We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The greatest Honeymoon experience we could have wished for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Ranked #7 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Everything the team did at the Chedi exceeded our expectations. Unlike other hotels we felt we received value for money and individuality. Nothing was too much trouble for the team here at Tanah Gajah. Im just not sure how they achieved such consistently high standards from every single person linked to the hotel - the drivers, the gardeners, the spa team, the yoga instructors, the restaurant staff, the security teams. You can only dream about re creating this!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauraroscoe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 390 of 1,133 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

It is hard to describe what made this property so exceptional. From the moment we set foot on the premises and our butler Kadek greeted us, we felt like really valued guests. We travel a lot and we have stayed at many hotels, but the two hotels we stayed in on this lovely island have beaten previous experiences. People are so friendly and service minded, that is very extraordinary. The food is of an exceptional standard and the premises of this hotel is just beyond anyone's imagination. I had the disadvantage of experiencing a swollen hand and imeediately a doctor was called in and both management as well as staff were very considerate. The restaurant, the food and the service are simply unbeatable and can servce as an example for every hotel. We are very priviliged to be able to stay here and we will definitely return to the Chedi.

Room Tip: The villa's with private pool add that little extra comfort that sets it apart
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review and for sharing it with other travelers. We very much appreciate your comments about the hotel, the service and food. I'll make sure to share your review with the entire team.

We are happy and delighted that you had a memorable stay with us a the Chedi Club.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have been staying at a number of 5-star hotels around the World, and we normally don't rate them officially, but in this case we have to make an exeption.

This is truely a fantastic hotel, and probably the best hotel we ever stayed at. Every little detail works and you feel at home the second you enter the premisses. Our butler Suan also did his outmost to make our stay a memorable one - and he succeeded.

We can only give our warmest recommedations to the Chedi Club.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This is perhaps one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The service was beyond exceptional, the villa was very nice, and the hotel was like a private national park. It was full of green space surrounded by rice fields and in the middle of a small village. The restaurant was was very nice. Our butler was, Rusdi, was very helpful, and we genuinely had a great time there. The pool inside the villa was always clean, the outdoor bath really nice and peaceful. The hotel had a lot of culture and Ubud also offers quite a bit of culture. Our butler took us on a nice tour around the rise fields and the village where the hotel is located, he also arranged and booked other days trips for us and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

Guys, keep up the good work, and thank you for making our time there a memorable experience.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mr_h_saleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your review of our hotel and for sharing it with fellow travelers. I have to say I very much like your description of a national park!

I am glad you enjoyed the cultural aspect of our hotel. And I agree being so close to Ubud, the cultural hub of Bali, its nice that we can showcase some of Bali's beautiful artifacts, paintings, sculptures and landscapes in our hotel.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

my husband and I stayed in the Chedi Club for 4 nights in July last year as part of our honeymoon, and I have to say it was the highlight of our trip to Bali. From our pick up at the airport through to the impeccable service by our lovely butler Jiwa I could not imagine how it could have been improved.

We stayed in a Pool Villa which was lovely, with beautiful Balinese carvings and furniture, a lovely outdoor bath, etc, and all the little touches by the staff there made it even better. At night, the beautiful grounds are romantically lit by candles everywhere and I can still remember the sound of the balinese music travelling across the rice fields as we relaxed for dinner.

Normally we are very independent travellers, but at the Chedi Club we are every meal in the hotel (you would be mad not to) including having dinner and breakfast in our villa on a few days. We also took part in some of the 'excursions' they were happy to organise for us, which were really worth it. On the topic of food, the Singaporean chef is fantastic (and very friendly) and the roast sickling pig/ barbecue was fabulous.

We also used the spa facilities which were great and I also highly rate the staff there as my massage was great. We had a 'couples treatment' included in our stay, and their outdoor jacuzzi overlooking the rice paddies with a glass of bubbly is hard to top.

I want to say a belated thank you to the staff at the Chedi Club for making our honeymoon even more special (and ruining us for all other hotels we may stay at in the future!).

Room Tip: we had a pool villa which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaC1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. Its very nice to know that you are still thinking about us. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful honeymoon here at the Chedi Club.

I will make sure to pass on your gracious comments to Chef Dean, the culinary team, Jiwa and the Spa team.

Thank you again for staying with us and we are already looking forward to welcome you back to the Chedi Club soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

The location is beautiful, very tranquil and serene is how I would describe the grounds and overall atmosphere. Felt really rejuvenated after the stay which was amazing!

Stayed here as part of our honeymoon in the pool villa, really beatiful, and the package we got included 2 hour spa package as well as an amazing romantic dinner In the middle of the rice paddy fields.

The reason I gave 4 stars is because I do think the price is quite expensive, rooms are probably close to needing a bit of refurb and also the breakfast whilst adequate, was nothing on how amazing the Legian is (sister hotel) for a lesser price per night.

Staff were amazing!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Catrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a great review. We are delighted that you had an memorable and enjoyable stay at the Chedi Club!

Congratulations again on your wedding! I'll make sure to pass on your gracious comments to our entire team.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I wrote a review on Komaneka Tanggayuda a week ago and have indicated to write a review on Chedi to compare the 2, which I have stayed in my last travel to Bali. Chedi was not in my plan originally but due to the eruption of Volcano Kelud, we altered our plan and stayed 2 more days in Ubud. Instead of staying 2 more days at Komaneka, which is an excellent hotel, we picked Chedi. We arrived mid day and we were shown to our villas and my friends were even upgraded to the estate house but it is too big for them so they turned it down and opted for the pool villa.

Chedi does not have a jungle, a river or a breathtaking view, instead Chedi offers you total serenity. What makes it tick is a combination of the environment, the weather, the layout of the compound, the architecture of the buildings, the immaculate service standard of both the staff and the management (including the butler of the owner), the gentleness and the sincerity of all staff members, the thoughtfulness of the operator. They just want to ensure all the hotel guests can take away good memories of Chedi.

Needless to say I am very happy with the hardware of the pool villa, it is not over luxury but it's just right. I am particular fond of the paddy field, which plays magic to calm you down and to take away your tension from work or the pressure of urban life. I could sat in the restaurant with my feet hanging over the paddy field for hours watching the rice plant, enjoying the slight breeze, the blue sky and even the monsoon rain.

I went to 2 yoga sessions and 2 spa/massage sessions, which I would highly recommend. It's really something of practicing yoga right in front of a greenfield and taking a bath under a starry night. The yoga instructor is very good, she ensured the right amount of exercise was given not too hard and could be coped by most.

The choices of the breakfast menu are very good with a choice of English breakfast, hot pastry, fruits, yogurt and cereals. We also try the Balinese set dinner, at first we thought the portion was small but in fact it was enough.

We were told the owner of the hotel is an architect by profession and is very fond of Balinese landscape and architecture. The buildings, the pool, the spa house, the restaurants, the lily ponds, the black swans, the footpath, the rice field are all carefully designed and maintain to ensure to provide a peace in mind to all the guests. The good rating of the hotel is no accident, every single inch and aspect are well managed.

I will go back again when I visit Bali next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichieShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a wonderful and detailed review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed the resort that much, and we very much appreciate the gracious comments about the service, the hotel's facilities and our staff.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.0 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 199 in Ubud
1,097 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,263 reviews
2.4 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
3.6 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Address: Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#2 Family Hotel in Ubud
#5 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#9 Business Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £267 - £509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ubud’s leading 5-star luxury boutique resort, The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, rests within an exclusive former private estate and features only 20 art-filled villas in 5 hectares tropical gardens, surrounded by lush rice paddies in the heart of Bali. Villa choices include 7 one bedroom Suites, 9 one bedroom Pool Villas, 3 two bedroom Family Pool Villas and the one-of-a-kind 570m² two bedroom Hadiprana Villa. Each villa is assigned a personal butler and guests enjoy extensive complimentary Club Benefits: A la carte breakfast, afternoon tea, evening cocktails, minibar incl alcohol, laundry service, car service to Ubud, yoga classes, Wifi, and access to the 28m swimming pool, gym and tennis court. Unique activities include rice paddy trekking, cooking classes with Chef Dean or the acclaimed Kecak & Fire Dance followed by a Royal Balinese dinner at The Restaurant. The property features elegant spaces for memorable weddings and events for up to 150 guests and may be bought out exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedi Hotel Ubud
The Chedi Hotel
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing