We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Ranked #5 of 197 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The Chedi Club is by far the best hotel in Bali and one of the best in the world.

It is a magical and tranquil oasis in Ubud.

The rooms and service is fantastic. Couldnt be better.

Will return to this hotel again.

The GM - Simon was very helpful and extremely hospitable. Staff is excellent. Our butler - Ayu was superb.

Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adityapittie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review! We are very happy to know that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us.

I will make sure to pass on your gracious comment to your butler Ayu.

We are already looking forward to welcome you back to the Chedi Club in the not so distant future.

Thank you again for staying with us and kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 398 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here for 5 nights with my daughter whilst travelling the Far East , we chose a one bedroomed pool villa which was beautiful and looked out on to the rice fields , although they had recently been harvested it was still quite a sight . Breakfast here is made to order and was always plentiful and fresh , my daughter loved the restaurant in the evening though as chef dean accommodated her little requests , a very nice touch and dean certainly knows his stuff ! We tried the spa whilst here but although beautiful And clean our therapists we found to be average but then we both like to actually feel we have had a massage not just for relaxation purposes . If you also like the same as we do then I can highly recommend the Karsa spa near ubud with any of the therapists but gusti in particular is incredible . Our butler June was a sweetie and was always on hand if needed , he took us on a very informative walk around the rice fields and village and speaks very good English ...the manager here simon is also great he was very caring ( as were ALL The staff after I was bitten at the monkey forest and had a doctor in my room giving me rabies jabs within 40 mins . Although it's highly unlikely that they carry the disease I was warned not to take any chances . Overall an amazing hotel that we both totally enjoyed .

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Year2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a detailed and wonderful review and sharing it with fellow traveler on TripAdvisor.

I will definitely forward your comments to Chef Dean and his culinary crew as well as June your butler.

Also, thank you very much for your feedback regarding the Spa treatment, I apologize if it has not been as good as you have expected. I'll make sure pass on your comment to our Spa team and see how we can improve our services.

Its good to know that you are feeling better and everything is fine with you after the incident at Monkey Forest.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Chedi Club just got better and better with each hour we were there. And my fiancee and I only stayed one night! The setting is serene, the villas are lush and rich and the rice paddy restaurant is somewhere you'll never want to leave.

The Chedi Club staff make you feel so welcome during your entire stay. The surrounds are gorgeous and feel very authentic. Our butler took us on a 6:30am rice paddy tour which was probably the highlight of our Bali trip. The food at the restaurant is incredible... breakfast, tea time and cocktail hour are all included in the price of your room. The signature cocktail hour drinks are too die for made with herbs from the hotels on property organic garden. Just divine. The yoga room has direct line of sight out over acres and acres of rice fields... definitely the most beautiful setting for a yoga class I've had to date.

Nothing about the Chedi will disappoint. If you're thinking of booking, do it. I can't wait to get back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a pool villa, SO worth it. Try to get one will a view of the rice terraces :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great comments about our Estate. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the rice paddy track with your butler. In the early morning when the sun is going up is the best time for it, I agree!

I will make sure to share your gracious comment about the food with our culinary team, they will be very happy to receive it.

We are looking forward to have you back with us soon and hopefully for a longer stay so you can explore the other hotel facilities as well.

Thank you again and kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I chose The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel for my 20th wedding anniversary in Bali. The hotel was huge sourrounded by green rice fields. It was suitable for couples or families to relax and re-engerize after whole busy days. The air was absolutely fresh, the place was peaceful and quiet, I felt like I could escape the polluted city and live my own paradise. My room was spacious, convenient with Asian as well as western design. It looked old-fashioned, simple with modern furniture. The perfect combination between classical and luxurious. The outdoor swimming pool was small, but bounded with natural landscape with opened wide view. It made me actually comfortable. I also enjoyed lying back in my private outdoor bathtub, having lunch in the hotel yard with great view and running in the gym with the green field view. My husband went jogging around a hotel, because he said he love its natural beauty, and wild air.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ggodoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Congratulation again on your wedding anniversary and thank you for spending it with us here at the Chedi Club!

Many thanks for sharing your experience with other travelers on TripAdvisor, we are delighted that you had a memorable stay with us.

Its nice to hear that you enjoyed the resort's peaceful setting in the middle of the rice fields and the design of your villa.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back soon and thank you again for staying with us.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We went to Chedi in September 2012 and had the time of our lives. The accomodation was pure luxury, the afternoon tea magnificent, the breakfasts out of this world and the service impressive.

From the moment you arrive your butler cannot do more to welcome you. The setting within the paddy fields are just so beautiful. I cannot say more about this hotel it was a piece of paradise! Even if you wanted to go into the town they would take you.. they really could not do enough for us.

A great honeymoon location or romantic break...if you are thinking about going think no more you must go you will not regret it!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mr_and_Mrs_De_Chypre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a marvelous review and congratulation again! We are very happy to made your stay a memorable one and I'll make sure to share your comments with the entire team.

" A piece of Paradise" that's a wonderful description of our hotel, many thanks!

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

With our best regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

2nd time in Ubud, 4th time in Bali. This is the best place in Bali I've stayed. Everything about Chedi is 1st class. They do everything well, service, comfort, setting & food. The wifi is reliable, the staff amazingly nice, right down to the gardeners. Many things are included for free: Wifi, shuttle to town, mini-bar, water, snacks & cold cloth at the pool, high tea every afternoon, happy hour from 6:00 -7:00pm & a private butler. The spa staff were well trained and the facilities excellent. The rice paddy surroundings are serene, breezy, relaxing and beautiful. Chef Dean has an amazing and varied menu, that is constantly changing. He is super friendly and showed us the organic fruit & vegetable garden one morning. You can see and taste his passion for quality food & service. For a small fee your butler will take you on a guided tour of the rice paddy & village.

This is one of a few reviews I made that is 5 star with no complaints or areas that need improvement.

Room Tip: For total privacy book a pool villa. The pool is very nice so if you don't require complete pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MamaCassExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing such great comments about our hotel with fellow travelers. " A slice of heave" I think it could not get better then that, thank you for such a great compliment!

I am delighted that you enjoyed our various Club Benefits, we want to make life for our guests as easy and accommodating as possible that is why we have chosen to drawn in these free entitlements.

I'll make sure to pass on your note to Chef Dean, he will be very happy about it. And yes I agree he is a very passionate individual and loves to cook delicious food.

Thank you again and we look forward to see you soon back at the Chedi Club.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed ubud for two days. Chediston gave us a really luxury relaxation experience. Very personalised service. One of best hotels. Many services are free . Makeme feel at home. For luxury , exclusive and relaxation. This is the one you should stay in ubud

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ww99929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Its nice to know that we were able to make you feel like at home, a wonderful compliment, thank you, thank you!

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#8 of 197 in Ubud
1,111 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 197 in Ubud
1,317 reviews
2.4 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 197 in Ubud
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
4.9 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
#1 of 6 in Kedewatan
1,866 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Address: Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#2 Family Hotel in Ubud
#4 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#9 Business Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £252 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ubud’s leading 5-star luxury boutique resort, The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, rests within an exclusive former private estate and features only 20 art-filled villas in 5 hectares tropical gardens, surrounded by lush rice paddies in the heart of Bali. Villa choices include 7 one bedroom Suites, 9 one bedroom Pool Villas, 3 two bedroom Family Pool Villas and the one-of-a-kind 570m² two bedroom Hadiprana Villa. Each villa is assigned a personal butler and guests enjoy extensive complimentary Club Benefits: A la carte breakfast, afternoon tea, evening cocktails, minibar incl alcohol, laundry service, car service to Ubud, yoga classes, Wifi, and access to the 28m swimming pool, gym and tennis court. Unique activities include rice paddy trekking, cooking classes with Chef Dean or the acclaimed Kecak & Fire Dance followed by a Royal Balinese dinner at The Restaurant. The property features elegant spaces for memorable weddings and events for up to 150 guests and may be bought out exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedi Hotel Ubud
The Chedi Hotel
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing