We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a peaceful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa
Ranked #88 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I was pleasantly suprised on my arrival to have been up graded from a garden villa to a pool one. Only thing is the aircon kept leaking and flooded my floor.
Great view and well maintained gardens.
I felt the special dining nights were pricey and you certainly get inundated with tour ideas, however, the gentle friendliness of the staff who coluld'nt do enough for you, compensated.
Yes there are alot of steps so if you are totally unfit...forget it.
Did'nt mind the geckos dropping in as it is a rainforest experience. Loved having an outside bath with incense and nice drink.

Room Tip: Go for the wonderful pool villa and romp naked around your own private complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2013

Payogan Village Resort is a beautiful and peaceful place to stay. The views are fantastic and lush from the pool and restaurant, and a walk around the hotel is a relaxing experience. Swimming in the beautiful pool is lovely looking out at the glorious views of the green countryside. Food is very good, with a wide choice to select from. The ambience of the restaurant is perfect.
I loved the quiet and serenity of Payogan, and would definitely visit again. It is one of my favourite places in Bali with beautiful architecture and gardens. Our villa was very private, set in a lovely garden, with very comfortbale beds and a beautiful outside bath and shower which adds to the experience.The complimentary mini bar is excellent, and a great service to offer guests. The staff were always helpful and courteous- nothing was too much trouble. We used the daily shuttles into Ubud - fantastic for shopping and dining in beautiful Ubud with art galleries, beautiful restaurants and an excellent market.
A peaceful and beautiful place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouNiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Made W, Manager at The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Dear, Our Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and hopefully we can serve you again in the near future.
Please fell free to contact us if you have some inquiries of information about our property and services.
Thanks and great warmest greeting from Bali!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful resort set on the slope of the valley - if you are fit you can handle the stairs up and down to your room but otherwise you'll need to be calling the guy in the buggy to drive you around the resort all the time. We were upgraded from a basic room to a pool villa and it was stunning....but next to where a road is being built so we were woken by the escavator every morning and the workers can see into your villa. The shuttle into ubud is very handy but if you don't make the 10 o'clock your only option is to have lunch at the resort. If you do make the 10 shuttle you are pretty much stuck in Ubud for 4.5 hrs which can be too long when the heat is stifling. The staff were really nice and the food at the resort is excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Subacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I have to agree with some of the previous reviews...... One is exposed to the elements. It is a great serene place but you will be living with geckos and bats on your roof as they continuously do number 1 and 2's all day/ night long. The place could be much more cleaner but there is always that shortfall of cheap Bali labour which don't really care as long as they do there job. Don't bother about drinking at the bar either because of the untrained bar staff not knowing how to properly mix drinks that you pay top prices for. WATCH OUT FOR THE 21% TAX ON EVERYTHING AS WELL! You are better off taking the free shuttle to Ubud and drinking there which don't slug you the ridiculous tax. Also, don't tip in this resort because 11% of that 21% tax is the service charge so do not tip....... Breakfast is bland and boring, pool towels smell musky, and please don't ask them recommendations of where to eat or have massages. You are better off doing your own homework. The staff are very polite, helpful, and of course with the right price will do almost anything for you except give you a discount hehehee. If you are staying here it is a pricey place if you stay and eat, drink, and spa here. Renovations at the hotels start very early in the morning till afternoon so don't expect to sleep in. I recommend Jazz Cafe in Ubud to eat and drink for dinner which will pick u up and drop u off and also Induh restaurant which will do the same. Don't eat or drink in this place...... Spend your hard earned elsewhere....... Recommended for nature lovers, not newly weds or honeymooners.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cesar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

It was everything we wanted and more....absolutely breathtaking so green and picturesque, like stepping into another world we felt like royalty. We especially enjoyed the hot stone massage which we shared in a double spa suit looking over the valley which concluded with a herb bath. The staff were so lovely and extra helpful....which made for a trip we are very grateful for.

Room Tip: Pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

What a wonderful place to stay with drop jaw scenery and gorgeous gardens. The Payogan Villa Resort and Spa is pure indulgence for every minute of our holiday. We couldn't ask for more.
This was my 4th visit to Bali and I wanted to stay in the mountains away from the bustle of Kuta, where I knew the climate was cooler and kinder, but still in a location where we could access the shopping of Ubud. I couldn't have chosen a better spot or better service and food. The staff and service was terrific and concern for our welfare was notable from the first moment of entering the gates.
As this was a surprise 60th birthday gift for my husband the catering staff also came on board with a chocolate black forest cake, Yummy,Yummy Yummy. Our accommodation was beautiful, large and exceptionally clean, and well maintained providing everything that Bali has to offer and we were very privileged to stay in both a garden villa and a pool villa. I felt totally indulgent as one of our days we had a top to toe massage, swim in our private pool, followed by prawns for lunch with Verve champagne and brilliant company of close friends. We ate at the restaurant each night after happy hour at the swim up bar with a delightful bar man to help with our special requests, like two cherries and our version of Black Russians.My favourite dish on the menu was the BBQ spare ribs but if I don't have to cook it, then all the dishes were great.
It may have only been 6 nights but I can't wait until I do it again, somewhere in the future.
I highly recommend this accommodation to those who love Bali and beautiful gardens and terrific service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

It's everything you expect when you ask for a villa close to nature. The view is jaw dropping. The service puts a smile on our faces every time. The room is spotless and fit for royalty. A must visit if you want a peaceful stay in gorgeous Ubud

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebMjNaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ubud
0.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.1 mi away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Furama Villas & Spa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Alam Puri Art Museum & Resort
0.5 mi away
Puri Sebali Resort
Puri Sebali Resort
#37 of 199 in Ubud
535 reviews
2.4 mi away
Natura Resort and Spa
Natura Resort and Spa
#110 of 199 in Ubud
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa

Address: Jl. Cocoa 2 no. 77 | Banjar Bunutan, Desa Kedewatan P.O. BOX 999, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#65 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#74 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £74 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Payogan Villa Resort And Spa
The Payogan Villa Hotel Ubud
Payogan Hotel Ubud
The Payogan Hotel
The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing