We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely with gracious service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Ranked #7 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

It doesn't get any better than the Chedi Club! Gorgeous grounds, amazing food and cocktails, gracious and attentive service. Included in the room rate is breakfast, tea with snacks, cocktail hour, minibar plus morning yoga and rides into Ubud and laundry each day. So a very good value as well

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Artgirlnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your excellent review, thank you! Its nice to hear that you pointed out the " gracious services" which of course points to our colleagues and staff members. They will be very happy to receive your review and comments.

We would like to thank you for staying with us at the Chedi Club and are already looking forward to welcome you soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

351 - 357 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

WOW is all that comes to my mind when i think about this place. Not a conventional hotel, instead this place had about 15 villa's with personalised butler service. The food was the best i have ever had at any hotel. The breakfast was extremely good and served in an extremely nice area of the hotel. The butler service is great, they do everything they possibly can to make this a trip to remember. I can't remember which villa we stayed in but regardless i think all the villa's will be as good if not better. A must stay if you are visiting Bali.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Guest,

"Wow" thank you for such a great review. We truly appreciate that you are sharing your experience you had at the Chedi Club Tanah Gajah with fellow travelers.

Chef Dean will be very happy to see your comments about the food as well as our butler team. Its very nice to hear that they made you a " trip to remember".

We look forward to see soon back at the Chedi Club.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I spent a week at The Chedi Club, Ubud. As this was my first trip to Asia and traveling alone, I really needed transportation to/from the airport. I heard horror stories of taxi experiences and that the airport was a bit hectic. My brief experience there was accurate and along came my driver who knew a lot about the area while we made the hour long trip to the resort.

I felt a great sense of security with the security guard and gate at the entrance. The resort is very quiet and feels like nothing else is around and yet there is a busy town right outside. The accommodations were spotless each day I was there and many items are included in the stay such as minibar, snacks, fresh organic fruit, robe, slippers, you name it. My room was the perfect size and I lucked out with perfect weather. The bathroom was amazing, it's actually outdoors. Beautiful tub and toiletries and strong hair dryer which is rare in hotels.

There is an infinity pool and because there are only 21 villas total, there was never a crowd at the pool. Fresh water is brought out with sunscreen. It really was these added touches that made the experience even better.

I participated in a cooking class which provided a tour of the organic gardens, almost all spa treatments with a beautiful view of the rice fields, a traditional Balinese dance and dinner and even rice trekking. There is an afternoon tea and cocktail hour with very thought out menus. I loved the fact that many of the activities I wanted to do was right on property and reasonably priced. The Staff is awesome and really deserve a lot of credit. Each person goes out of their way to say hello and really willing to help if you needed anything. I have never been anywhere that gave you that type of experience. I was assigned a butler and he did his best to recommend local attractions and arrange for transportation to the places I wanted to go. Even the car service was pristine and offered water. I couldn't have asked for a better place. One of the best vacations ever experienced.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Prncs365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review on your stay at the Chedi Club Tanah Gajah. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and your comment " I could not have stayed at a better place" is a wonderful compliment for all our colleagues, thank you!

Its very nice to know that you are participated in the various activities we are offering in our resort and that you were able to enjoy them. The bathrooms in our Suite Villas have been renovated not that long ago, I am glad you liked the set up and layout of it.

Again thank you for staying with us at the Chedi Club and we are very much looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed 8 nights at The Chedi in June. What a beautiful calming environment. The grounds are impeccably maintained with various quiet areas to sit and have a cocktail or just ensure the peace and quiet.
Room - we opted for a pool villa and were pleasantly surprised at the size of the pool which looked out over the paddy fields. There is plenty outdoor space and a lounging and eating area. The suite is equipped with an iPod with a huge selection of music to listen to in or outdoors via the Bose out door speakers. There is a small kitchen tucked behind the covered dining area with fridge freezer, Nespresso machine, various teas.
The suite itself was beautiful furnished with beautiful large Balinese wooden furniture. Two vanities and two large wardrobes offered loads of room and the outdoor bath was lovely.
Putra, our butler was fantastic and seemed to pick up on our needs. We were supplied with a decanter of gin and lots of limes as he asked picked up we did not require the whisky or vodka and ensured we had a constant supply of ice for our afternoon G&T! The daily fruit bowl is a lovely touch too.
Laundry is included unto 6 items per person. Handy as each morning we went to the yoga class (taught by Kembar and two other ladies) and also played tennis on the shaded court.
We left the hotel only once to go for a meal in Ubud. Putra organised the car and reservation for us.
Food - Chef Dean is passionate about his food and wants to ensure guests have what they like. He made a point of welcoming us and ensuring we could ask for something off menu or more of anything we liked. The food was delicious as were the lovely fresh juices. We also took a cooking class with him which was really interesting and was shown around the herb and fruit gardens. We also had the honour of sampling the first harvest of his Sour Sop fruit.
We ate at the villa a couple of nights which was relaxing.
Spa - We had two massages over the week which were fabulous.
if you are looking for a place to relax and get away from the hustle bustle of everyday life, then the Chedi ticks all boxes. The General Manager Simon and his team have a very holistic approach to each of their guests which is evident in the reviews. The staff are trained to a very high standard and the consistency is evident.
I'm looking forward to returning next year!

Room Tip: The pool suites offer privacy but with only 20 villas, any suite would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MacTravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a detailed review and gracious comments about your recent stay.

Its very nice that you have pointed out the level of service and its consistency. I have to say that I am privileged to work with a very dedicated team, eager to make sure that our guest have a enjoyable experience in our resort. Its always very nice to hear it from you directly, a guest, who actually experienced it in person.

I would like to thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Chedi Club in Ubud is a lovely property with few if any faults. The villa we stayed in had a private pool and outdoor Jacuzzi. The service and food were both excellent.

Our favorite aspect though was the expansive and ever-so-peaceful garden, complete with rolling lawns, lily ponds with swans, bridges, pagodas and outdoor lounges and libraries, and decorated throughout with unique elephant and other statues and antiques. The highlight of the garden was the dining area: a roofed but open-air "sala"-like structure with amazing views over the rice paddies. During the day a light cool breeze accompanies every meal, while in the late afternoon you can sip your tea (or something stronger) while watching the sun set over the rice fields. Then at dusk and during the evening, a trail of rice shrine lanterns illuminates the fields over dinner.

With the very small number of guests at the Chedi Club, you often feel like you are the only guests in residence. Almost dreamy...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

After a long 26hr flight from Toronto (post-wedding), you want to arrive somewhere that completely exudes tranquility, class, and a dollop of mystique. Chedi Club has it all.

Grounds: immaculately maintained; we honestly felt that we were staying in a botanical gardens - hell, they even have black and white swans wandering the grounds. The rice paddy fields are like an ocean of green.

Room: Beautiful Balinese furniture; Highly recommend a pool villa

Cuisine: Chef Dean is a master in the kitchen; our breakfasts were verifiable feasts! lots of fruits, great coffee, great portions. Definitely try the private rice paddy dinner - one of the best meals ive had ever.

Service: The staff their are amazing; Jappa (our bulter) was attentive and intuitive (magically appearing when we needed him, but not stiffling). The general manager (forgive me, i forgot his name) actually came by to check on how our stay was going. The resort offers great activities (do the barbecue!) and day trips - we opted to arrange our on private driver, but the service is available.

Criticisms: We don't really having any; Ubud in tremendously busy - particularly with traffic; those from Toronto can appreciate the sentiment "its like the DVP at 4pm"; once you get onto the resort grounds however - all that disappears. Well definately be returning a year or two - maybe even visit one of their sister properties.

Room Tip: any pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickealc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your review on Tripadvisor and for sharing it with fellow travelers. We are delighted that" a dream came through" for you, while you were staying with us at the Chedi Club Tanah Gajah.

We are looking forward to see you soon back in Ubud and if you would opt to stay in an other GHM hotel please don't hesitate to contact me directly under sspiller@ghmhotels.com, I would be more then happy organize the booking for you.

Thank you again for staying with us and kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Unfortunatelly I stayed only one night there which was definitely too short. The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah is a really unique hotel, one of the very few places in the world that gives you the feeling of being at home.

Room Tip: Pool Villa No. 6 - direct view from the pool over the rice paddies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Heike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for an excellent review! Its great to hear that you felt at home here at the Chedi Club Ubud. We look forward to see you soon and hopefully next time you are able to stay for a few more nights.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.0 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 199 in Ubud
1,097 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,265 reviews
2.4 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
3.6 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Address: Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#2 Family Hotel in Ubud
#5 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#9 Business Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £267 - £477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ubud’s leading 5-star luxury boutique resort, The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, rests within an exclusive former private estate and features only 20 art-filled villas in 5 hectares tropical gardens, surrounded by lush rice paddies in the heart of Bali. Villa choices include 7 one bedroom Suites, 9 one bedroom Pool Villas, 3 two bedroom Family Pool Villas and the one-of-a-kind 570m² two bedroom Hadiprana Villa. Each villa is assigned a personal butler and guests enjoy extensive complimentary Club Benefits: A la carte breakfast, afternoon tea, evening cocktails, minibar incl alcohol, laundry service, car service to Ubud, yoga classes, Wifi, and access to the 28m swimming pool, gym and tennis court. Unique activities include rice paddy trekking, cooking classes with Chef Dean or the acclaimed Kecak & Fire Dance followed by a Royal Balinese dinner at The Restaurant. The property features elegant spaces for memorable weddings and events for up to 150 guests and may be bought out exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedi Hotel Ubud
The Chedi Hotel
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing