We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Ranked #6 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Pelham, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The pool villas were beautiful, very comfortable and private. The pool was a delight. The food here is excellent and beautifully presented. I can't say enough about the cheerful, smiling staff. They are terrific. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina10803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words describing our hotel and services. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you again for staying at the Chedi Club Tanah Gajah and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    982
    82
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
199
685
35
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We are a family of three and stayed for 5 days in February 2014. We have stayed in some great hotels across the world and the Chedi is up there with the best of them. The location was beautiful and so tranquil.

The service was exceptional as was the food and facilities. We still miss the superb homemade marmalade with our breakfast! We ate in the hotel for dinner on a couple of nights and whilst more expensive than in Ubud was comparable to UK prices. The standard of the food was excellent and well worth a try.

We did not have a pool villa and were happy with this decision. The main pool is so quiet and and the grounds are so beautiful that I don't think we would have made much use of a pool in our villa. We would have missed out on the nice touches such as the tray of chilled water, sun screen, cold face cloth etc that arrive almost as soon as you find a sun bed.

The hotel isn't particularly aimed at the family market but our 13 year old has never been interested in kids clubs so we were more than happy with the facilities as far he was concerned.

All of the extra touches such as complimentary drinks in your room, afternoon tea, evening cocktails, car service, butler service and the overall exemplary service means that what might at first look like an expensive hotel really delivers as a complete package.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayneeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Wow, thank you so much for your detailed review on TripAdvisor and for sharing it with other travelers!

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Suite Villa and of course the main pool. I agree with you, the pool is nestled in one of the most beautiful corners of the Estate, I am glad you could enjoy it to the fullest.

I'll be happy to read out your gracious comments to your staff, they will be very happy to know of you had a great time with us. Its nice to hear that your son had a good time as well.

Thank you again for staying with us and we are already looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

...but this place is great. We stayed here as well as The Legian. Both stays were amazing. The Chedi Club is a bit quieter but in a great location to take in all of Ubud. We personally stayed in a pool villa and I would say that is the way to go. We didn't use the pool in our villa as much as I thought we would and that is only because the main pool is so amazing.

The price tag here may be a bit more than other spots but what you get is really almost all inclusive - breakfast, an afternoon drink / tea, personal car service during the day to pretty much wherever you want to go, a butler that will take care of anything you ask for, and transfers from the airport.

If there was one negative (and I have to be real picky to find it) is that the hotel is mildly starting to show age, but that was only noticed on day two or three when I really started looking a bit closer. Overall a great spot and a 4.5 star (rounded up to 5) for me. Highly recommend a stay in the Chedi / Ubud before heading down to The Legian at the beach for a few days.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank continentaltraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the " 5 star review"! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel's various club benefits and our butler service.

I also would like to thank you for your feedback regarding the upkeep of the villas. The maintenance of our facilities and especially the villas are of upmost importance to us, our Engineering team is working on a daily bases to make sure that everything is in the best conditions as possible. Will continue to keep being focused on that topic.

We would like to thank you again for staying with us and are already looing forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Have been to Indonesia several times but first time in Bali. This was the first stay for our 2 week visit and we were ecstatic about it. The staff met us at the airport and escorted us through immigration and customs without a hitch. We arrived at the property about an hour later and were thoroughly mesmerized by our suite and personal pool. They quickly arranged a sunrise ascent of a nearby volcano for the next early morning. they also arranged a car quickly and arranged several shopping excursions into the environs of Ubud. The spa was excellent although a bit over-priced for the area. The food was excellent and we had no significant complaints. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms with a private pool are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read through your review and are very happy that you had such a great stay with us at the Chedi Club. Thank you for sharing it on TripAdvisor, that is very kind of you and much appreciated.

I will make sure to pass on your comment to our entire team and especially the Spa and Culinary crew. Thanks for the "highly recommended!"

Thank you again for staying with us and we are very much looking forward to welcome you again in Bali and at the Chedi Club Tanah Gajah.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The Chedi Club is by far the best hotel in Bali and one of the best in the world.

It is a magical and tranquil oasis in Ubud.

The rooms and service is fantastic. Couldnt be better.

Will return to this hotel again.

The GM - Simon was very helpful and extremely hospitable. Staff is excellent. Our butler - Ayu was superb.

Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adityapittie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review! We are very happy to know that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us.

I will make sure to pass on your gracious comment to your butler Ayu.

We are already looking forward to welcome you back to the Chedi Club in the not so distant future.

Thank you again for staying with us and kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed here for 5 nights with my daughter whilst travelling the Far East , we chose a one bedroomed pool villa which was beautiful and looked out on to the rice fields , although they had recently been harvested it was still quite a sight . Breakfast here is made to order and was always plentiful and fresh , my daughter loved the restaurant in the evening though as chef dean accommodated her little requests , a very nice touch and dean certainly knows his stuff ! We tried the spa whilst here but although beautiful And clean our therapists we found to be average but then we both like to actually feel we have had a massage not just for relaxation purposes . If you also like the same as we do then I can highly recommend the Karsa spa near ubud with any of the therapists but gusti in particular is incredible . Our butler June was a sweetie and was always on hand if needed , he took us on a very informative walk around the rice fields and village and speaks very good English ...the manager here simon is also great he was very caring ( as were ALL The staff after I was bitten at the monkey forest and had a doctor in my room giving me rabies jabs within 40 mins . Although it's highly unlikely that they carry the disease I was warned not to take any chances . Overall an amazing hotel that we both totally enjoyed .

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Year2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a detailed and wonderful review and sharing it with fellow traveler on TripAdvisor.

I will definitely forward your comments to Chef Dean and his culinary crew as well as June your butler.

Also, thank you very much for your feedback regarding the Spa treatment, I apologize if it has not been as good as you have expected. I'll make sure pass on your comment to our Spa team and see how we can improve our services.

Its good to know that you are feeling better and everything is fine with you after the incident at Monkey Forest.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Chedi Club just got better and better with each hour we were there. And my fiancee and I only stayed one night! The setting is serene, the villas are lush and rich and the rice paddy restaurant is somewhere you'll never want to leave.

The Chedi Club staff make you feel so welcome during your entire stay. The surrounds are gorgeous and feel very authentic. Our butler took us on a 6:30am rice paddy tour which was probably the highlight of our Bali trip. The food at the restaurant is incredible... breakfast, tea time and cocktail hour are all included in the price of your room. The signature cocktail hour drinks are too die for made with herbs from the hotels on property organic garden. Just divine. The yoga room has direct line of sight out over acres and acres of rice fields... definitely the most beautiful setting for a yoga class I've had to date.

Nothing about the Chedi will disappoint. If you're thinking of booking, do it. I can't wait to get back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a pool villa, SO worth it. Try to get one will a view of the rice terraces :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great comments about our Estate. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the rice paddy track with your butler. In the early morning when the sun is going up is the best time for it, I agree!

I will make sure to share your gracious comment about the food with our culinary team, they will be very happy to receive it.

We are looking forward to have you back with us soon and hopefully for a longer stay so you can explore the other hotel facilities as well.

Thank you again and kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.0 mi away
No photo provided
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 196 in Ubud
1,056 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
3.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 196 in Ubud
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#16 of 196 in Ubud
1,895 reviews
2.4 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 196 in Ubud
250 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Property: The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Address: Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#2 Family Hotel in Ubud
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#5 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#9 Business Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ubud’s leading 5-star luxury boutique resort, The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, rests within an exclusive former private estate and features only 20 art-filled villas in 5 hectares tropical gardens, surrounded by lush rice paddies in the heart of Bali. Villa choices include 7 one bedroom Suites, 9 one bedroom Pool Villas, 3 two bedroom Family Pool Villas and the one-of-a-kind 570m² two bedroom Hadiprana Villa. Each villa is assigned a personal butler and guests enjoy extensive complimentary Club Benefits: A la carte breakfast, afternoon tea, evening cocktails, minibar incl alcohol, laundry service, car service to Ubud, yoga classes, Wifi, and access to the 28m swimming pool, gym and tennis court. Unique activities include rice paddy trekking, cooking classes with Chef Dean or the acclaimed Kecak & Fire Dance followed by a Royal Balinese dinner at The Restaurant. The property features elegant spaces for memorable weddings and events for up to 150 guests and may be bought out exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedi Hotel Ubud
The Chedi Hotel
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing