We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can describe this hotel in 3 words, or for those in a hurry, in just 1”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Ranked #4 of 200 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The three words are "heaven on earth." If you don't have time to read 3 words, I’ll shorten it to just one: "heaven" (as in on earth or anyplace else, for that matter!) Spent six nights there this past week (departing May 16th), at a pool/spa villa, on our honeymoon. Staff were not simply excellent, they were charming, friendly, and gave insights into the local culture. If you can get a pool villa with a spa room, do. You won't be disappointed. Calm, serene, beautiful, truly relaxing. Our assigned butler, Rusdi, is someone we miss already - not simply because he was wonderfully helpful and creative, but because he was such a nice person as well. He surprised us with his remarkable and very unusual skill at creating lovely shapes out of towels which he left on our bed, but I won't spoil his surprises by telling you what they all were (although I've posted one photo, to give just a small idea of what he can do!) The staff at the dining area were superbly helpful, the food delicious, and the musicians who played gently during meals were also a treat. And, speaking of treats, once you've spent time at the Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, do expect to find that everywhere else that you go will be a bit of a letdown! I hate to sound like a typical husband, but, believe me, if I ever get in hot water with my wife, my plan is to ask her a very simple question to help get things back on track: "I took you to the Chedi Club, didn't I?" We will never forget the truly soul-enriching time we spent there. When we left, we didn’t say “goodbye”, we said “sampai jumpah”, which means that we’ll see you again – which, hopefully, we will! And the sooner, the better! Our special thanks also to our skilled and helpful driver, Fit, who toured with us to a holy spring temple, a volcano, wonderful rice terraces, a coffee plantation, and then also knew where to stop to buy fantastic gifts at non-tourist prices!

Room Tip: We were in room number 2 but I'm told that rooms 3 and 4 have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marrakechlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Guest,

" Heaven" what a fantastic and wonderful description on our hotel! We truly appreciated your gracious comments about the services and surroundings.

I'll make sure to pass on your note to the entire team and especially Rusdi, he will be very happy to know that you had a memorable stay with us.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Thank you again and kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

396 - 402 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

The staff of this Hotel have been wonderful throughout our stay. The five-star service already begins in the car from the pick-up with the wifi connection and relaxing Chedi Music. To our surprise we were upgraded to a Pool Villa at check-in and had a Private Butler taking very much care of us. We have asked for a Baby-Crib as we were travelling with our son (20-months). The crib provided was perfect quality! The cook-chef has even approached us to let him know if he could prepare special food for him! Thank you! The complementary minibar and taxi service to Ubud centre (10mins) as well as the Laundry service were very much appreciated! We had twice dinner outside and can highly recommend the restaurants Lamak and Bridges. In room-dinning was also very nice, food beautifully presented and very well cooked. Al dente pasta, Yummy! Our sons favorite was the penne carbonara which we had twice at the Pool Restaurant. Mr Simon Spiller has personally greated us and other guests which made you feel at home. The Hotel is a stunning place in the middle of the rice fields. The main pool is truly amazing. The gardeners do such a great job as the setting, fish ponds, flowers and trees are very beautiful. Thanks to everybody for making our holidays an unforgettable one!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kypylonay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Guest,

It feels great to read through your review and we would like to thank you for sharing the experience you had at the Chedi Club with other travelers.

We are proud of your staff and I am grateful to have such a great team of employees working together with me. They make the difference!

I am glad to know that your son had a good time with us as well and we could provide the necessary equipment for him to make his stay as comfortable as possible as well.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The pool villas were beautiful, very comfortable and private. The pool was a delight. The food here is excellent and beautifully presented. I can't say enough about the cheerful, smiling staff. They are terrific. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regina10803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words describing our hotel and services. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you again for staying at the Chedi Club Tanah Gajah and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We are a family of three and stayed for 5 days in February 2014. We have stayed in some great hotels across the world and the Chedi is up there with the best of them. The location was beautiful and so tranquil.

The service was exceptional as was the food and facilities. We still miss the superb homemade marmalade with our breakfast! We ate in the hotel for dinner on a couple of nights and whilst more expensive than in Ubud was comparable to UK prices. The standard of the food was excellent and well worth a try.

We did not have a pool villa and were happy with this decision. The main pool is so quiet and and the grounds are so beautiful that I don't think we would have made much use of a pool in our villa. We would have missed out on the nice touches such as the tray of chilled water, sun screen, cold face cloth etc that arrive almost as soon as you find a sun bed.

The hotel isn't particularly aimed at the family market but our 13 year old has never been interested in kids clubs so we were more than happy with the facilities as far he was concerned.

All of the extra touches such as complimentary drinks in your room, afternoon tea, evening cocktails, car service, butler service and the overall exemplary service means that what might at first look like an expensive hotel really delivers as a complete package.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayneeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Wow, thank you so much for your detailed review on TripAdvisor and for sharing it with other travelers!

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Suite Villa and of course the main pool. I agree with you, the pool is nestled in one of the most beautiful corners of the Estate, I am glad you could enjoy it to the fullest.

I'll be happy to read out your gracious comments to your staff, they will be very happy to know of you had a great time with us. Its nice to hear that your son had a good time as well.

Thank you again for staying with us and we are already looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

...but this place is great. We stayed here as well as The Legian. Both stays were amazing. The Chedi Club is a bit quieter but in a great location to take in all of Ubud. We personally stayed in a pool villa and I would say that is the way to go. We didn't use the pool in our villa as much as I thought we would and that is only because the main pool is so amazing.

The price tag here may be a bit more than other spots but what you get is really almost all inclusive - breakfast, an afternoon drink / tea, personal car service during the day to pretty much wherever you want to go, a butler that will take care of anything you ask for, and transfers from the airport.

If there was one negative (and I have to be real picky to find it) is that the hotel is mildly starting to show age, but that was only noticed on day two or three when I really started looking a bit closer. Overall a great spot and a 4.5 star (rounded up to 5) for me. Highly recommend a stay in the Chedi / Ubud before heading down to The Legian at the beach for a few days.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank continentaltraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the " 5 star review"! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel's various club benefits and our butler service.

I also would like to thank you for your feedback regarding the upkeep of the villas. The maintenance of our facilities and especially the villas are of upmost importance to us, our Engineering team is working on a daily bases to make sure that everything is in the best conditions as possible. Will continue to keep being focused on that topic.

We would like to thank you again for staying with us and are already looing forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Have been to Indonesia several times but first time in Bali. This was the first stay for our 2 week visit and we were ecstatic about it. The staff met us at the airport and escorted us through immigration and customs without a hitch. We arrived at the property about an hour later and were thoroughly mesmerized by our suite and personal pool. They quickly arranged a sunrise ascent of a nearby volcano for the next early morning. they also arranged a car quickly and arranged several shopping excursions into the environs of Ubud. The spa was excellent although a bit over-priced for the area. The food was excellent and we had no significant complaints. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms with a private pool are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read through your review and are very happy that you had such a great stay with us at the Chedi Club. Thank you for sharing it on TripAdvisor, that is very kind of you and much appreciated.

I will make sure to pass on your comment to our entire team and especially the Spa and Culinary crew. Thanks for the "highly recommended!"

Thank you again for staying with us and we are very much looking forward to welcome you again in Bali and at the Chedi Club Tanah Gajah.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The Chedi Club is by far the best hotel in Bali and one of the best in the world.

It is a magical and tranquil oasis in Ubud.

The rooms and service is fantastic. Couldnt be better.

Will return to this hotel again.

The GM - Simon was very helpful and extremely hospitable. Staff is excellent. Our butler - Ayu was superb.

Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adityapittie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review! We are very happy to know that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us.

I will make sure to pass on your gracious comment to your butler Ayu.

We are already looking forward to welcome you back to the Chedi Club in the not so distant future.

Thank you again for staying with us and kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 200 in Ubud
1,119 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 200 in Ubud
1,339 reviews
2.4 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 200 in Ubud
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
4.9 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
#1 of 6 in Kedewatan
1,874 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Address: Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#2 Family Hotel in Ubud
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#3 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#9 Business Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £251 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ubud’s leading 5-star luxury boutique resort, The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, rests within an exclusive former private estate and features only 20 art-filled villas in 5 hectares tropical gardens, surrounded by lush rice paddies in the heart of Bali. Villa choices include 7 one bedroom Suites, 9 one bedroom Pool Villas, 3 two bedroom Family Pool Villas and the one-of-a-kind 570m² two bedroom Hadiprana Villa. Each villa is assigned a personal butler and guests enjoy extensive complimentary Club Benefits: A la carte breakfast, afternoon tea, evening cocktails, minibar incl alcohol, laundry service, car service to Ubud, yoga classes, Wifi, and access to the 28m swimming pool, gym and tennis court. Unique activities include rice paddy trekking, cooking classes with Chef Dean or the acclaimed Kecak & Fire Dance followed by a Royal Balinese dinner at The Restaurant. The property features elegant spaces for memorable weddings and events for up to 150 guests and may be bought out exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedi Hotel Ubud
The Chedi Hotel
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing