We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$288
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$324
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$345
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$390
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$349
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$538
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,187)
Filter reviews
1,187 results
Traveller rating
1,078
85
18
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,078
85
18
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef deanpersonal butlerpool villacocktail hourafternoon tearice paddiescomplimentary mini barour honeymoonbutler putrabose sound systembutler servicekecak dancethe general managerlocal villageoutdoor bathbanana frittersrestaurant overlooking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
795 - 800 of 1,187 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2011

we spent the first 4 nights of our honeymoon here before moving onto alila villas soori and the the club at the legian. we booked our trip through David Ourisman who is a travel specialist based in USA .

when you have read the reviews in advance your expectations are increased and indeed you actively look for the tiniest thing to pick up on!! well bar a misunderstanding with pick up at airport (which maybe held us up for 5 mins or 10 mins) everything about the stay was unbelievable.

such a great place to relax for 4 days after 24 hours spent traveling from ireland via london and singapore.

everything about this place has been said before in old reviews so there is little point me repeating.

we had a pool villa and this was amazing , with our excellent butler Tari at our call 24/7. what a way to relax just by your own pool in your own villa.

we were treated like vips down i guess to the class of the hotel , being on honeymoon and booking through David who has such a great reputation in the travel business.

amazing - if your staying Ubud and want the service levels of Aman or FS at a lower price then you must stay at Chedi.

Combine your stay with The Club @ The LEgian. GHM have 2 amazing hotels in Bali . Chedi was amazing but we enjoyed The Legian EVEN more if that is possible!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Very unique setting - Absolutely beautiful - The smell of the rice paddies... It's just heaven - The kind of place you want to stay before you die! - Great staff also, they're trying hard to please you without being too intrusive...- Ubud has a lot to offer, we ate in some great restaurants there such as Lamak, Cafe des Artistes (5*), Nomad, If you wallet can strech to Mozaic (Gastronomic/French-owned) then go for it, you'll have a memorable evening, it was a 10/10 meal! One of South-East Asia top 5 place to it I heard, if not the best.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CarolineWhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed 3 nights at The Chedi Club as part of our recent honeymoon on the recommendation of Elite Resorts of Asia Pacific after spending the previous 3 nights at The Bale in Nusa Dua. We absolutely loved The Chedi Club, it was just the perfect thing we were looking for after a hectic week or 2 before with wedding preparations etc.

We received a transfer from Nusa Dua from The Chedi Club and stopped into a few of the local shops on the way to Ubud which was nice of our driver since the drive was around 2 hours, it was nice to break it up a little. We we arrived we were greeted by our fantastic butler Supri who made our stay sublime and very special at his every chance.

We were escorted to the reception area, have a brief check in, scoffed down some really great banana fritters just before we met the GM, Stefan. We had booked a pool villa which was amazing, on opening the gates to our villa we were met with a large pool with outdoor daybed seating and dining area. Inside the villa itself was furnished really well, with his and her's vanity, a large rainfall shower, separate toilet as well as the largest outdoor bath we had ever seen, which got quite a bit of use. We had a queen size bed, and complimentary mini-bar and laundry which we used to keep things fresh. It would be hard to pick a fault with anything here.

The resort itself is set on in amongst rice paddies, some of which the hotel and their group of farmers manage, and the rest are from local farmers. The Chedi Club buys and plants a lot of their own organic rice which was great to see them putting back into the community. We took a rice paddy trek with our butler Supri on one of the days and he told us a lot about the area, as well as having a quick walk through the local villages on the way back to the resort.

It's so peaceful and spaced out so that if you don't want to interact with other guests, you are not put in a situation where you may have to. The staff are really friendly and all make their effort to get to know you, either at the afternoon tea or cocktail sessions at the restaurant which were both fantastic, we don't think we'd ever drank so much tea in one sitting before. We took part in a private cooking session with the chef who showed us how to cook a few local dishes as well as teaching us a little about the food culture in bali and ubud. We also had a fantastic Balinese feast of Babi Guiling (Sucking Pig) which was really special.

My new wife and I will surely remember this trip for many years to come, we just hope that we can get back there for longer next time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thek1w1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

An absolutely beautiful hotel. We only stayed for 3 nights and once I arrived in the room I regretted not staying longer to take it all in.
The pool villa we had was gorgeous with a fabuluous pool and amazing outside bath. As we were on honeymoon they filled the bath for us as a suprise when we got back for dinner with sparkling wine, chocolate cake and oils and flowers. Gorgeous. Free laundry service and free drinks from 6-7. The room had a free mini bar as well as free spirits.
The staff were lovely and we felt incredibly lucky to stay here.
The only down sides were the following:
* the pool looks much bigger on the hotel photos, didnt bother us as we had a pool room but important to note
* the room service food was terrible and very expensive.
* the food in the restaurant was just average with very small portions and very expensive. We were also shocked at how many flies hover above you the whole time. To be expected I suppose as you are eating in a paddy fiel but the staff did nothing about it despite the fact they could see flies were dropping in our food - they should put candles out which deter flies or offer some sprays.
* All other hotels of this standard have offered a free shuttle service but they charged 200,000 IR which is about £14 which is a lot seeing as the local taxis charge 30,000 about £2.50

I would definitely reccomend to stay here but make sure you have places arranged to eat in Ubud.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 24minilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

After many to trips to Seminyak we decided that we too should break away and head north....at least for the short term. What a way to kick off our holiday, Excellent service, our butler was at our beckon call. We stayed in a one bedroom pool villa......luxury plus plus.
Very private very peaceful.....highly recommend it and worth the cost.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelop21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews