We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb location, service and accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Ranked #6 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“superb location, service and accomodation”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Have just returned from a four day stay at the Chedi Club with my wife and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. The gardens are stunning and the whole place has an air of peace and tranquility.We had a pool villa with an outdoor bath which I can only describe as excellent.The price included the use of the mini bar which was a nice touch. All villas are allocated their own butler and ours was Supri - he was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and he looked after us really well. We were in fact waited on hand and foot. Also included in the price was afternoon tea every day and cocktails every evening. We took advantage of the meeting service at the airport which proved really useful. We were met on arrival and the representative obtained and paid for our visa on arrival and then took us though immigration and baggage reclaim. He led us out of the airport to the waiting hotel car which took us to The Chedi in about an hour. Breakfast was included and was very good. We ate in the restaurant on two evenings and the food was first class. The level of service from all staff was very friendly and attentive.Free transport into Ubud was provided until 6pm. I recommend this hotel for anyone looking for peace and quiet away from the normal mayhem of Bali with an amazing level of service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cailean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    985
    82
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
201
686
35
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
nederland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

After staying at the Chedi 2 years ago, we decided to stay here again this year with our friends.
We were staying in the Hadiprana villa with our group of 7 persons. Thanks Mr. Spiller for making this possible!
The villa is very very beautiful; one of our friends collects "elephants" at home.....she took over 100 pictures at the Chedi...there was an elphant at every edge; and she really had the best birthday ever at the Chedi!
The service is top. Our butler Putra was very helpful, he walked with us through the padi's, was playing table tennis with our boys.....It was hard for us to leave after 2 days.
Staying at the Chedi is after serveral hotels year after year stil our best experience!!! Thanks!
We hope to go back again!!!!!

Room Tip: every room is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anoniemNederland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. It was very nice to have you back with us again at the Chedi Club Ubud and I am glad to know that we are " the best place in Ubud".

I am delighted that everything worked out wit the accommodation and that all of you could stay at our beautiful Hadiprana Estate Villa.

Again thank you for your return visit and we are already looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

what a very solemn place,ideal for honeymoon ;-),we stayed in a private villa where we enjoyed the warm water in the pool,though the villa is not so big,it was very clean,the outside bath tub is just so wonderful!. There is also a huge pool for everybody outside the villas, and a lagoon beside where you can see a lot of goose,we enjoyed feeding them..Part of the package is a tour around the chedi club place,where part of the spectacular scenery is the wide rice field. The food at the restaurant is great.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahi818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Chedi Club Ubud with fellow travelers. We are very happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I'll make sure to share your comments with the entire team.

Thank you again for staying with us and kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

What a beautiful experience. We think extremely highly of Chedi Club. We genuinely were so happy with the room, food, and in particular the staff. Our Butler Bawanta exhibited genuine quality service, and every driver we had (for tours or just transportation) were a pleasure to communicate with. We travel a lot and we understand how difficult at even the finest resorts and hotels it is to find excellent staff and service so we greatly appreciated it. For example, we stayed at the St Regis in Nusa Dua after Chedi, and while the resort facilities and beach were stunning, and a high level of service was "offered", the service quality paled in comparison with the Chedi's service professionals.

What a stunning resort.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank BAW23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a great review. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Its very nice to hear that you talking so highly about the services we are providing, that is always the biggest compliment we can receive.

I'll make sure to pass on your comments to Bawa, he will be happy to receive it.

Thank you again for staying at the Chedi Club Tanah Gajah and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at The Chedi in Ubud for over 5 days and it ranks as one of our best family vacations.

We'd stayed at The Chedi in Chiang Mai previously and therefore were looking forward to staying at the one in Ubud.

The booking process was very smooth and efficient. I booked our villa over the phone and had every query no matter how small, resolved via phone or email.

We were picked up at the airport and made our way in relative comfort to the resort which is about an hour from the airport.

The setting of the resort in the midst of the rice paddies is an immensely relaxing experience that I can not find the words to describe. Even though the rice crop had just been planted and wasn't lush, it was an amazing place to be in. We were fortunate that through out our stay, we had a lovely cool breeze.

The reception area is very simple and we waited there for our check in formalities. Mr. Spiller (the GM) came out to greet us and welcome us to the resort.

Our butler Mita showed us to our villa. We'd initially booked a one bedroom pool villa. I'd requested a sign of my daughter's name be put on the villa. To be honest, I was expecting a nice paper sign but what we saw instead was a beautiful sign in wood with her name carved on it.

The one bedroom pool villa was beautiful. The pool over looks the paddy fields and the view from the pool and the gazebo is truly tranquil. You have to shake yourself out to go anywhere. There is a small pantry behind the Gazebo and you could make coffee etc here if needed.

The room itself isn't particularly large. The bathroom has a slatted wood partition and if you are traveling with kids, then there is very little privacy. The bathroom also has a large outdoor bath tub for soaking.

I personally felt that for a couple, the one bedroom pool villa would be good but if you were traveling with a family, you'd find it cramped.

The next day, we found that a spa pool villa had become available and we decided to upgrade to it. The cost difference was small but the space we got in return was absolutely massive.

The spa pool villa felt newer. There is a large living area when you enter with a massive day bed off to one side. You could probably sleep 4 people in that day bed. Off to the right of the living area is the spa treatment room with two spa beds. To the left of the living area is the bedroom. Then you have the bathroom area which leads to the large pool and right next to the pool is the outdoor sunken tub. My daughter had a great time swimming in the pool and then going to soak in the bath tub before returning to the pool. With the extra space, we all had more room to spread out and relax.

The bathrooms in both villas were modern and worked well. I felt that the one in the spa villa worked a bit better. Water pressure for the rain showers was excellent and it warmed up quickly. The only quibble I had was that the shampoo/gel/conditioner containers did not make for easy use while showering.

While the one bedroom pool villa does have a lot of character as compared with the spa pool villa, I think the families would appreciate the space that the spa pool villa provides.

Our meals, starting with breakfast, lunch, tea and dinner were all at the main restaurant. We found this place to be an amazing location and not once were we tempted to stray out.

The best part of the restaurant is that it was open through the day allowing you to eat when you felt like.

Breakfast was a great start to the day with fresh croissants, eggs done the way you like, fresh juices and smoothies and awesome lattes to wash it all down. The home made preserves were absolutely amazing. I personally loved the watermelon jam with it's hint of star anise to be specially delightful.

Between our lunch and dinner outings at the restaurant, we tried almost everything on the menu and every single dish tasted great.

Sundown cocktails are served at the restaurant as well and it was wonderful to recline on those seats with a drink in the hand and watch the night roll in.

Bali and Ubud in particular are known for their food offerings, however, on this trip, we simply were too tempted by The Chedi's restaurant offerings.

We also went on a walking tour of the rice fields that our butler organised and attended the Kecak Dance within the resort's premises. We also requested for a tour around Ubud that was organized efficiently and to our requirements.

What really sets The Chedi apart is the absolutely flawless service provided by every single member of the resort. Our Butler Mita was graciousness personified. She took care of all our requirements including drawing a surprise bath for my daughter with her name spelt out with flower petals. From organizing our walk in the fields to managing our laundry and departure, Mita was amazing.

The staff at the restaurant were superb as well. Not only did they remember our preferences but it was also clear that they genuinely enjoyed what they were doing. Chef Dean often dropped by to check if all was well and offered to make meals to our preference.

Mr. Spiller was there to see us off as we reluctantly left this idyllic piece of heaven and returned home. Thank you Mr. Spiller and the amazing staff at The Chedi for a magnificent stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adesitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChediClubUbud, General Manager at The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to read through your detailed review about your stay at the Chedi Club. We are really that happy that you and your family have been well taken care of and you could enjoy the hotel and its facilities to the fullest.

I am delighted to pass on your comment to the entire staff of our hotel.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Simon and the management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This place is Bali pure. Your are in the risefields. Nature. A must bei if you ever go to Bali. lovely Villas. Very good restaurant and SPA. And you feel like meeting friends. Thank you Jun for making our stay so unforgetable. Thank you Dayo and Arsana for the wonderful mornings and evenings. Thanks to Suma, Griti and all of you to make our time so special.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank werner0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Came here on our honeymoon and were lucky enough to be upgraded to a spa pool villa. The villa was enormous and had its own spa massage room with two massage beds, outdoor decking area, bath and pool, large bedroom and bathroom and massive lounge with day bed, sofa and chairs. The villa also had a verandah at the front. The hotel overlooks paddy fields (in fact i think they belong to the hotel) and is in an oasis of calm on the outskirts of Ubud. If you like to be in the middle of the action, you might find it a bit 'peripheral' but it's only a 10-15 minute taxi ride into the centre (and would be a lot less if it weren't for the traffic). Beautiful food, incredible service from all the staff including our very lovely butler. We got a honeymoon cake and i also had a birthday card and cake from all the staff on my birthday which was our last day in the hotel. Amazing. Lovely spa in which we enjoyed a great mssage on our first day there. Tennis courts we didn't get the chance to use. A lovely hotel pool open all day. Never been anywhere before where they provide sun cream and face coolant spray for you free of charge! Bliss!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrJonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.0 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 196 in Ubud
1,055 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
3.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 196 in Ubud
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 196 in Ubud
251 reviews
1.9 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 196 in Ubud
1,896 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel

Property: The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel
Address: Jl. Goa Gajah, Tengkulak Kaja, Ubud 80571, Indonesia (Formerly The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah a GHM Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ubud
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#5 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#9 Business Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ubud’s leading 5-star luxury boutique resort, The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, rests within an exclusive former private estate and features only 20 art-filled villas in 5 hectares tropical gardens, surrounded by lush rice paddies in the heart of Bali. Villa choices include 7 one bedroom Suites, 9 one bedroom Pool Villas, 3 two bedroom Family Pool Villas and the one-of-a-kind 570m² two bedroom Hadiprana Villa. Each villa is assigned a personal butler and guests enjoy extensive complimentary Club Benefits: A la carte breakfast, afternoon tea, evening cocktails, minibar incl alcohol, laundry service, car service to Ubud, yoga classes, Wifi, and access to the 28m swimming pool, gym and tennis court. Unique activities include rice paddy trekking, cooking classes with Chef Dean or the acclaimed Kecak & Fire Dance followed by a Royal Balinese dinner at The Restaurant. The property features elegant spaces for memorable weddings and events for up to 150 guests and may be bought out exclusively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chedi Hotel Ubud
The Chedi Hotel
The Chedi Club Tanah Gajah, Ubud, Bali – a GHM Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing