We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Saraswati(Ubud)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (583)
Filter reviews
583 results
Traveller rating
256
171
77
42
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
256
171
77
42
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolbuggy servicemain pooloverlooking the valleyubud centrebath and showerfree shuttlegolf buggyour honeymoonbeautiful place to staynusa duabreakfast was includedwe loved our stayafternoon teawelcome drinkricejungle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
326 - 331 of 583 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed in this resort on January 5, 2013 in a garden view villa. My first reaction as we entered this resort with our car was utter disbelief that anything so beautiful can exist! I agree with others...it is a paradise. The topography is a pleasure to the eye with its well maintained garden and Balinese design. The atmosphere and the curtsies felt like five star hotel. After registration we were taken to our villa by the resort's curt. The villa was spectacular! Huge Balinese style room with high ceiling, marble floor, air condition, floor to ceiling large window encompassing one whole wall and Balinese tasteful furnishings. Super clean and the stuff tucked flowers inside the room in many places to make you feel welcomed along with some fruits! Room had a dressing area with all amenities. A door opened from the dressing area into the private Balinese style open bathroom. It was like an icing on the cake! I was hoping to experience this type of bathroom in Bali. While taking a shower I was surrounded by beautiful tropical plants and flowers...amazing! We experienced no construction noise, only roosters waking us up in the morning...which we did not mind at all. It made us feel more immersed into the rural nature. The infinity pool in the facility overlooking the tropical forest was super clean and spectacular, we enjoyed it a lot. As a matter of fact, my husband liked it so much that he wanted to spend half a day in the pool. Breakfast was setup in a very open Balinese style room beside the pool. Truly speaking it felt like we were honeymooning! So romantic, beautiful and restful. I highly recommend this resort. Do not miss it!

Only thing I would say negative is that WiFi was poor and the road leading to the resort needed maintenance.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NDG5456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The scams! 1) I made a reservation for 2 bedroom villa with swimming pool. In arrival manager of hotel give us to rooms in duplex without of straight connection for DOUBLE price (add second room to my confirmation) 2) the hotel did not inform us that it under the reconstruction - the works makes a terrible noise from 5 am till night. 3) Our "villas" were not ready to guest accommodation - there are NO WATER! The staff even doesn’t reacts for demand to fix it. 4) The staff lies that hotel spa is overbooked and offer to visit other for tips (its lie spa is always empty because it's awful. The therapists unprofessional - they chat during procedures, makes 1,5 hour instead of 2, forget about bath - after full it with cold water and so on). 5) After all than we check-out because it impossible to live in this hotel - they take all full charge for both rooms without even water. That's ridiculous! We are totally disappointed and have to change hotel in the middle of vocation with very solid extra charges.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lilya_Kim_Rus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We really enjoyed this resort! This place is an excellent value. Definitely go with the private pool valley view villa. You get your own infinity edge pool overlooking the lush valley. The resort is about a 10-15 min drive from the main restaurants, shops, and activities in Ubud. We had our own driver so that we didn't have to fuss with the shuttle since we were only there for a few days. The breakfast was pretty good (the cinnamon french toast was my favorite) plus you can order eggs any way you like them :)

The only negatives were that lizard/geckos can climb into your room and the roosters are kind of loud in the morning. I would almost expect this at any resort though because there are roosters everywhere in Ubud. The lizards weren't a problem for us because we understand that is how it is in that type of environment, but there were a couple that would climb in and hang around the roof of our villa.

This is the place to stay if you want friendly service, a great view, and nice relaxing environment.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Cant recommend this place highly enough, soooo relaxing, Id have absolutely no hesitation in staying there again.
Friendly and professional staff.
Good hotel services.
Great pool and massages. And even better is the massage by the pool...

Room Tip: Villas with an "infinity" pool are super cool.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012 via mobile

The Payogan is a quiet resort 15 minutes drive from Ubud Center, located just off the jungle. When we were there, only a couple villas/rooms were occupied so it was like staying in our own house. Our villa (#219) was at the end of the resort, far away from everything, with our huge garden, our pool and a little hut with a King bed. The room is very nice also with a view to the garden and the pool. The absolute favourite part of the complex is the huge, balinese style bathroom with jungle-style shower, and a Big bathtube.
The resort has a few pools with views to the jungle. The breakfast is ok, with local and International selection, but don't expect Hilton-quality and selection. :-D
The stuff is excelent, smiling all day Long, watching all your requests... Even the gardener.
The only drawback is that you have to use the free transfer to get to anywhere, because the resort is embedded in a local village, next to the jungle.
So if you are planning to have a little romance, honeymoon in a quiet, romantic place, Payogan is a very good choice. And try to get #219 villa if you can.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaffa_HU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews