We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Champlung Sari Hotel
Ranked #97 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Reviewed 9 April 2011

This hotel is excellent value. I really enjoyed my stay there. The staff were great from reception to house cleaning staff. Restuarant staff were a little surly but since i only saw them at breakfast it was ok.
The superior room was nice and big, looking towards the padi fields. The bathroom was massive. I have stayed in rooms smaller then that bathroom. The 1st night, our sheets smelled old and stinky. One quick call to reception and the cleaners came and did the room over. Wiped down the bathroom and changed all the beddings.
Reception was very friendly and helpful, always had a smile and answered our questions and even helped us call various tour companies.
Breakfast was so-so, a small selection that was not very tasty. But for entertainment, around a horde of marauding monkeys usually show up to try and steal some food.
Yes there was some reno/construction work going on and only the new pool is open. But since I was out during the day, I cant say that it affected me in the slightest.
Location is good. Right around the corner from the monkey forest. A brisk 15-20min walk to ubud center and market.
Nice hotel, will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mmonkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (749)
There are newer reviews for Champlung Sari Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

419 - 425 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2011

Its a big hotel on huge grounds but its at the bottom of Monkey Forest Road and a steep climb up to the town center. I had hurt my knee earlier on this trip so the climb was a real issue and should be noted by older visitors considering this hotel which does incorrectly claim to have a central location. Its not far, but its uphill and its not "central". The Agoda rates were very good but the Hotel's advertised room and food rates are greatly overpriced considering the location and quality of the rooms. I suspect that the room I received was in fact a standard room. I asked the reception "is this a standard room" and they said it was. I pointed out that my booking was for a superior room and then they said "your room is a superior room". As I was only there one night I did not press the matter. Some reception staff may have been a little undertrained. WiFi is free in the reception area and is not available in the rooms. Breakfast was OK and the reception area was quite nice. Staff like gardeners and maids etc were very friendly. I would not use this hotel again however. Mainly due to the downhill location.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

we arrived to a driveway blocked with trucks and piles of dirt and rubble from the renovations going on near the reeption and one whole section of the reesort. The workers looked into the pool area and the restaurant and pool looked into the construction site. The food at the restaurant was inedible and the portions tiny which made sense as it was always empty. The room was large and clean but the bathroom run down and musty smelling. DOnt trust the pictures on the website, it looks like a construction site. Not recommended for young people as it was all an older crowd.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarprinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We stayed at the Champlung Sari Hotel in Ubud for 4 nights in February 2011 and found the hotel to be very good value for money. The breakfast was adequate and fresh and the room was clean and comfortable. We had a deluxe room that was very spacious and quiet. The hotel is currently undergoing some renovations but this did not effect our stay as most of the noise was during the day when we were out on tours. Location is excellent and you can walk to the center of Ubud in about 10 minutes. The hotel provided free WiFi in the outdoor areas and this was very much appreciated.
The bed was very comfortable so we had a good night's sleep every night. The pool was a good temperature and this will improve when the renovations are completed as there is a new big pool.
We saw some previous comments about the noise from the renovations but this is not a problem and did not worry us at all.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. We had previously stayed at the Furama Resort which is a bit out of town and needed a bus to reach Ubud. The location of this hotel is a big plus.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peteozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Great buffet breakfast with lots of choice, nice pool, great location and big spacious rooms. We also used their Spa which was a nice experience. Would recommend this hotel, especially if you are looking for a well located hotel which is nice but not noisy

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 926richardc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

If your like most people on Tripadvisor you may have noticed the not so high rank of this establishment and may be put off...But with a lot of things it's worth delving deeper to determine what peoples problems were and i decided that they were not significant enough to put me off booking. We stayed in room 308 which appeared to be newly renovated and was very spacious. The check in girls and staff were friendly and helpful on the occasions we asked for help calling our tour guides. The pool area is quite nice and if your lucky/unlucky you may be visited by the resident monkeys! breakfast was not great but adequate start to the day. One thing that stuck with me and was slightly off putting during breakfast was the the quite visible dirt marks on the wall behind the egg station, it doesn't take much to whack out a cloth for a quick wipe. The hotel is well located and a short walk to lots of restaurants overall decent stay but would probably try somewhere else

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinnyboy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We booked one night at the Champlung Sari Hotel but we found out that there was a problem with the shower. The staff were very diligent at fixing the problem. When we told the manager that we wanted to stay longer, the manager upgraded us to a nicer room at a discounted price so we were happy. The hotel is also very close to nice restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkawa4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#58 of 199 in Ubud
614 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#53 of 199 in Ubud
511 reviews
0.6 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#115 of 199 in Ubud
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Sunti
The Grand Sunti
#108 of 199 in Ubud
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inata Bisma Resort & Spa Ubud
2.4 mi away
Taman Harum Cottages
Taman Harum Cottages
#117 of 199 in Ubud
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champlung Sari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champlung Sari Hotel

Address: Monkey Forest Street | P.O. Box 87, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#81 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £21 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Champlung Sari Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Champlung Sari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Champlung Sari Ubud
Hotel Heritage Champlung Sari
Champlung Sari Hotel Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing