We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed the monkeys at breakfast time!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Champlung Sari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Champlung Sari Hotel
Ranked #90 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the monkeys at breakfast time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This hotel is a great place to stay if you want to see the monkeys but want to avoid the monkey forest park! it's located at one end of Monkey Forest Street so walking distance to lots of shops, cafes and restaurants. It's great fun at breakfast when monkeys, small and large, are trying to snatch whatever they can from the buffet or from guests' plates when the chance arises!!! If you don't want that to happen to you don't sit at the perimeter of the restaurant!!! Pick a table on the inside! The breakfast buffet was probably only average compared with other places in Bali but still had a lot of choice.

The hotel has 2 lovely pools which unfortunately we didn't get time to use as we were out doing tours each day we were there. The hotel is perfect for tour pick-up and drop-off.

The room is has tea/coffee making facilities, tv and air-conditioning. Some of the rooms also have a balcony. You may wake up to sound of Monkeys playing chasing on the balcony in the morning time!

We enjoyed our stay here and if we are ever in Ubud again we would stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs if you don't want to be woken too early (7am) by the monkeys!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank little_explorer_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    302
    146
    71
    32
See reviews for
128
280
47
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed for 2 nights here and the place was absolutely full to the brim. We were shown to the room which we werent meant to have, it was ground floor, smelt damp and was dark so managed to get a better room upstairs, i assume in the new part which was 10 times better. It had a great view and all the facilities. The shower didnt drain quick enough so you had to be quick! but i found all the showers we had in Bali were the same.
The staff were very nice and friendly enough, you only saw them behind the desk though. The breakfast was pretty average, limited and generally cold! But, then it is Bali! But the hotel has a fantastic location. Right next door to the monkey forest and just in town. Perfect location. We probably wouldnt go back to this hotel. Overall it was value for money.

Room Tip: Get the rooms high up, which back onto the rice paddies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xintiangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

The accomodation was roomy and large, watch out for the monkeys that might take a peak at you through the open sky light! our room was not a refurbished one, however it was clean and adequate, no lcd tv.
The hotel grounds were surprisingly large and the 2 pools were ok.The location was close to main village street for shops and restaurants.No need to go to the Ubud Monkey Forest as their are plenty of monkeys around the resort (safe).
The hotel is basically great, its the staff and the lack of service that is the problem.Breakfast in Bali is usually great anywhere, here the food was cold and of a poor standard and getting service was a problem. Don,t try to ask for eggs done any other than omellete, otherwise you will be given a grunt and be pointed to go to the pre prepard hot food station (cold!!) The staff are more concerned about chasing monkeys or hand washing dishes out the front of the restaurant than looking after your needs.For those travellers that like happy hours they dont know what that means!
We wont be back to this hotel, but we will be back to beautiful Ubud,Bali
Paul & Vanessa Rockhampton, Qld, Austaralia.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pvarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Staff are friendly and helpful, but rooms are very noisy. You can hear your neighbour's children screaming and playing at ungodly hours. We all had a lot of trouble with sleep because of the noise. And monkeys will raid your balcony so you can't put swimmers out to dry.
Apart from that, the rooms are clean, and have tea facilities and a little fridge. Breakfasts are reasonably good, and staff are willing to help with broken toasters, arranging drivers etc. NIce pool, and relaxing grounds. Its not too expensive, and overall reasonably good value.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fenellak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Amazing location. Overlooks the monkey forest. Monkeys wander around the hotelas frequently as tourists - watch your breakfast!!! lol

Extremely friendly staff, rooms were slightly drafty and the beds weren't the most comfortable but these are minor compared to the PRO's.

HIGHLY recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xXxSpunkyMonkeyxXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

if only i could fault the hotel,stayed for 4nights,just sat back and relaxed,hard walk to the shops and only arty crafty shops could of done with a market.breakfast was not to my standerd,wasn't much to choose from, bacon was to crispy,and not alot,no omlettes,but i'm not a breakfast person,staff was great the first time to bali ,several times to patong.so it was a lot slower,only for rest and short stay

Room Tip: just leave nit picking at home! enjoy what you get its cheap? if your not happy stay home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamWestAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

We booked two rooms in this hotel for our stay in July 2011.
The first impression is nice, breezy and friendly. The hotel complex is set up in a good location, and feels tranquil and spacious.

The downside is the quality of the rooms; whereas spacious, the rooms haven't been maintained properly. The bed/living is still ok, but the bathroom is simply bad. We were not able to have a shower, keeping the rest of the bathroom sort-of dry. Water splashing everywhere, making everything wet and slippery.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Franck_Rozaida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ubud hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#55 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#50 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#53 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#100 of 192 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#106 of 192 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Sunti
The Grand Sunti
#104 of 192 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champlung Sari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champlung Sari Hotel

Property: Champlung Sari Hotel
Address: Monkey Forest Street | P.O. Box 87, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#76 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Champlung Sari Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Champlung Sari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Champlung Sari Ubud
Hotel Heritage Champlung Sari
Champlung Sari Hotel Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing