We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant but for a resort of such quality, it was lacking in some areas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa
Ranked #89 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very pleasant but for a resort of such quality, it was lacking in some areas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

The hotel setting was lovely. Villas very nice. Really felt close to nature with the outdoor shower. Private pool overlooking the valley and river below, stunning. We stayed in villa 106 that apparently had the best views. Security at the complex was really good.
The hotel runs a shuttle to Ubud centre 4 times per day but it finishes very early in the evening, last one @ 2030 therefore you need to get taxis back to the resort if you are out for dinner later.
Generally, the resort restaurant was disappointing. I think the menu could have been much better and more reflective of local cuisine instead of trying to do everything, they could have focused on just a few international dish options with the rest, local cuisine. The curries we did order were rather bland and weren't very warm when served. Would advise eating dinner in Ubud instead. Breakfast is buffet style served in a lovely setting. It was more American style. Coffee was good but sometimes served a lukewarm.
The staff are very friendly and welcoming. Villa was clean but bed rather hard. The hotel grounds lovely however, as the resort is set on a hillside, there are a lot of stairs and therefore may not be so good for disabled travellers.
Would recommend it for those looking for relaxation that want to experience nature rather than nightlife.

Room Tip: villa 106 has lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcgahano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    141
    57
    39
    34
See reviews for
89
289
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

After staying in Seminyak for 6 days I was looking forward to peaceful Ubud. Payogan seems so far away from the Bali bustle but only a 5 - 15 minute drive (depending, as always, on the traffic.) to the Ubud markets and town centre.
We arrived late afternoon to be greeted by very friendly staff. They had upgraded us to a pool terrace room from a garden villa. No reason why but we accepted with grace. We were taken to our room in a buggy, thank goodness. My husband arrived in Bali with a head cold, which he loving gave to me.I have breathing problems so the buggy was a godsend. Very hilly! Our villa was amazing, so big and spacious. Private pool, terrace overlooking the jungle. We didn't leave our villa for 2 days except for breakfast (different) and dinner (average) but had a great time with the staff. Please when you go to Bali learn a bit of their language. They are so willing to teach and so willing to learn English

Room Tip: all villas seem good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjhpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

The hotel has a lovely setting, and the fresh water pool is beautiful. Initial impressions were fantastic, the cracks soon started to show.
1) scheduled shuttle service would not pick us up from Ubud town because they were picking up a client (I thought we were their paying guests too?)
2) the 1 bedroom villa does not have a proper shower, just waist height hand held over a bath
3) could not use the bath either because the plug was broken and would not stay down
3) blocked toilet needed fixing
4) bathroom amenities (like tissues) not replenished each day
5) hot water went cold after 3 min, half way through first shower, and we were told it takes 45 min for hot water each time that happens
6) I understand these things happen, but the front of house staff were not very understanding
I read trip advisor a lot for traveller reviews, but would not normally take the time to write a review myself. But I think you can get much better for $160 per night elsewhere in Ubud. We check out tomorrow.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SydneyTraveller001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

I should say that other reviewers were right about its crappy breakfast. Its staff seem unsure and untrained for a buffet breakfast service.

It's rural location and villas would have been great if one felt fully comfortable with its room service and restaurant offerings. Unfortunately, we felt a need to travel out of its remote location to get a decent meal. Its lack of on-demand free taxi service into town only increased the cost of our stay and further emphasised its inadequate service. Taxi from Ubud Centre back to the hotel costs 50K but we got it down to 35K

A few of its staff did shine with outstanding service but this was probably 10 percent of its staff.

Its rooms were crawling with ants, spiders, snakes and overgrown trees and plants. The villa had a tired look and poorly maintained.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sgp_traveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

My husband and I adored this resort...absolutely stunning, peaceful, and magical. The people were wonderful, and the grounds like a movie... The only negative, the food was ok. If you are looking for accommodations set in a fairytale atmosphere, this is your place!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taradikos01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

The resort is excellent,we stayed for 7 nights in a Villa Valley View room with private pool,we can highly recommend this resort and this room type...From the moment we arrived we where treated like familiar faces and with outstanding service all the way,and always with a smile.....
After working myself as a Concierge for 16 years in Australian hotels i am a liitle fussy but all was very satisfying and would love to stay here again..

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novorossiysk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

To buy a trip to Payogan Villa Resort & spa, Ubud, Bali from Russian tour operators is quite difficult. We booked this hotel through Internet. The hotel is situated 5 km from Ubud, set on a hill slope above the river Oos surrounded by dense jungle and wild nature. The hotel occupies the area of 15 hectares. The hotel offers 23 villas. Due to quite big distances your luggage will be delivered to your villa on a small car. The territory of the hotel is protected very well. Each car entering the gates is checked. Guests are welcomed with a refreshing lime cocktail at the reception. The place where we planned to stay for 2 days won our hearts from the first sight. We were given a room on the ground floor of a 2-storeyed villa. Walls made of glass, a large bed with a curtain, cozy furniture. Spacious bathroom with a bath and a shower set separately where you could find even aroma candles. From your room you can step out to the internal yard with a private pool and long chairs.Also there is a private gazebo with cane furniture where you can sit and admire the magnificent view of the Oos river valley covered by dense jungle. Breakfast is served at an open restaurant and afternoon tea is at pavillions covered by palm leaves situated near the swimming pool. In the evening hotel staff will bring fruits to your room. Walking around the hotel territory you will have a lot of happy moments. There are a lot of beautiful flowers, a river, ponds with lotuses, numerous stone sculptures, multicolored butterflies and birds, quietness and amazing air. This hotel is the ideal place for a honeymoon, for people who are tired of noise and rush of megacities, for those who want to be close to nature. A good possibility to get familiar with local nature is to walk along the "health trail" paved around the hotel. To make your stay more interesting you can take a trip to Ubud town. There is a bus from the hotel which is free of charge and takes several trips per day. After the calm atmosphere of the hotel, it will be pleasant to walk around a noisy market, to visit various picture galleries of local artists and monkey forest, to have a lunch at a local restaurant.
My memories of the Payogan hotel fill my soul with an astonishing warmth and I am a little envious of people who will visit this fabulous place.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina_Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.9 mi away
Furama Villas & Spa Ubud
0.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
4.4 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.5 mi away
Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong
2.4 mi away
Natura Resort and Spa
Natura Resort and Spa
#98 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa

Property: The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa
Address: No. 77 Banjar, Bunutan, Desa Kedewatan, P.O. Box 999 Jln. Cocoa II 2, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#61 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#75 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Payogan Villa Resort And Spa
The Payogan Villa Hotel Ubud
Payogan Hotel Ubud
The Payogan Hotel
The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing