We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just amazing! Will come back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Ranked #6 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just amazing! Will come back”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed ubud for two days. Chediston gave us a really luxury relaxation experience. Very personalised service. One of best hotels. Many services are free . Makeme feel at home. For luxury , exclusive and relaxation. This is the one you should stay in ubud

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ww99929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Its nice to know that we were able to make you feel like at home, a wonderful compliment, thank you, thank you!

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    978
    82
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
198
683
35
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This has to be one of the best hotels for a total get-away-from-it-all, luxurious vacation. The grounds are immaculate, the service impeccable and the dining experience an absolute delight. If staying here you must watch the traditional Kecak Fire Dance performed in the hotel’s grounds by local dancers - totally mesmerising!

The spa experience is perfect, at amazingly affordable prices. And take note other major hotel chains - free WiFi throughout!

The rooms are large and comfortable, although showing signs of their age. A facelift would raise this hotel to one of the very best.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for such a great review. Its nice to hear that you enjoyed our Kecak Dance. The group of dancers, there are normally between 80 to 100 men and boys from all ages are all coming from our neighboring village Tengulak.

I agree with you, Wifi is essential and should be free in any hotel in the 21st century! A must have for all our guests.

The upkeep and maintenance of our facilities and especially the villas are of upmost importance to us, our Engineering team is working on a daily bases to make sure that everything is in the best conditions as possible. We just completed a renovation for our Spa Pool Villas a few weeks ago to make sure the product is up to date, last year we renovated the bathrooms in our Suite Villas.

Thank you very much again for your feedback and wonderful comments about your stay with us here at the Chedi Club Tanah Gajah.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My wife and I traveled here in July 2013 and loved the experience. The hotel is located up in Ubud. It is pretty far from the beach but it has a nice pool (and some rooms have their own pools). Instead, the hotel is in a beautiful setting among rice patties and closer to cultural landmarks. In terms of seeing temples and other sites, the hotel can arrange for a car to take you around. They provide water and cold towels (which were appreciated in the heat) and go at the pace you want to go. In terms of food, the restaurant is absolutely excellent. We ate in town one night, and then opted to stay for the rest of our meals. We were also able to go a cooking class with Chef Dean, which was a lot of fun and showed us the care that goes into their meals (and the sourcing for their food). In terms of service, our butler was very helpful and saw to it that we had a great experience. Being American, we are not used to butlers, but Jun made sure there was no awkwardness. Finally, the rooms are very nice and tend to be indoor-outdoor. We stayed in one room where the entire bathroom was outdoors. Given the insects, that was not appreciated at night. When we upgraded, our room had only an outdoor bath, which was a good arrangement.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMZV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Everything the team did at the Chedi exceeded our expectations. Unlike other hotels we felt we received value for money and individuality. Nothing was too much trouble for the team here at Tanah Gajah. Im just not sure how they achieved such consistently high standards from every single person linked to the hotel - the drivers, the gardeners, the spa team, the yoga instructors, the restaurant staff, the security teams. You can only dream about re creating this!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauraroscoe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

It is hard to describe what made this property so exceptional. From the moment we set foot on the premises and our butler Kadek greeted us, we felt like really valued guests. We travel a lot and we have stayed at many hotels, but the two hotels we stayed in on this lovely island have beaten previous experiences. People are so friendly and service minded, that is very extraordinary. The food is of an exceptional standard and the premises of this hotel is just beyond anyone's imagination. I had the disadvantage of experiencing a swollen hand and imeediately a doctor was called in and both management as well as staff were very considerate. The restaurant, the food and the service are simply unbeatable and can servce as an example for every hotel. We are very priviliged to be able to stay here and we will definitely return to the Chedi.

Room Tip: The villa's with private pool add that little extra comfort that sets it apart
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review and for sharing it with other travelers. We very much appreciate your comments about the hotel, the service and food. I'll make sure to share your review with the entire team.

We are happy and delighted that you had a memorable stay with us a the Chedi Club.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kongens Lyngby, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have been staying at a number of 5-star hotels around the World, and we normally don't rate them officially, but in this case we have to make an exeption.

This is truely a fantastic hotel, and probably the best hotel we ever stayed at. Every little detail works and you feel at home the second you enter the premisses. Our butler Suan also did his outmost to make our stay a memorable one - and he succeeded.

We can only give our warmest recommedations to the Chedi Club.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This is perhaps one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The service was beyond exceptional, the villa was very nice, and the hotel was like a private national park. It was full of green space surrounded by rice fields and in the middle of a small village. The restaurant was was very nice. Our butler was, Rusdi, was very helpful, and we genuinely had a great time there. The pool inside the villa was always clean, the outdoor bath really nice and peaceful. The hotel had a lot of culture and Ubud also offers quite a bit of culture. Our butler took us on a nice tour around the rise fields and the village where the hotel is located, he also arranged and booked other days trips for us and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

Guys, keep up the good work, and thank you for making our time there a memorable experience.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_h_saleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your review of our hotel and for sharing it with fellow travelers. I have to say I very much like your description of a national park!

I am glad you enjoyed the cultural aspect of our hotel. And I agree being so close to Ubud, the cultural hub of Bali, its nice that we can showcase some of Bali's beautiful artifacts, paintings, sculptures and landscapes in our hotel.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.0 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 196 in Ubud
1,055 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
3.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 196 in Ubud
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#18 of 196 in Ubud
1,893 reviews
2.4 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 196 in Ubud
247 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Property: The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Address: Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ubud
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#5 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#9 Business Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ubud’s leading 5-star luxury boutique resort, The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, rests within an exclusive former private estate and features only 20 art-filled villas in 5 hectares tropical gardens, surrounded by lush rice paddies in the heart of Bali. Villa choices include 7 one bedroom Suites, 9 one bedroom Pool Villas, 3 two bedroom Family Pool Villas and the one-of-a-kind 570m² two bedroom Hadiprana Villa. Each villa is assigned a personal butler and guests enjoy extensive complimentary Club Benefits: A la carte breakfast, afternoon tea, evening cocktails, minibar incl alcohol, laundry service, car service to Ubud, yoga classes, Wifi, and access to the 28m swimming pool, gym and tennis court. Unique activities include rice paddy trekking, cooking classes with Chef Dean or the acclaimed Kecak & Fire Dance followed by a Royal Balinese dinner at The Restaurant. The property features elegant spaces for memorable weddings and events for up to 150 guests and may be bought out exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedi Hotel Ubud
The Chedi Hotel
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing