We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour bus and monkey experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Champlung Sari Hotel
Ranked #91 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Tour bus and monkey experience”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is a tour bus hotel . Larges buses of tourists check in and out daily. It's not expensive and fair value for money. The staff are polite and friendly but its all just a bit tired . Breakfast is the same every day, pretty much eggs fruit and bread and you have to be very aware of the monkeys who manage to sneak around the staff and jump on your table to steal any bread they can find.
I did use the spa but it seemed quiet and run down, thirty percent discount was offered on spa prices. We did not eat in the restaurant. Internet is only in the lobby .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotdeemex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    314
    148
    72
    32
See reviews for
136
290
49
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Eden Park, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Excellent Hotel! Stayed on my own for 10nights and loved it. The room was so nice with my own courtyard and the gardens were like an Oasis. Also two beautiful swimming pools. The staff were exceptional and the Manager, Made, was so nice and looked after me. This Hotel is in a great location and across the road is a great Cafe for us Westerners who love their Latte's. Also close to restaurants, shops and Monkey Forest.

Room Tip: I really like the ground floor superior rooms with a courtyard. I stayed in the Deluxe Room facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed here for the last 3 nights of our trip & the hotel itself was nothing amazing, really feeling like a 'Jungle Stay' - would only recommend it if this is what you're looking for.

The hotel is right next to the Monkey forest so there are lots of monkeys around the grounds.
The buffet breakfast is really bare with not many options.
There are lots of insects, spiders & ants everywhere, including the restaurants & rooms.
The room decor is very basic and bland.
There were only 2 english speaking tv channels (and one had a frozen screen).
All through the night there were loud monkey noises and an insect that sounded like a rocket.
There were ALOT of mosquitos entering the room through a window that couldn't close.
The walls were not sound proof, meaning you could hear people in the corridor.
The pool was very small & there were no private sections.
The staff were very reserved & spoke in indonesian to each other alot.

It wasn't TOO horrible, but definately not somewhere you would want to go for a romantic honeymoon or travelling trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ubud hotels

Lower Hutt, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel which management call a resort for originally five nights (we stayed for four before walking out!) We were on our honeymoon and paid extra through flight centre as my time guests for special extras. Upon checking in we were given a room which was miles away from anywhere and was more like an army bunker than a deluxe room. The decor was very 1970s and so was the damp, mouldy smell along with mould spores growing behind all the mirrors. Within 10 min of checking in we asked to be moved. We were then offered a room which was similar but declined and insisted on a villa style room which we had seen on our walk in. The villa on the outset was nice BUT as we were trying to get to sleep there was a loud continuous beep coming from the adjorning room. We waited until 3am and called the lobby who in their own good time managed to stop the beeping which we think was a smoke detector. The next thing (the same night) was we were awoken by a sound of dripping water at about 5am right above our bed. We endured the night but didn't get any sleep. We found these people are stingy with towels and we had to ask twice for more (there were two of us and we were only given ONE) The instructions for the safe were for an entirely different model so we were unable to keep our valuables anywhere safe (passports etc) in our room. The shower head was also broken and sprayed water across the bathroom. The water then ran black down the walls from lack of cleaning. The TV in the room was an old model which only had two english speaking channels. We also woke up every morning (when we actually got some sleep which wasn't often!) with horrible mosquito bites all over our ankles and legs. The next time it rained the dripping water was so heavy it dripped onto the bed. We told the lobby who transferred us again to another room (this is now our thrid room in 4 days!) The third room didn't have any hot water so after an oily massage we had to have COLD showers to clean ourselves. We also saw a large rat inside the spa. The TV did not work at all and the resort map (which we never had in our previous rooms) was very outdated and wrong. To top it off the air conditioning units in these rooms (particulary the 2nd room) were very old, noisy and slow to cool the room (took 48 hours for our room to reach the temperature we wanted it at even after keeping doors and windows shut) Breakfast over the 4 days was very tedious without many options. We ended up eating white toast with butter and looking for decent food at other restaurants. We only had one more day left with this hotel before deciding enough was enough and we walked up the road and booked into Barong which was EXCELLENT! At least we managed to get one good sleep for our honeymoon at Barong. We had to go back to Champlung afterwards to settle the bill and spoke to the operations manager who pretty much blamed everything on the monkeys (do the monkeys clean the rooms, serve breakfast or keep up with general maintenace at the hotel? NO!) When I asked him how many stars this hotel has he told me 3 but we feel the monkeys must've stolen the other two as it is only 1 star worthy! The icing on the cake for us was that because we paid extra we were meant to receive a gift upon leaving which we never received. Would never recommend to anyone except monkeys the whole feel of the place was just very run down and seemed no work had been done since it was built.

Room Tip: Do not chose any of these rooms. Best to go to Barong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rouse Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We spent 2 nights here had a nice time. Our room was very nice, ground level
with courtyard entry nice bathroom.
Breakfast was good, internet only in lobby and pool areas.
Nice to be close to monkeys, plenty hanging around at breakfast time.
Good selection of places to eat along main street.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burnsy7892016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Unfortunately Internet is not available in the room ..you must go to the lobby, restaurant or spa , but the connection still very bad, too slow .....breakfast are good ,room as well . The pools are nice ,but the lounge-chairs are very uncomfortable ...in the morning at the breakfast monkeys are coming ..they hope you still some foods from the buffet ....funny ,but in the end also very stressful .

Room Tip: ..on my opinion if going back in this area ..definitely I will like to choose a guest-house or a res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Champlung sari was a delight to stay in. The staff were courteous and always happy to help. The 2 pools were lovely and always clean. The rooms were cleaned daily and very well done. The monkey forrest was across the road so monkeys hanging around at breakfast. Loved it

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 198 in Ubud
587 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#56 of 198 in Ubud
459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#107 of 198 in Ubud
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#106 of 198 in Ubud
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Evitel Resort Ubud
The Evitel Resort Ubud
#103 of 198 in Ubud
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inata Bisma Resort & Spa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champlung Sari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champlung Sari Hotel

Property: Champlung Sari Hotel
Address: Monkey Forest Street | P.O. Box 87, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#78 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Champlung Sari Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Champlung Sari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Champlung Sari Ubud
Hotel Heritage Champlung Sari
Champlung Sari Hotel Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing