We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lush, Hidden Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Ranked #12 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
272 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“A Lush, Hidden Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

Hidden among the lush hills of Bali's culture rich highlands, this most private of resorts sits among thriving rice fields as far as the eye can see. Just outside the artists' village of Ubud, this intimate retreat has twenty individual villas, each one uniquely featuring original Balinese artwork. I had the one-bedroom suite #21 that was fully stocked with every amenity you would ever want.

Simon Spiller and his team created an environment where everything is a work of art. The art of placement is shown in the foods offered at their restaurant in addition to the placement of furniture located throughout the property. My personal butler, Sun, was extremely efficient and most helpful to me in navigating around Bali. He was proud to show off his hospitality skills and I was even more grateful for that. (It's the small touches - like providing an electrical adapter for my camera without even asking).

Do take advantage of their complimentary rice paddy trekking, exploring the estate and learning more about the ancient techniques of harvesting rice.

This place is true nirvana.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adventure Diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    945
    81
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
191
661
34
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Everything about this hotel says quality, and everything people have said about it is true! This is an outstanding Hotel and the service and the staff are exceptional. We stayed in a pool villa and we had absolute privacy, but our butler was available at the drop of a hat. We ate in the restaurant numerous times and the food was great quality and the chef will also happily cook different dishes for you. We also went on two day trips which we know could have been cheaper with a tour group, but to stroll to the front gate and spend the day in a new vehicle with a personable driver who shared his love of Bali, took photos of us and walked around the sites with you explaining their history, we felt was worth the extra cost. From memory it was 600,000rp for a 5th trip, plus 21% tax etc. This hotel was a wonderful oasis before we started our trip around Australia and I really cannot recommend it enough, go and see for yourselves and you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank flipflop15Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

This is a truly fabulous place to stay. The setting is stunning, service attentive, and rooms perfection. We stayed in a pool suite for 3 nights and found this to be the perfect time to relax, enjoy the resort and its facilities but feel ready to confront the pace of Bali at the end. Breakfast overlooking the rice paddies was a more than pleasant way to start the day. We also joined the resorts Sunday BBQ -featuring delicious suckling pig, and would recommend this evening for its food and ambience. We loved our friendly, knowledgable butler Agus, who made every effort to ensure our stay was special. Highly recommend this venue for any special occasion or when you just need to be spoilt :-)

Room Tip: We adored the private plunge pool and found the pool room very spacious. My partner even noted the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Djc005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. We stayed in the spa villa, and really loved the daily massages that were included in the rate. The hotel is out of the way but the hotel would drop off us in the downtown area. The staff was amazing, they planned excursions and organized a ride to the sister hotel so we could go to the beach.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

Probably the best hotel around. Location in the middle of rice fields is unique. All hotel services are first class and the villas very luxurious. One of the best hotel we have been too. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lad_n_Sab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed here for three days in July this year as part of our honeymoon. It is a very special place, with service and attention to detail second to none. Every member of staff greeted us with a warm and genuine smile and could not have done enough for us. Our butler Putra went beyond the call of duty, literally taking care of our every whim with a smile. The service aside, the hotel is set among the beautiful paddy fields of Ubud and lush and expansive manicured gardens are simply stunning.
On arrival we were warmly welcomed with a refreshing drink and banana fritters, and told that they had upgraded our villa free of charge. It only got better from there! The villa was huge with it;s own massage room, relaxing veranda and large outdoor bathroom, and huge living area supplied with everything we could have thought of including a free limitless mini bar.
On top of this, the complimentary petal bath, and free pre dinner cocktails served to the room were just a couple of the special touches that separates this hotel from other 5 star hotels we have stayed in. We ate in the hotel restaurant once, beautiful candle lit space surrounded by paddy fields and croaking frogs. We could not fault the food at all (although it was pricey) it was delicious. However we did find it so eerily quiet and lacking in a little atmosphere so we didn't return, preferring to sample the many restaurant options in nearby Ubud. Breakfasts were incredibly tasty and plentiful. In fact we found it unnecessary to eat again until dinner time, especially with the complimentary afternoon tea that is served anywhere you please.
The pool area is another stunning and peaceful space, as is the the spa. I had a facial and head massage and it was as good as any treatment I've had anywhere.
In short, this is the kind of place you don't come across very often. If you have the chance to stay here, don't hesitate, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed at the Chedi Ubud for 2 nights after a week diving in Raja Ampat ...this was the perfect way to end our vacation in Indonesia.
The Chedi is beautiful - surrounded by rice paddies and the beautiful estate architecture made our stay memorable. We had a pool villa and thoroughly enjoyed relaxing and dining in room after a day of hiking and exploring the Ubud area. I highly recommend that you visit as many temples as possible - an amazing experience... especially if you ask the Chedi to arrange for a private tour guide.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanisHazlewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.1 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#7 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
1.9 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
4.9 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
3.7 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Property: The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Address: Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ubud
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#9 Business Hotel in Ubud
#10 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chedi Club at Tanah Gajah, Ubud, rests within an exclusive private estate, comprises of 7 one bedroom suites, 9 one bedroom pool villas, 3 family (two bedroom) or spa (one bedroom) villas and a two bedroom Hadiprana villa, leisurely spread throughout a substantial four hectares of beautiful garden, encompassed by an infinite vista of rice fields. All hotel guests enjoy personal butler service and the Club benefits including welcome drink and cold towel upon arrival, daily newspaper and seasonal selection of fresh fruit in suite or villa, daily A la carte breakfast in suite/villa or at The Restaurant, daily laundry service up to 6 pieces per person (dry cleaning not included), complimentary minibar with alcoholic selection (refreshed once daily), complimentary afternoon tea from 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, complimentary daily sunset cocktails from 6:00 pm to 7:00 pm in suite/villa or at The Bird Lounge or The Pool Pavilion or The Club Lounge, private car service to/from Ubud Centre from 8am to 6pm, free Wifi, free unlimited access to the health club, yoga studio and tennis court. Other facilities include a spa, 28m swimming pool and amphitheatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedi Hotel Ubud
The Chedi Hotel
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing