the reception and pool areas are beautiful, and the restaurant is set lower down in the valley with nice views and a lovely open-air feel. However, the resort is situated on a relatively small piece of land, and therefore the villas are packed tightly together with no sense of space. This was a huge contrast to the wondeful Maya Ubud, where we stayed last year.

We stayed in a garden villa, which was not the cheapest category of room but probably the worst. The room itself is nice, if very simple, and the bathroom is beautiful, but the "garden" consists of a small sitting area with a table and two upright chairs, and a tiny lawn. Both areas are completely surrounded by 3-meter high walls - meaning that your view is a small square of sky - and both are too small to fit loungers. The cheaper terrace rooms had beautiful views of the valley, so if a view is important to you, go for the cheaper option!

We ate at the restaurant for breakfast every day, and for lunch and dinner on other occasions. The food was good, but nothing amazing. We also tried Mozaic, where the food was fantastic, but we found the whole experience to be exhaustingly fancy and formal - not the kind of thing we're looking for in a holiday in Bali.

One of the great things about the Uma Ubud is its location just steps away from Sanggingan Road, where you can find lots of nice shops and galleries, a few restaurants (including Mozaic), and the fabulous Bintang supermarket for beer, juice and snacks ten times cheaper than the mini bar at the resort. We also had a superb lunch at the Kafe Batan Waru in Ubud town center - my beef rendang was the best meal of the whole trip. Definitely worth a visit.

Another mention should go to the reception staff, who were incredibly helpful and polite.

I've listed quite a few negatives here, but I still enjoyed my stay at the Uma Ubud. Nevertheless, I would probably go back to the Maya Ubud or splash out on the Four Seasons Sayan if I went back to Ubud for another visit.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil&Osamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2008

We stayed at Uma for 3 nights last week. We had paid for a Terrace room but were upgraded to a Garden room. Overall the hotel is very nice however for the price we paid the value wasn't there. The room was a good size, especially since we were traveling with our young daughter, but the rooms were tired and are in need of updating. There is nothing on the walls other than white drywall so you really notice that the tiling is in need of repair, stains on the walls, the mosquito nets have tears and the towels were often tattered. It looks like the hotel was once absolutely wonderful but it has now past its glory days. It needs some love and care...or at a minimum something on the walls so you don't notice all the faults. If you stay in a Garden room I recommend asking for #16 as it has the biggest garden area. I did not see the villas so perhaps they are in better shape and have been more recently updated. I would stay at Uma again but not at the price we paid. I think a fair price for what you get would be around the US$100 mark. We paid almost the same price that we paid at the Ritz Carlton the week before. Although lovely and charming, Uma is nowhere near the same category.

The food at Uma was fabulous. Breakfasts were excellent as was dinner. I would also recommend going to Glow at Como Shambalah (Uma's sister property) for one of the best dinners you'll ever have. Also Indus Restaurant is walking distance down the road which was one of the best restaurants we experienced while there. Naughty Nuri's (where all the local 'expats' hang...and drink waaaay too much) is also across the street and they serve easily what can be considered the best martini in all of Bali if not Indonesia. Some people rave about the food there, but I was mainly impressed by their martinis.

The spa was excellent and the prices were much more reasonable. Definitely worth a visit.

Service was nice and friendly and everyone cheerfully helped when you asked. Really good service predicts your needs and next move so that you don't have to always ask. Uma's not quite at that level yet. Or my expectations may have been influenced by the Ritz the week before where the service was outstanding. Like I said, the price we paid was very similar so I guess I expected the same level of service.

In my opinion the hotel is not walking distance to the town. We did walk it once but it is not something you will want to do frequently unless you are an avid walker, especially coming back to the hotel where it is uphill the whole way. Also the shuttle leaves only once every 2 hours, so we were unable to rely on it as a mode of transport unless we wanted to base all our plans around when the shuttle leaves and comes back. Taxis are a better way to go. The hotel taxi is about 2-3 times the price than if you walk out onto the road and hail one yourself. Depends on how comfortable you are doing that and how comfortable you are bargaining.

Overall I liked Uma and I would stay again, but I wouldn't stay there for the price they had us pay....unless of course they updated the rooms and took their service to the next level. Based on some of the other guests we met while we were there, I suspect that there was a large discrepancy in the price different people are quoted and were paying. We were the unlucky ones I guess.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We stayed at Uma for 2 nights having spent 2 days at another property (see below). Uma is great, large rooms (we had a pool suite), great views accross the valley through the vegetation. The spa is great, very extensive "menu" with lots of innovative treatments. The resort is expansive. There is a main pool in the main area with a bar etc. Had we not been to one down the road for the previous two days, the place would have seemed perfect, but, having seen another place, it is hard not to compare......

So - positives:

- Massive room / suite! We had a Uma Pool Suite, and it was superb. I reckon that the total length of the frontage of the suite was at least 20 metres, This was a massive patio area with outdoor seats looking into the vegetation. Truly amazing. The bathroom had a sunken bath (plenty of room for 2...) and a separate part outdoor shower. The bed was huge, with nets around (not needed as no bugs / massies), but, made for a romantic feel. The pool area was away from the room (you get the idea of the size - and can see on the photos) with two sun beds - great

- Fantastic spa - like the normal Bali type thing, but, with some really innovative treatments / body wraps / electric (!!) treatment

- Amazing Yoga Studia, great view

- Large outdoor restaurant bv a large pond serving great food.

There were no negatives. However, having been at the Komaneka Tangayudda for the previous two days, it is hard not compare (expecially as we basically stayed at the two properties in the first place as we could not choose between them based on our research which included heavy reading of Trip Advisor..). The differences were

- Uma is a bit more commercial. You can tell it is run by a larger hotel group (or at least thats what we understand) and therefore you get all of the "room service surcharges" which come with that (at the Komaneka it did not matter where you ate, service is included in the rate. Its a small point and the cash value is not the point, more, about how it makes you feel....! In addition, the staff at the Komaneka seemed that little more personal again as if they are working as part of small team, than for a hotel chain.

- The main pool at Uma (the plunge pool in the suite is great for cooling down, but, not big enough for a swim...) is between reception and the bar. Hence, whilst its relaxing to sit down there, and read etc, there is a constant flow of people walking past being shown round on the customary "guided tour" which you get upon arrival. This is not a problem, but, makes it a bit more "busy". At the Komaneka for example the pool is at a "cul de sac" hence the only people you see are those using the pool, and hence, a bit quieter.

That said, the stay at Uma was great and we would recommend it to others. We had a good relaxing time, the food was good breakfast extremely extensive and relaxed thoroughly. If someone booked us to stay there, we would thank them kindly and enjoy the visit. If we were to choose ourselves, then the Komaneka it would be. This is more based on the feeling the place generates than the actual substance of the rooms or resort. However, Uma does have big and airy rooms, a great spa and generated a relaxing feeling especially the yoga studio, so, you will definately have a good time.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moscow_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

Uma Ubud was our first stop on Honeymoon and absolutely blew us away.

Nothing about it disappoints. The staff, from the point at which they meet you at the airport with cold towels and water (after the nightmare that is Bali airport - tip: run of the plan to get in the queue first) to the time we sadly had to go, were fantastic. Ridiculously helpful, always friendly and accommodating of all our whims.

We had a Pool suite which had its own infinity pool overlooking the valley - highly recommend this, the view is perfect as you lounge back in the water. The rooms themselves are brilliant - light, airy and romantic. Some reviewers have quibbled on the stairs but to be honest the reward is more than enough for the climb.

The restaurant, rightly given a rave review in the Luxe guide, is really good. A really lovely setting and great food. If you want room service that is very efficient and well presented.

My wife has always enjoyed yoga so was chuffed at the facilities but, given that we had the honeymoon package, an hour's private tuition for the both of us was included so we tried it as a couple. I had never done it before but I loved it! The place you do it, near the restaurant, is outrageously nice and the teacher manages to accommodate both experienced and inexperienced in the same class.

The main pool, though we never really used it is lovely, never busy and backs onto a really relaxed chilled out bar. The amazing thing is that, even though the hotel was apparently at 100% capacity when we were there, you never really see anyone so it feels really private and exclusive all the time.

The best place we stayed all honeymoon and sad we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Pads4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.6 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
1,074 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
1,195 reviews
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#19 of 199 in Ubud
1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.4 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#13 of 199 in Ubud
792 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Uma Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Uma Ubud

Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan | Banjar Lungsiakan, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#6 Business Hotel in Ubud
#10 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#13 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £189 - £427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Uma Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Uma Ubud is located in central Bali, close to the cultural hub of Ubud with tropical views of temples, rice paddies and the Tjampuhan Valley. The resort’s contemporary Asiatic design is pared down to ensure sunshine flows through interiors, from bedrooms to cooling plunge pools. Kemiri restaurant boasts world-class, healthful cuisine, created with fresh local ingredients, subtle spicing and distinct Balinese flavours. A signature COMO Shambhala Retreat, replete with a range of holistic wellness therapies, help to nurture and relax, while cultural activities, such as visits to artisans, are complemented by a range of outdoor pursuits, including white-water rafting, mountain biking and trekking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your COMO Uma Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uma Ubud Hotel Ubud
Uma Hotel Ubud
Uma Resort Ubud
COMO Uma Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing