We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the subject of monkeys.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Champlung Sari Hotel
Ranked #90 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“On the subject of monkeys.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

I have stayed at this hotel for a week with my son, and have not once been harrassed by a monkey. They paid due interest when breakfast was served, however from a reasonable distance, and in the mornings hanged out on the roofs of the buildings that were closer to the forest, and that was about it. Never intimidating, not even close to how they behave in the Monkey Forest (I have witnessed a couple of unpleasant incidents there). Nor have I seen anyone even approached by a monkey while we stayed at the hotel. So, unless you are some sort of a monkey charm, fear not. There was, however, a little stray cat visiting my porch.

All in all we got a spacious room, decent breakfast, two very nice swimming pools to choose from. The only drawback I can think of was the semi see-through door to the bathroom, that could be just a little uncomfortable. Nice location, walk to everything - a good selection of restaurants, Coco supermarket within 10 minute walk (where you can also get some souvenirs - everything from coffee to scarves, for those who would rather avoid haggling).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    306
    147
    71
    32
See reviews for
131
286
48
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I was taken to this hotel by G Adventures with which I did part of my Bali trip - otherwise I don't think I would have chosen it based on the reviews it already has. I have to say only one thing about it - it's right across the Monkey Forest so if you're not a monkey lover - don't stay there because the monkeys are everywhere - fighting and copulating on balconies, stealing food from you at breakfast and even attacking and tearing off bags from your hands. I got sick while there but even with fever I pulled myself together and moved to another hotel 200 meters up the Monkey Forest Road where you already had none of that. If you don't mind living with monkeys my only advice will be to ask for a room in a new building as the ones in the old one feel very dated.

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank adoros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ubud hotels

East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Hotel is nice with Balinese feel, location is very good, many restaurants, shops around and monkey forest is just at the opposite of the hotel. Ubud market within walking distance, about 20 min walk. Room was clean and very spacious, bed was comfortable. Bathroom was very spacious and clean. Breakfast was adequate. Wifi only in public area. 2 swimming pools are lovely and hotel ground is maintained well. Only didn't have a lot of view from the hotel and our room. Monkeys sometime amusing but sometime annoying especially when having breakfast. One of them stole food from my plate.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Widyana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

This hotel is in a terrific position- just a short walk to restaurants, shops and interesting places to visit. Right alongside the monkey forest, but set back from the road it's a peaceful hotel. Our room was clean and spacious. Plenty of visits from monkeys at breakfast and during the afternoon, when they come looking for snacks. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

The hotel is nice but the staff is fakely nice. They were unhappy about us serving ourselves a second time at the buffet. They were often looking at customers and laughing. And they were dishonest when they charged us for glasses the monkeys (who are quite violent) broke on our balcony, when they never told us not to leave anything on the tables. Also they were outrageously expensive, so we came to the conclusion they make a business out of it; they don't warn customers to clear the balconies and then over tax the damage. But of course we have no proof of that. :-) I don't recommend this hotel, nor ubud to be honest.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Liza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We found the hotel grounds and pool lovely to relax around. Had the Deluxe room and found it very clean and spacious and the bed comfortable. Nice balcony to sit and relax on. Breakfast can be a bit of a circus with the monkeys. I like to see animals from a distance. Staff did their best to chase them away, I thought choice of breads and pastrys and fruit good at breakfast. The containers the food were kept in were not heated, so if you like omelets (which l do), l just had a fresh one of these cooked each morning from the egg station. Would make a big difference if they kept hot food warmed. Had a buffet at the restaurant one evening, but very average. Still plenty of food places to choice from close by. I was travelling with my parents and should perhaps have requested ground floor rooms as quite a few steps around the resort. Staff were friendly and overall we enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelling99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

This hotel is in a great location next to the monkey forest. Hotel and rooms are spacious and clean. My only downfall were the beds, they were extremely hard but other than that was a nice hotel. Wifi is available in public areas but is extremely SLOW.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#56 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#55 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#50 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#99 of 195 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Sunti
The Grand Sunti
#105 of 195 in Ubud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inata Bisma Resort & Spa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champlung Sari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champlung Sari Hotel

Property: Champlung Sari Hotel
Address: Monkey Forest Street | P.O. Box 87, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#76 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Champlung Sari Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Champlung Sari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Champlung Sari Ubud
Hotel Heritage Champlung Sari
Champlung Sari Hotel Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing