We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa
Ranked #86 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful”
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

If you like peace and quiet, then this is the place to stay. The rooms were clean and spacious and the scenery stunning. It was a little bit remote but there were several shuttles into Ubud daily so it wasn't a problem. The construction work was going on while we were there and it really wasn't very noisy, so didn't cause a problem. The only issue we did have was that there wasn't a bar man there so we could not get any alcoholic drinks apart from beer or local wine. After a long flight and first day of your holiday the first thing you want when you arrive is a relaxing drink! This was very disappointing!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Enid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    145
    58
    39
    34
See reviews for
91
303
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Paygon Villa is is an unpolished diamond
You are immediately impressed on entry - it is grand
The staff are very obliging; very helpful and responsive.
The rooms and areas are a little tired - but you do feel as you are in 5 star accommodation - just don't look too hard for you will see the strains of time in various areas.
We booked a twin family Villa for a week and were told on entry we had been upgraded to two villa's side by side. This was nice, but not what we really wanted as one of the kids was a little insecure about being separated (there is no interconnecting door) - it worked out for a couple of days but we found that our Villa overlooked construction; the construction worker could see us in our pool over their lunch and our bathroom had a foul smell from the bathroom of a night time. When raising this issue with management politely, we were immediately offered another upgrade (at no extra cost) which was grand for the kids and for us as parents. The Villa's were side by side, each had there own pool, sitting area and they did have a connecting door.
This worked out very well in the end.
Mind you, you could still see construction but it was less intrusive.
I would recommend Payogan but try and negotiate a good price as you may be put off by teh construction.
we could not fault the service
-- the breakfasts; they were huge and of good variation .

Do the rafting and elephants
try the local restaurants: Murnis (the spring roles!!!) , Dirty Duck, Naughty Nori's Pork Ribs
and for something different I highly recommend a day trip to Trunyan.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I was pleasantly suprised on my arrival to have been up graded from a garden villa to a pool one. Only thing is the aircon kept leaking and flooded my floor.
Great view and well maintained gardens.
I felt the special dining nights were pricey and you certainly get inundated with tour ideas, however, the gentle friendliness of the staff who coluld'nt do enough for you, compensated.
Yes there are alot of steps so if you are totally unfit...forget it.
Did'nt mind the geckos dropping in as it is a rainforest experience. Loved having an outside bath with incense and nice drink.

Room Tip: Go for the wonderful pool villa and romp naked around your own private complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Payogan Village Resort is a beautiful and peaceful place to stay. The views are fantastic and lush from the pool and restaurant, and a walk around the hotel is a relaxing experience. Swimming in the beautiful pool is lovely looking out at the glorious views of the green countryside. Food is very good, with a wide choice to select from. The ambience of the restaurant is perfect.
I loved the quiet and serenity of Payogan, and would definitely visit again. It is one of my favourite places in Bali with beautiful architecture and gardens. Our villa was very private, set in a lovely garden, with very comfortbale beds and a beautiful outside bath and shower which adds to the experience.The complimentary mini bar is excellent, and a great service to offer guests. The staff were always helpful and courteous- nothing was too much trouble. We used the daily shuttles into Ubud - fantastic for shopping and dining in beautiful Ubud with art galleries, beautiful restaurants and an excellent market.
A peaceful and beautiful place.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouNiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Made W, Manager at The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Dear, Our Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and hopefully we can serve you again in the near future.
Please fell free to contact us if you have some inquiries of information about our property and services.
Thanks and great warmest greeting from Bali!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful resort set on the slope of the valley - if you are fit you can handle the stairs up and down to your room but otherwise you'll need to be calling the guy in the buggy to drive you around the resort all the time. We were upgraded from a basic room to a pool villa and it was stunning....but next to where a road is being built so we were woken by the escavator every morning and the workers can see into your villa. The shuttle into ubud is very handy but if you don't make the 10 o'clock your only option is to have lunch at the resort. If you do make the 10 shuttle you are pretty much stuck in Ubud for 4.5 hrs which can be too long when the heat is stifling. The staff were really nice and the food at the resort is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Subacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

I have to agree with some of the previous reviews...... One is exposed to the elements. It is a great serene place but you will be living with geckos and bats on your roof as they continuously do number 1 and 2's all day/ night long. The place could be much more cleaner but there is always that shortfall of cheap Bali labour which don't really care as long as they do there job. Don't bother about drinking at the bar either because of the untrained bar staff not knowing how to properly mix drinks that you pay top prices for. WATCH OUT FOR THE 21% TAX ON EVERYTHING AS WELL! You are better off taking the free shuttle to Ubud and drinking there which don't slug you the ridiculous tax. Also, don't tip in this resort because 11% of that 21% tax is the service charge so do not tip....... Breakfast is bland and boring, pool towels smell musky, and please don't ask them recommendations of where to eat or have massages. You are better off doing your own homework. The staff are very polite, helpful, and of course with the right price will do almost anything for you except give you a discount hehehee. If you are staying here it is a pricey place if you stay and eat, drink, and spa here. Renovations at the hotels start very early in the morning till afternoon so don't expect to sleep in. I recommend Jazz Cafe in Ubud to eat and drink for dinner which will pick u up and drop u off and also Induh restaurant which will do the same. Don't eat or drink in this place...... Spend your hard earned elsewhere....... Recommended for nature lovers, not newly weds or honeymooners.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cesar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingen, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2013

It was everything we wanted and more....absolutely breathtaking so green and picturesque, like stepping into another world we felt like royalty. We especially enjoyed the hot stone massage which we shared in a double spa suit looking over the valley which concluded with a herb bath. The staff were so lovely and extra helpful....which made for a trip we are very grateful for.

Room Tip: Pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.1 mi away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#26 of 198 in Ubud
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
1.3 mi away
The Lokha Ubud
The Lokha Ubud
#58 of 198 in Ubud
592 reviews
0.5 mi away
Puri Sebali Resort
Puri Sebali Resort
#42 of 198 in Ubud
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa

Property: The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa
Address: No. 77 Banjar, Bunutan, Desa Kedewatan, P.O. Box 999 Jln. Cocoa II 2, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#62 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#73 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, ACCOR, TravelUp, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Payogan Villa Hotel Ubud
The Payogan Villa Resort And Spa
Payogan Hotel Ubud
The Payogan Hotel
The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing