We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Ranked #6 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A calm oasis”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed 8 nights at The Chedi in June. What a beautiful calming environment. The grounds are impeccably maintained with various quiet areas to sit and have a cocktail or just ensure the peace and quiet.
Room - we opted for a pool villa and were pleasantly surprised at the size of the pool which looked out over the paddy fields. There is plenty outdoor space and a lounging and eating area. The suite is equipped with an iPod with a huge selection of music to listen to in or outdoors via the Bose out door speakers. There is a small kitchen tucked behind the covered dining area with fridge freezer, Nespresso machine, various teas.
The suite itself was beautiful furnished with beautiful large Balinese wooden furniture. Two vanities and two large wardrobes offered loads of room and the outdoor bath was lovely.
Putra, our butler was fantastic and seemed to pick up on our needs. We were supplied with a decanter of gin and lots of limes as he asked picked up we did not require the whisky or vodka and ensured we had a constant supply of ice for our afternoon G&T! The daily fruit bowl is a lovely touch too.
Laundry is included unto 6 items per person. Handy as each morning we went to the yoga class (taught by Kembar and two other ladies) and also played tennis on the shaded court.
We left the hotel only once to go for a meal in Ubud. Putra organised the car and reservation for us.
Food - Chef Dean is passionate about his food and wants to ensure guests have what they like. He made a point of welcoming us and ensuring we could ask for something off menu or more of anything we liked. The food was delicious as were the lovely fresh juices. We also took a cooking class with him which was really interesting and was shown around the herb and fruit gardens. We also had the honour of sampling the first harvest of his Sour Sop fruit.
We ate at the villa a couple of nights which was relaxing.
Spa - We had two massages over the week which were fabulous.
if you are looking for a place to relax and get away from the hustle bustle of everyday life, then the Chedi ticks all boxes. The General Manager Simon and his team have a very holistic approach to each of their guests which is evident in the reviews. The staff are trained to a very high standard and the consistency is evident.
I'm looking forward to returning next year!

Room Tip: The pool suites offer privacy but with only 20 villas, any suite would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MacTravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a detailed review and gracious comments about your recent stay.

Its very nice that you have pointed out the level of service and its consistency. I have to say that I am privileged to work with a very dedicated team, eager to make sure that our guest have a enjoyable experience in our resort. Its always very nice to hear it from you directly, a guest, who actually experienced it in person.

I would like to thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    982
    82
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
199
685
35
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Chedi Club in Ubud is a lovely property with few if any faults. The villa we stayed in had a private pool and outdoor Jacuzzi. The service and food were both excellent.

Our favorite aspect though was the expansive and ever-so-peaceful garden, complete with rolling lawns, lily ponds with swans, bridges, pagodas and outdoor lounges and libraries, and decorated throughout with unique elephant and other statues and antiques. The highlight of the garden was the dining area: a roofed but open-air "sala"-like structure with amazing views over the rice paddies. During the day a light cool breeze accompanies every meal, while in the late afternoon you can sip your tea (or something stronger) while watching the sun set over the rice fields. Then at dusk and during the evening, a trail of rice shrine lanterns illuminates the fields over dinner.

With the very small number of guests at the Chedi Club, you often feel like you are the only guests in residence. Almost dreamy...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

After a long 26hr flight from Toronto (post-wedding), you want to arrive somewhere that completely exudes tranquility, class, and a dollop of mystique. Chedi Club has it all.

Grounds: immaculately maintained; we honestly felt that we were staying in a botanical gardens - hell, they even have black and white swans wandering the grounds. The rice paddy fields are like an ocean of green.

Room: Beautiful Balinese furniture; Highly recommend a pool villa

Cuisine: Chef Dean is a master in the kitchen; our breakfasts were verifiable feasts! lots of fruits, great coffee, great portions. Definitely try the private rice paddy dinner - one of the best meals ive had ever.

Service: The staff their are amazing; Jappa (our bulter) was attentive and intuitive (magically appearing when we needed him, but not stiffling). The general manager (forgive me, i forgot his name) actually came by to check on how our stay was going. The resort offers great activities (do the barbecue!) and day trips - we opted to arrange our on private driver, but the service is available.

Criticisms: We don't really having any; Ubud in tremendously busy - particularly with traffic; those from Toronto can appreciate the sentiment "its like the DVP at 4pm"; once you get onto the resort grounds however - all that disappears. Well definately be returning a year or two - maybe even visit one of their sister properties.

Room Tip: any pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickeal c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your review on Tripadvisor and for sharing it with fellow travelers. We are delighted that" a dream came through" for you, while you were staying with us at the Chedi Club Tanah Gajah.

We are looking forward to see you soon back in Ubud and if you would opt to stay in an other GHM hotel please don't hesitate to contact me directly under sspiller@ghmhotels.com, I would be more then happy organize the booking for you.

Thank you again for staying with us and kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Unfortunatelly I stayed only one night there which was definitely too short. The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah is a really unique hotel, one of the very few places in the world that gives you the feeling of being at home.

Room Tip: Pool Villa No. 6 - direct view from the pool over the rice paddies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Heike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for an excellent review! Its great to hear that you felt at home here at the Chedi Club Ubud. We look forward to see you soon and hopefully next time you are able to stay for a few more nights.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and I returned to the Chedi Club having stayed there in 2010. We stayed 5 nights and only ventured out one night to Ubud for dinner. We wanted complete relaxation and yet while we had that, there was plenty to keep us occupied! Yoga in the morning, followed by a sumptuous Indonesian breakfast overlooking the rice paddies, a swim, a walk in the exquisite gardens, a nap, afternoon tea, cocktails, dinner. The Sunday night BBQ allowed us to sample lots of different dishes and was very good, but the highlight was a romantic dinner just for 2 in the middle of the rice paddies, under a full moon. Chef Dean is a great asset and he goes out of his way to make sure you are happy. He even made us a special dish for breakfast so we could sample more of the typical Balinese fare. Simon the General Manager runs an efficient operation and the fact that many of the staff seem to have been there a long time is always a good sign. We hope to be back in the near future! Thank you to everyone at the Chedi for making our stay so special!

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard villa - not a spa or pool villa - and found it to be more than adequate for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PerthAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for staying with us a second time at the Chedi Club.

I am delighted to hear that your stay was as good as the last one. I can't agree more, a romantic dinner out in our rice paddies is something quite special. Its so nice that you could enjoy it under a full moon, which makes it even more unique.

I'll make sure to pass on your comments to the entire team and especially Chef Dean.

We are very much looking forward to have you back with us soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My husband and I had an amazing stay at the Chedi Club for four days at the end of May. We were celebrating our one year wedding anniversary and the Chedi Club was the perfect place to start off this very special vacation in Bali. We stayed in one of the pool villas which was very spacious and tranquil. Coming from NY and not being used to the climate, it was so nice to have a private pool to go relax in after spending our days out traveling. We were in villa 5 and we have complete privacy.

There are only about 20 villas on the property so it is very private and quiet. The breakfast which is included with the room is delicious and filling. The restaurant overlooks the gorgeous rice paddies. One morning we decided to have breakfast in our room due to an early departure for a cooking class and our butler, Darma (who was amazing-so good natured and helpful) set up a beautiful spread for us in our outdoor space.

The hotel also provides laundry for up to 6 pieces per person per day which was extremely helpful as we were able to pack lighter. They also have free shuttles into town from 8 am-6 pm and after 6 pm they can arrange a driver for you. They will even give you a cell phone to use to call when you need to get picked up. It is only about a 10-15 minute drive into the center of Ubud so can easily go in for dinner.

If you are making a trip to Bali, I would highly recommend staying in Ubud as it has so much culture and adventures to offer and the Chedi Club is the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: The pool villas had complete privacy while some of the other rooms did not so I would recommend choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Fist of all, congratulation again on your wedding anniversary and thank you for choosing the Chedi Club to celebrate this special occasion.

As I can take from your note, you were able to enjoy our various Club Benefits to the fullest. I agree, the fact that we have only 20 villas on 5 hectares of land, makes our resort a very private place and perfect to relax.

I'll make sure to pass on your review to the entire team, especially your butler Darma.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Our next stop after Legian was The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah. Service was excellent. Chedi arranged a driver to pick us up from Legian. The driver was really friendly and gladly explained everything about Ubud. When we arrived at Chedi, we were greeted by our personal butler. She was fantastic! Her english was good and very friendly. She even provided us with food, drinks and even cold towel while we waited for our room. Chedi was very different from Legian. It is a hotel that is very rich in Balinese art. Every part of Chedi is unique. We were completely amazed by this hotel. Every part of the room reflected the Balinese culture. At first my wife was pretty worried about the mosquitos and peeping tom because of the open concept bathroom, but she was wrong.
We stayed at Chedi for 2 nights. My advice for fellow traveller is "stay longer!"

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. Its very nice to hear that you enjoyed the Balinese aspects of our hotel. I agree, its nice to see different parts of this beautiful island and Ubud, the cultural hub of Bali is definitely a must to visit.

We hope upon your next visit you are able to stay a bit longer with us. Congratulation again on your honeymoon and thank you again for choosing the Chedi Club Ubud!

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.0 mi away
No photo provided
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 196 in Ubud
1,056 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
3.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 196 in Ubud
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#16 of 196 in Ubud
1,895 reviews
2.4 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 196 in Ubud
250 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Property: The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Address: Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ubud
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#5 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#9 Business Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ubud’s leading 5-star luxury boutique resort, The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, rests within an exclusive former private estate and features only 20 art-filled villas in 5 hectares tropical gardens, surrounded by lush rice paddies in the heart of Bali. Villa choices include 7 one bedroom Suites, 9 one bedroom Pool Villas, 3 two bedroom Family Pool Villas and the one-of-a-kind 570m² two bedroom Hadiprana Villa. Each villa is assigned a personal butler and guests enjoy extensive complimentary Club Benefits: A la carte breakfast, afternoon tea, evening cocktails, minibar incl alcohol, laundry service, car service to Ubud, yoga classes, Wifi, and access to the 28m swimming pool, gym and tennis court. Unique activities include rice paddy trekking, cooking classes with Chef Dean or the acclaimed Kecak & Fire Dance followed by a Royal Balinese dinner at The Restaurant. The property features elegant spaces for memorable weddings and events for up to 150 guests and may be bought out exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedi Hotel Ubud
The Chedi Hotel
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing