We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Property”
Review of COMO Uma Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
COMO Uma Ubud
Ranked #14 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Beautiful rooms, a great pool, incredibly luxurious setting and a fantastic F&B program, this hotel is a winner and very competitively priced. Highly recommended. You will enjoy Ubud and its beautiful surroundings, or simply enjoy this cool resort.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank charliep14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uma-ResortManager, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Charliep14,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking your time to write a review.

Your very positive comments on our room, pool, our ground as well as our Food and Beverage offerings are very much appreciated.

Thank you for recommending Uma Ubud and we look forward to welcoming you back to Uma.

Kind regards,

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

690 - 696 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a perfect hotel for a relaxing, chilled visit to Bali - may be not somewhere to stay more than 4 nights though. We stayed here on honeymoon for 4 nights after staying down on the coast at Jimbaran bay for 5 nights. We loved it, had a room with a private fish pond which was very nice, although the resident frog never stopped croaking at night. We loved the layout of the resort among all the plants and trees. The breakfasts at the hotel are amazing with a buffet and a unique bespoke cooked breakfast menu. Food was served to a very high standard and so quickly. Our room was perfect and the adjoining bathroom was amazing with the partially open air shower and bath. Used the spa facilities and my wife and I booked a second treatment on the basis of the first one being so good. Staff couldn't be more helpful. The only draw back is that there is limited number of sun beds and due to the trees and foliage you get a limited amount of time while you are actually in direct sunlight. Used the resort gym facilities which was adequate for what we wanted to do but it could do with some more air conditioning or fans and a better selection of music - the Bose system was set on track1 repeat and I couldn't get it moved to any other track. A little disappointed when I asked about the bike tour to the coffee plantation was told that the roads weren't really passable, wasn't offered any alternative.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uma-ResortManager, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Rowert,

Thank you for having chosen Uma by COMO, Ubud to celebrate your honeymoon and for writing a great review.

Staying in Ubud after your south of Bali experience was a perfect combination. I am glad that you loved our room and found our cuisine especially breakfast was amazing one. Thank you so much for your feedback on our music track in our Gym as well as on the information given to you on the alternative activities, it is much appreciated for our improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Uma.

With kind regards,

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Had a weekend trip here with my partner and stayed in the Terrace room. The room felt very private and tranquil as it was more like a small villa with a private garden surrounding it. It was a great room with a beautiful outlook and high quality fittings.

WHAT I LOVED
- The bar next to the pool is fantastic - the quality and presentation of the food, juices and cocktails all impressed very much.
- The breakfast is great. A fruit, pastry and juice buffet and then an a la carte selection from quite a large menu (where ordering is unlimited). The freshly brewed coffee is amazing - something that is hard to find at a hotel (my partner is an extremely fussy coffee drinker)
- The turn-down service was special as they always lit a candle out on the terrace and turned the lights down which gave the room a special ambience.
- The quality of the treatments at the spa. The professionalism and expertise of the staff make the experience very much worth it.
- The grounds of the hotel - especially the koi ponds. This hotel definitely has a great feel about it.

WHAT NEEDS IMPROVEMENT
- Checking in and Checking out took an uncomfortably long time. I think we were standing at the counter for at least 15 minutes each time. There seemed to be several documents we needed to sign and it all seemed very tedious by the end of it.. we couldn't wait to get away from the front desk! Please look into streamlining this process. Otherwise, if your guests must stay and wait and sign so many forms please consider seating your guests and serving a welcome drink to make this experience more comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mermaid00mermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uma-ResortManager, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear mermaid00mermaid,

Thank you for spending your weekend at Uma and for taking your time to write a lovely review.

It is a pleasure to know that your enjoyed the privacy and tranquility of your room as well as our turn down set up. COMO Cuisine and COMO Shambhala spa are very importance elements in our offerings and we are happy that we exceeded your expectation in these particular areas. Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback on the check in and check out. I will defitely look into this seriously and making sure our standard are followed at all time. Check in and check out should be less than 5 minutes.

Once again, thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Uma soon.

Very best regards,

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We spent 4 nights at this hotel in July with 2 adults and 2 older kids. Overall we had a great time, but this review would not be helpful if I didn't give you a few points to consider ...
The pros :
1. Good breakfast : it is partly a la carte and partly buffet, so for those of you who prefer a proper buffet, look somewhere else. The healthy options are good and so are are the juices and the French toast. Fruit, bread and cereal options are OK but not extensive. Hotel serves great pizza by the pool
2. Location : far enough from busy town centre to relax but only a short taxi ride away from town if you want more action ie 40,000 IDR will get you to the centre or half an hour walk, although walking in the dark on Ubud's streets is a bit of an undertaking given the state of the pavements.
3. Yoga studio : hotel has a fantastic yoga hall overlooking the river valley. A truly awesome view and location to do your asanas, unfortunately we only discovered it on our last day there....
4. Walk to the rice fields with their guide Putra : great 2 hour payable walk with a local guide who can enlighten you on all things Bali. The rice paddies were not the most spectacular in Bali but the knowledge imparted by the guide made it a no-brainer. Ask to see the shy princess...
5. Room was around the back and was very relaxing, but the charge for the extra bed made it overpriced
The cons :
1. Front desk staff : not always the friendliest or the ones with decision making abilities. This hotel is run by the sales desk with the emphasis on sales. A few examples : outrageous charges for extra bed, certain things were uncancellable despite it being perfectly possible, if you book taxi from hotel desk to go down the road, they charge you the going rate plus all the taxes. If you walk up the hotel entrance and book the hotel taxi there, you pay the going rate minus all the extra charges....some things just did not make sense.
2. Pool area : great but relatively small for number of hotel guests
3. No extras even if you are a special guest. My husband organised a wedding blessing at the hotel temple, so they organised a one hour ceremony at great expense to us, but unlike many other hotels there were no special touches ie no fresh flower petals on the bed, no cake, no card with wishes etc....I had the impression they were just going through the motions but they certainly did not make us feel special. A really big missed opportunity and something I would never book again at their hotel...I would rather do it on the beach in Lombok at the Tugu hotel.
As I said we had a good time, but the amount of money we spent, we would have been better off elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you don't book a bungalow, book a room on first floor as terrace area has better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poessing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uma-ResortManager, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Poessing,

Thank you for spending your 4 nights Bali holiday in Uma and for taking your time to write such a great review.

It is our pleasure to know that you had a great family time together. Your very positive comments as well as your constructive feedback are very much appreciated. I will pass your very encouraging note to Putra - one of our activity guides. My sincere apologies for the unpleasent experiences you had at our front desk. It is very important lesson from where we will learn so we can serve our guests better.

With best regards,

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stayed at Uma for a couple of days before moving to COMO Shambhala Estate, we have been upgraded to Uma Villa, room is more spacious, with a separate living room, dining room, king sized bed, sunken bath and open air shower room, and also we have a terrace that we love to have reading there, so quiet and peaceful !!!
We didn't join any activity, but we definitely enjoy the stay here. The breakfast is great, with a variety of choices from a la carte menu. Besides, we can also get our favorite fruits, juices, bread from the semi buffet bar outside. Cucina (the other restaurant) is also fantastic, we tried tiger prawn, black link linguine, and we also tried the pizza during lunch at the Pool Bar, they are all very delicious, especially the black ink linguine, I tried in Cocoa Island, Point Yamu by COMO and this time at Cucina, to my surprise that they maintain the same quality and standard, wonderful !!!
Everything here is just perfect, staff are nice, friendly, helpful, cheerful, with a calm and peaceful environment, love it !!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cocoalourdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uma-ResortManager, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Cocoalourder,

Thank you for writing such a great review.

I am glad that your COMO experiences continued from Maldives to Pukhet and to Bali. It is a pleasure to read that you loved all elements of your stay and felt the consistency of our COMO standard accross COMO properties.

We look forward to welcoming you back and next time hopefully you will have more opportunity to try our activities.

With best regards,

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon for 3 nights. The hotel is very well decorated, the room we had was very large with a private pond at the entrance, great bathroom. Breakfast was delicious and staff very attentive, they also offer free yoga that my wife loved, although the yoga teacher did not show up on our last day. All in all a great place to stay in Ubud, relaxing and fairly central.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank rudybier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uma-ResortManager, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear rudybier,

Thank you for your recent stay at Uma by COMO, Ubud.

It was a pleasure for Uma to be part of your honeymoon celebration and I am glad that you enjoyed your special moments with us. I am glad that you were happy with all aspects of your stay and I am particularly delighted that you found our team attentive to your need.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Uma.

Kind regards,

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

After more than two weeks travelling in Asia, we stayed two nights here and spend the whole time relaxing at the resort area. Our suite was stylish, private, quiet and equipped with pool. Eggs benedict were very tasty at the restaurant breakfast. The Italian restaurant fulfilled our expectations, too. Staff was polite and helpful. Enjoyable experience, highly recommended!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Toni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uma-ResortManager, Manager at COMO Uma Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Toni K,

Thank you for your recent stay at Uma.

I am glad that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay. Your positive comments about our room, breakfast, Uma Cucina is highly appreciated. I am particularly happy to read your positive note about our team.

Once again, thank you for writing a very positive review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Uma.

With best regards,

Gede Suteja
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.6 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 199 in Ubud
1,096 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,262 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#41 of 199 in Ubud
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#17 of 199 in Ubud
1,961 reviews
0.5 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
277 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Uma Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Uma Ubud

Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan | Banjar Lungsiakan, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#6 Business Hotel in Ubud
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#12 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#13 Family Hotel in Ubud
#14 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £183 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Uma Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Uma Ubud is located in central Bali, close to the cultural hub of Ubud with tropical views of temples, rice paddies and the Tjampuhan Valley. The resort’s contemporary Asiatic design is pared down to ensure sunshine flows through interiors, from bedrooms to cooling plunge pools. Kemiri restaurant boasts world-class, healthful cuisine, created with fresh local ingredients, subtle spicing and distinct Balinese flavours. A signature COMO Shambhala Retreat, replete with a range of holistic wellness therapies, help to nurture and relax, while cultural activities, such as visits to artisans, are complemented by a range of outdoor pursuits, including white-water rafting, mountain biking and trekking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Southall Travel, Splitty, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your COMO Uma Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uma Ubud Hotel Ubud
Uma Hotel Ubud
Uma Resort Ubud
COMO Uma Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing