We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly Dissappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa
Ranked #90 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This is a great resort, however, our stay was dissappointing. Alarm bells rang when we were dropped at our villa to read a sign at the entrance saying "construction underway - Apologies for the inconvenience". Construction work was right outside our villa and very noisy with large loads of rocks being dumped throughout the day. Upon checkin we discovered we had no running water, Unfortunately, we were due to be picked up for white water rafting and didnt return back to the resort until quite late after our Elephant Safari. We then needed to move rooms. When we changed to the new rooms my friends room's airconditioner was not working properly. The next morning we woke to find we again did not have running water. This continued throughout our stay. Although we were offfered a free meal this hardly compensated for the hastle which is a shame because it is truly a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GayleCowdroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

We arrived late at night ~2am, I was worried as we hadn't told them we'd be arriving so late, but they still held our booking. It was quiet and we got an amazing room with balcony views over the forest, private courtyard and pool for a deal of $109/night. Initially staying for 2 nights but kept extending each day for the length of our entire trip. Staff were very friendly and the amenities were clean and wonderfully comfortable. Our room was breathtakingly beautiful. Air-conditioned, TV, tea & coffee, robes, room service, mini bar, 4post king sized bed with curtains, high ceilings... The hotel restaurant has nice dinners but waaaay too expensive, definitely go elsewhere! Breakfast is simple but acceptable, the pineapple pancakes were definitely a hit with me. It's a bit of a walk to reception (on slippery moss covered paths) so be prepared.

The toilet flush did stop working so we had to remove the heavy ceramic lid and flush it manually. It was only slightly inconvenient, as we were both constipated from the rice or something the entire trip anyway...(apparently that's normal)

The one hitch we came across was that because our accommodation was given from an internet site (accor) who were meant to send me a coupon but didn't, the hotel was not wanting to give us the same rate, and we only found this out upon check-out. Some stern insistence from my friend and they allowed the sale price.

Also the shuttles were expensive so we were happy to walk into the town centre of Ubud, which was my favourite thing (the children in the streets were friendly, lots of people waving and saying "hello" as we walked through, the smell of the daily offerings with incense is unbelievable beautiful, and earthy wood smoke also in the air... but do expect some smelly chickens and drainwater... ) There aren't really beggars throughout the day in Ubud, but they do come out in the evening.

On one occasion, out of desperation to pee, we walked into a random suburban store and the guy brought us into his home (located behind the store) and let us use his family toilet. Inside the houses was amazing, we were so very grateful for their hospitality to strange young Australian girls who need to pee.

On another occasion while riding our hired motorbike we got lost trying to find the Payogan hotel, it was dark and raining, we were freezing and exhausted and frustrated at being lost. Eventually we asked some random people (early 20's operating a side store) and while they had no idea how to get to the hotel themselves, but lead us to their friend at The Lotus hotel and got a map, then lead us right to the hotel. They gave us clove cigarettes, chatted in broken English, and did not expect payment for their help (although we insisted for 20 000rp). Very friendly people.

We also had a nice chat on one of the few times we took a taxi. The driver talking about how, particularly in the quiet season, it's so hard for them because while he understood tourists like to walk and take in the scenery, it means no money for their family. They have children and their wives care for the family at home, so he has to drive tourists to pay, that's why they are so determined to ask tourists for taxi rides. A BIG change to the horrors of Kuta where the locals (and other tourists) sicken me with their rude aggressive behaviour.

Beware of the weather: the majority of days were either light rain, cloudy, or very rainy. Our last day had the clearest blue skies to enjoy our private pool.

Also for rip-off merchants..I bought cigarettes from a commercial mini mart for 11 000, then when trying to buy them in a remote town the lady running the shop tried to charge me 100 000!! No way. But she dropped her price to 13 000 when i told her. She also sold delicious food, so lucky for her I couldn't be too put-off.

Massage: Some places charge up to 800 000 (AU$80) but we got hour-long ones from some lovely girls in the city for 30 000(AU$3) and nothing dodgy or inappropriate. Shop around for everything!

In short: Never stay in Kuta, Stay in Ubud, particularly at this hotel, and remember that as Bali's spiritual and artistic center WALK and ENJOY it!!!! perhaps even hire a motorbike like we did. And enjoy the peace and remoteness of the Payogans location.

Room Tip: We had a garden villa with a private pool. Expensive normally, but if you can get it on sale (and do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CattYah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We arrived to the Payogan late at night after our previously arranged transport and accommodation at a different place did not show on the airport. Payogan was the first place I called to sort things out. So we can say we got there totally by accident. We were not disappointed. We stayed in a nice garden villa. Payogan is not in a walking distance of the Ubud center, but it offers peace and quiet you won't find in the town. Payogan has a beautiful pool. We also enjoyed the meals we were served at the restaurant.

Room Tip: You don't need to pay for a villa with its own pool. The resort has a nice pool that we had to o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marek75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We just came back from 5 nights in Payogan hotel in Ubub !
And even if we had a wonderfull time in Ubud, I will tell you why I would NOT recommend this hotel.
1) Payogan is "far" away from Ubud (15 to 20 minutes drive) which would not be that much of a problem if the hotel would organise a proper shuttle system. There are a few free shuttles during daytime but the timing is completely inconvenient and we always ended up by taking a taxi. Not that much expensive, for sure, but I think that it could be so easy for this classy hotel to make us forget that it is hidden in the middle of nowhere !! Not a good point.
2) There is building work going on for the time beeing and I think it will last for a "little while" as they are constructing new bungalows. Nobody tells you when you book ! Not a good point at all. I was so upset when I saw that our room with private pool was just over construction work (as are many of the rooms with pool). Excuse was : "But Madam, work only begins at 9 am and ends at 4 pm, so what is the problem ?" (hum, not good at all). In the end, we have been upgraded to the suite (wonderfull room, but from my point of view the least they could do)... And work was also going on close.
3) When we arrived, we did not even had time to sip our welcome drink that the guy in charge insisted heavily to sell us guided tours in the countryside and paddy fields for a price of 20 dollars a head (!!!). We really did not appreciate that took us for "idiots" as we ended up trekking daily everywhere for 4 or 5 hours very easily by ourselves WITHOUT any other guide than our guide book !!! Same with the spa (there are good spas everywhere in town for half as expensive). Not a good point at all.
4) Breakfast did not meet the standards of a supposed 5 star hotel : very basic. Not lots of choices (in bread for ex). Not even good fresh fruit juices and the mouthpieces of the juce distributors were disgusting (dirty). As well as vegetables were cold (not enough heated) every single day. Not a good point.
5) Dinner : Hardly anybody having dinner there. The restaurant looked like a phantom ship. Why ? Of course much too expensive for Ubud when you know that there are plenty of very good restaurants in town for half the price. Did they think people would stay at the hotel because the last shuttle leaving was at 8 pm ? Not a good way to attract customers and a real pity because the place was really beautiful.
6) Maintenance was needed in our friends room (toilet flush, TV, door handle). Despite insisting, nobody came to repair all over our stay... After a while, we just let it go...
And I could go on like that for several pages (not enough towels, no body moisturiser... but a new toothbrush every day (?) etc.).
Often small details but which can make a huge difference between wonderfull memories and a sense of unfullfilment...
Knowing all that, do not hesitate to negociate very hotly.
BECAUSE, ON THE OTHER SIDE, architecture, decoration, rooms, beds, bathrooms, gardens, private pools are just breathtaking and soooo beautiful. Such a pity, that we left feeling that the hotel was some kind of neglected or not ruled with enough professionalism for a 5 star or going to bankrupty (?) !!!
Not good value for money if you pay full price. So again, negociate or go somewhere else. There are plenty of nice places in UBUD !

Room Tip: Ask to visit the rooms and be very carefull about the construction work going on. Rooms with privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeneM217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights and absolutely loved it. Such a beautiful resort: spacious rooms with semi-outdoor bathroom with 2 person sunken bath tub. Beautiful views over the valley, and the staff here are really lovely. Would definitely stay here again. The only downfall was that the food was not wonderful, but the resort makes up for it with everything else, and one very talented barman!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This is the first resort i stayed in Bali had lovely time here rooms are really spacious and you can have a good time here if you stay indoors and just wanna relax. The food is average here and in evening lots of moss comes but its got to happen as its naturally surrounded by forest. Hospitality is good and they have very good spa treatment.

Room Tip: All rooms seems to be same here and are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abhays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

After all day long visiting many famous places in Bali like Kintamani Mountain,Pura Tirta Empul and rice terrace.I and my friends had a late check-in here at Payogan Resort.We arrived at Payogan about 7.30 pm (local time in Bali).The staff welcomed us friendly and gave honey-dew mixed cucumber juice for our welcome drink.The air in the lobby was fragranted by the scent of tuberoses.Makes me feel so Bali!!!!!!
We sat in a lobby for while for uploading pictures in Instagram,because it's has wifi in the lobby,and the staff told us that no-wifi in our villa.That's a con of this resort.
The staff brought us to our villa 217 and villa 218.It's a duplex two bedroom pool villa.It has a 2 storey.one bedroom is on the upper floor and another bedroom is on the lower floor.Also bathrooms are on the upper floor and the lower floor.We are amazed by the size of Bath tub.It's quite large and traditionally Balinese style.It's also has a candle in the bathroom.
We had a party here in our villa.Actually this resort is suitable for retreat and stay quietly.But we had a noisy party(but not too much because we also considerate to the other guests)We were chilled ,drunk,dance and photoshoot!!! until 1.00 am.
Another con is the toilet here in or villa did not flushed properly. We called the staff to fix it but it's still not ok.
In the morning,We had a breakfast in the resort restaurant .I think it has a few chioces of food.But the food is ok. The atmosphere in the resort is so serene,natural and sacred.One of my friend said it's very old,But I think it's has its own style.For Balinese style older is better.It's antique and unique!!
I recommend this resort and I give 7.4/ 10 for this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kantachot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
0.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.1 mi away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Alam Puri Art Museum & Resort
0.5 mi away
Puri Sebali Resort
Puri Sebali Resort
#36 of 199 in Ubud
546 reviews
2.4 mi away
Natura Resort and Spa
Natura Resort and Spa
#104 of 199 in Ubud
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa

Address: Jl. Cocoa 2 no. 77 | Banjar Bunutan, Desa Kedewatan P.O. BOX 999, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#66 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#77 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £82 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Payogan Villa Resort And Spa
The Payogan Villa Hotel Ubud
Payogan Hotel Ubud
The Payogan Hotel
The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing