We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uma shows others how it should be done”
Review of COMO Uma Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
COMO Uma Ubud
Ranked #12 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights earlier in July. In a word, the hotel is fabulous. Rooms are spacious, clean, design-led and private. We didn't hear neighbours at any point of the stay. The staff, almost to a man, have mastered the art of being helpful and attentive yet discreet and unobtrusive. I could not have asked for more from them.

The food at Uma is excellent. Breakfast was a treat each morning (please try the hot ricotta cakes - I was dubious too but immediately converted) and dinner was equally as good.

Should you venture outside for a meal (and one always should) head for Nasty Nuri's just down the road (turn left out of the hotel) which is a local BBQ-led restaurant filled with locals and tourists sharing tables wherever seats can be found. A great way to strike up conversation and find the jewel you hadn't known about beforehand.

To recap, a fabulous hotel with exceptional service that should serve as a lesson as to how one should run a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0ndonGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,385)
There are newer reviews for COMO Uma Ubud
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,088 - 1,094 of 1,385 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2010

Stayed with my husband as part of our honeymoon and it was perfect for a romantic and relaxing getaway. We felt very welcome by all staff who were very friendly and helpful. The reception staff take the time to walk you to your room and explain the services on offer; we participated in the free morning walk around the local area (daily), the free yoga class and free shuttle car to Ubud centre (10 min drive). The spa is also very good.

I loved the terrace room we stayed in. The design-led style of the room and hotel in general was not pretentious thankfully, just elegant. The honeymooners' welcome gift was the best out of the 3 hotels we stayed in. Worth mentioning for those who dislike insects that because of the location, there can be ants in your room - or even a gecko as we found! Found the room to be quite humid even with the air con on, due to the construction of the roof (thatched).

We were happy to stay in the local area and only went once into Ubud centre, where we found there were too many hawkers. There are lots of art galleries and places to eat nearby.

To be honest, we loved the whole Uma experience and were quite happy to stay! Great choice for breakfast and food in general is excellent, though can be expensive compared to the local prices.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Stayed for four nights at the Uma as part of a circular tour of the island of Bali. Opted for the cheapest of the types of room - terrace room but was glad I did as our room was quite literally on the edge of the river valley. We were entertained each morning by a pair of squirrels playing in the coconut palm right outside our small terrace garden. Also so numerous salamanders and the occasional frog and a giant snail in the gardens after rain.

Only ate breakfast at the Uma's resturant but this was always very good, with lots of choice, and the staff working there are really great. The conciege was very good at dealing with resturant booking requests in town. I also have to comment on the excellent free early morning guided tour through the nearby rice fields.

As you walk through the hotel grounds you are greeted by numerous staff who make a genuine effort to make all guests feel really welcome. I would strongly recommend this hotel if you are thinking of staying in Ubud.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerekT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Uma is a quiet, tranquil boutique hotel 5 - 10 mins drive from the centre of Ubud. We had a room in a secluded part of the resort which offered amazing views of the jungle, valley and river. All the staff seemed to know our name even if we had never met them before - which was great. The room was really spacious and comfortable and the bali coffee and fruit available in the room was a treat. We couldn't get enough of it. The decor and architecture is typically balinese which was really charming.

The staff were just brilliant especially Tini on reception. Everything was well explained so we were right at home.

The pool area was really nice and is a good place to chill out. Although they were full, we hardly saw any other people.

The breakfast was simply awesome - a good choice of really tasty, freshly produced dishes. When we had a tour starting very early in the morning, they even packed us a breakfast to take with us which was really nice of them. Nothing was too much trouble. Though we didnt have dinner at the hotel, the other food we did eat was really really nice with decent size portions.

There is a free shuttle running every couple of hours in the day time to take you to and from town but you could walk it in the day in about 25 mins or take a taxi for about 30,000 rph (about £2.50).

Great hotel and somewhere we will definately come back to. We just felt at home there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrAndMrsFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

This place is heaven after a week of meetings in crazy congested Jakarta.

My airport pick up was smooth and so was the one hour long ride to the hotel. The peace and tranquility of the Uma Ubud was experienced the moment I arrived. I love the tropical landscape - you feel as if you are in the middle of a lush jungle (a well manicured jungle). The one restaurant is next to a huge koi pond. The swimming pool is nice and there're a lovely bar next to it that has very comfortable daybeds. Above this bar is the yoga space. It was so nice to practice yoga (good teacher) outside and overlooking the pool and garden.

The service at the hotel is flawless yet unobstrusive. I think the staff discreetly radio each other as you move around because everyone knew where I was as well as my name. The food is healthy and delicious. I love the variety of fruit/vegetable juices at breakfast every morning.

I had several spa treatments (scrubs, massages, etc) and they were fantastic. The spa is indoor and outdoor and quite spacious.

My room was big and the bathroom even bigger. I love the half outdoor shower stall. My room had a lovely terrace with comfortable lounge chairs and view of lush greenery. The Como line of bath products is natural and very nice. I bought some to take home. My only complaint is the old box TV - every hotel has flat screen TVs now!

It was hard to drag myself outside of the Uma Ubud but I did take the free shuttle to downtown for a bit of souvenir shopping. It's about a 20 minute walk which I recommend that you do at least once to really see the scenery.

I also suggest you take the morning walk through the rice paddy fields. Just wear comfortable shoes since the paths can be very narrow and slippery.

There was a problem with my bathtub which the maintenance staff immediately addressed when I called the front desk. The night manager came by within 10 minutes to check in and then asked if I would like to be moved in case they could not fix the problem. He was apologetic and offered a complimentary massage, too. My new room was quickly prepared and was exactly like my original room. The staff handled the situation really well and hence my lovely vacation was not affected at all. However, later that night I discovered my phone and Internet did not work. I told the front desk the next day and they were fixed immeditely.

Uma Ubud is just amazing, and compared to some other high end hotels nearby, I think the cost is quite low for such 5 star service! I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geneva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

I travelled from Los Angeles to Bali and met up with my cousin. I found Uma Ubud on tablet hotels site. I found it to be perfect for what we were looking for. Both my cousin and I have demanding jobs. We just wanted somewhere that was restful, beautiful, aesthetically pleasing with great food, pool and a gym. Uma Ubud was perfect for our needs. One day, we walked into town which is about 25 minutes. Then, we stuck around the area of the hotel. The hotel has delicious food, but for variety there are plenty of local restaurants across the street for sushi, bbq(Naughty Nuri's), etc.... as well as Art Gallery's to wander. Its near the rice paddies and they have morning walks that the hotel leads which was great to do. The decor is about simple beauty. It is well decorated and the landscaping is lush and well done. The staff are kind and helpful. We were probably the only friends there. The rest of the hotel guests were honeymoon or couples. I would absolutely go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c0urtneyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We had a wonderful 4 days at Uma Ubud
Great private bungalows ( never heard ant other guests) with good staff servicing
Staff were friendly and always smiling.
Top class breakfast. Very healthy choice of food.
Excellent morning guided walk through rice paddies etc every day
Morning yoga classes well run
Shuttle bus service to Ubud always on time
Can recommend for a relaxing getaway

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterandDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.6 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
1,075 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
1,195 reviews
1.4 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#19 of 199 in Ubud
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.4 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#13 of 199 in Ubud
794 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Uma Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Uma Ubud

Address: Jl. Raya Sanggingan | Banjar Lungsiakan, Kedewatan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#6 Business Hotel in Ubud
#10 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#13 Family Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £189 - £427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Uma Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Uma Ubud is located in central Bali, close to the cultural hub of Ubud with tropical views of temples, rice paddies and the Tjampuhan Valley. The resort’s contemporary Asiatic design is pared down to ensure sunshine flows through interiors, from bedrooms to cooling plunge pools. Kemiri restaurant boasts world-class, healthful cuisine, created with fresh local ingredients, subtle spicing and distinct Balinese flavours. A signature COMO Shambhala Retreat, replete with a range of holistic wellness therapies, help to nurture and relax, while cultural activities, such as visits to artisans, are complemented by a range of outdoor pursuits, including white-water rafting, mountain biking and trekking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Expedia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your COMO Uma Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uma Ubud Hotel Ubud
Uma Hotel Ubud
Uma Resort Ubud
COMO Uma Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing