We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit dirty, found cockroach on the room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa
Ranked #90 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A bit dirty, found cockroach on the room”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Breakfast is awful, not much food selection for a hotel described as 5 stars. View of hotel is very good with beautiful Ubud nature. Pool needs to be cleaned better. Totally not suitable if you want to stay there with small kids.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eureka3432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    152
    62
    40
    35
See reviews for
95
314
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Excellent location, nice people, ready to please you. Two types of villas, balinesse and minimalist, but stil keeping a combination of balinesse influence. Swimming pool villas okish, although for those who like swimming a perfect choice is the main pool who has also the priviledge of breath taking view. For dinner is better to choose from the Ubud multiple restaurant;

Room Tip: 304 is a new villa, in a private corner of the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

Our 1st impression was a good one. The place is set in beautiful surroundings. We stayed in a Balinese style villa with a pool.The place is looking a bit tired now with missing tiles and cracks in walls. There is green moss all over the outside areas, which while adding to the charm of the place it is a major slipping hazard around the pool and steps down to the villas. We were also bothered by cockroaches after heavy rain. In fairness they sprayed the room and even offered us a more modern villa but we chose to stick with the more traditional one. The pool bar area was dirty with a filthy old chopping board that we complained about...they couldn't see what the fuss was about. They are probably still using it? We were also bothered with the noise from the construction work. Really they should not be taking guests while it is going on. The toilets and showers for the pool area are totally dilapidated. The breakfast was average at best, as was the service. On a positive note the rooms had great character, the bed was very comfortable and having your own pool was a great bonus, however on the whole we were very disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teessider1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My wife and I were very much looking forward to our stay here. We were excited about staying in a villa with our own pool at the end of our honeymoon and just being able to relax amongst the serenity of Ubud for one whole week.

Upon arriving at Payogan, we were very impressed. The grounds are simply stunning; like out of a movie. You need only look at the pictures to see what I mean.

The trouble started when we were shown to our room. If you are short on time, just skip to the end of my essay!

We had just been instructed that there was some construction occurring at the resort but every effort had been taken to ensure we weren't disturbed. Upon arrival at our room, the sound of hammering, circular saws and workers yelling at each other was our welcome, and when we went outside to view the pool the construction was literally next door to our villa, with workers having a clear view to our pool and gazebo from the roof they were working on. We complained and were shown to another room that was incomplete, unfurnished and smelled very bad. We decided to return to the original room where I contacted our travel agent and requested we were transferred to a new resort but business was closed back home so we had to spend the night here. We had to get up in the middle of the night to put on insect repellant because we were covered in mosquito bites due to the doors not being sealed properly and the curtains around the bed failing to protect us due to the massive gap between the head of the bed and the wall. In the morning there were small animal droppings on the floor, presumably from geckos on the roof. The toilet wasn't flushing properly either. All in all, not the most romantic night we spent in Bali.

Also, construction starts at 7am (even though the staff say it starts at 9). When you are woken up on your relaxing honeymoon at 7am by sawing and hammering you get a bit angry.

As we had indicated our desire to leave the resort, we were offered a free meal or massage for every day of our stay and sincere apologies from the concierge. We were also told that we could swap rooms as soon as one became available. This seemed like a decent peace offering, but upon going to the restaurant we were given a special menu "for our benefit" which comprised of a small selection of basic pub-style meals, the kind that are pre-frozen and easily reheated. The food was bland and we were highly offended by this pathetic offering so elected to try a massage the next day.

The spa is run-down and in need of refurbishment. The massage therapist was possibly the rudest person we came across in Bali, barely speaking to or acknowledging my wife and I. She gave my wife the weakest massage where she barely applied any pressure. For the whole hour, there is not a word said except "turn over" and we are made to feel incredibly unwelcome. There are no nice smelling oils, the sheets on the bed are musty... this was the worst massage experience we had in Bali. And when it was over we were essentially kicked out of the door without even a goodbye. At this point we decided we would not accept the freebies offered to us by the resort. We preferred to leave as much as possible and pay for our meals and massages.

Fortunately we managed to get transferred to another room for the remainder of our stay. It was as far away from the construction as possible and although we could still hear it, it was mostly drowned out by the sound of the pool. The room was very nice and we were happy here but the room was obviously incomplete. The cabinets had yet to be installed in the bathroom, the room was unfurnished, light fittings were missing and the shower door was not attached properly. There wasn't even a hotel information book (eg with room service menu; and this took more than 24 hours and 3 phone calls to eventually obtain). Everything appeared to be going well though until I went to flush the toilet and.... no running water.

The lack of running water persisted for two days. Although the staff acted surprised when informed about it, as you can read from other reviews here it is a recurring problem. And when it was fixed our telephone stopped working. This was problematic as Payogan is quite a large complex on the side of the hill with many many steps. We couldn't order room service or make telephone calls to book restaurants or massages or even make simple enquiries or book the shuttle bus. We had to walk to the reception to do it (about five minute uphill walk).

Speaking of the shuttle bus it leaves maybe four times a day at very awkward times that force you to either stay at the resort to eat or to find your own way home.

A note on the staff: there were a couple of female workers here (notably the concierges and a young lady in the restaurant) who were absolutely lovely and sympathetic to our experience and tried everything within their power to make our stay more pleasant. The rest of the staff, however, appeared bored, disinterested and/or incompetent. For example, when dining in the restaurant, there was not one occasion where a staff member approached to ask if we wanted more drinks. At times, I had to stand up and wave to get their attention. One night as I was eating I watched a guest try to get the eye of the waiter for more than 15 minutes before giving up and angrily taking his dirty plates to the counter and demanding the bill. Another experience: my wife, at breakfast, politely asked if she could have a cappuccino and the response from the waitress was simply a very abrupt "no". Stunned, we had to enquire with the one nice waitress who explained that the coffee machine was broken.

The staff in the restaurant drag their feet and take forever to serve you when you ask them. They also appear to not be able to communicate. For example, ask for your eggs on brown bread and you can be sure you will get white. Decline a plate of fruit when ordering your breakfast and you will probably get one. They are not efficient either. For example, instead of providing you with the dessert menu as they clear the table, they clear the table, slowly take all the plates away, then slowly shuffle back with the dessert menu and leave you waiting until you wave at them to order. It just doesn't make sense. Nothing here makes sense!

Our experience of the restaurant was that the food (except breakfast and the menu "for our benefit") was decent with a very extensive menu consisting of mostly Indonesian, Vietnamese and Western foods. The main problems we had with the restaurant was the staff and also the fact that they could not offer a lot of the items on the menu. One night i was looking forward to the chocolate mousse i had ordered only for the waiter to return 10 minutes later saying that it "was finished" and i couldn't have it. On other occasions we had ordered cocktails to be told that there was no vodka or tequila left. This happened about three days into our stay, and they had still not replaced these items by the time we left. Further, the coffee machine was broken for the last three days of our stay and, again, not fixed by the time we left.

If you are planning on using the internet to plan your days while staying at Payogan, you will have to go to the lobby as you cannot access the wi-fi from the rooms.

Overall, this was a resort where everything just seemed to keep going wrong. We experienced the old and the new rooms here and can confirm all the problems that you read about in other reviews do occur. Are there positive aspects of Payogan? Yes, definitely; the rooms look as majestic as the views, you can eat a decent meal, there are some friendly staff members, the rooms are always made up nicely and very clean... But the construction ruins the ambience of the place, and the incompetence/disinterest of the staff make it very hard to relax. A bitterly disappointing end to our honeymoon.

Room Tip: The 100 and 200 block are right next to the construction. The two rooms we viewed on the 300 block w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

If you like peace and quiet, then this is the place to stay. The rooms were clean and spacious and the scenery stunning. It was a little bit remote but there were several shuttles into Ubud daily so it wasn't a problem. The construction work was going on while we were there and it really wasn't very noisy, so didn't cause a problem. The only issue we did have was that there wasn't a bar man there so we could not get any alcoholic drinks apart from beer or local wine. After a long flight and first day of your holiday the first thing you want when you arrive is a relaxing drink! This was very disappointing!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Enid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Paygon Villa is is an unpolished diamond
You are immediately impressed on entry - it is grand
The staff are very obliging; very helpful and responsive.
The rooms and areas are a little tired - but you do feel as you are in 5 star accommodation - just don't look too hard for you will see the strains of time in various areas.
We booked a twin family Villa for a week and were told on entry we had been upgraded to two villa's side by side. This was nice, but not what we really wanted as one of the kids was a little insecure about being separated (there is no interconnecting door) - it worked out for a couple of days but we found that our Villa overlooked construction; the construction worker could see us in our pool over their lunch and our bathroom had a foul smell from the bathroom of a night time. When raising this issue with management politely, we were immediately offered another upgrade (at no extra cost) which was grand for the kids and for us as parents. The Villa's were side by side, each had there own pool, sitting area and they did have a connecting door.
This worked out very well in the end.
Mind you, you could still see construction but it was less intrusive.
I would recommend Payogan but try and negotiate a good price as you may be put off by teh construction.
we could not fault the service
-- the breakfasts; they were huge and of good variation .

Do the rafting and elephants
try the local restaurants: Murnis (the spring roles!!!) , Dirty Duck, Naughty Nori's Pork Ribs
and for something different I highly recommend a day trip to Trunyan.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I was pleasantly suprised on my arrival to have been up graded from a garden villa to a pool one. Only thing is the aircon kept leaking and flooded my floor.
Great view and well maintained gardens.
I felt the special dining nights were pricey and you certainly get inundated with tour ideas, however, the gentle friendliness of the staff who coluld'nt do enough for you, compensated.
Yes there are alot of steps so if you are totally unfit...forget it.
Did'nt mind the geckos dropping in as it is a rainforest experience. Loved having an outside bath with incense and nice drink.

Room Tip: Go for the wonderful pool villa and romp naked around your own private complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.1 mi away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Furama Villas & Spa Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
2.4 mi away
Natura Resort and Spa
Natura Resort and Spa
#103 of 196 in Ubud
396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Puri Sebali Resort
Puri Sebali Resort
#39 of 196 in Ubud
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa

Property: The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa
Address: No. 77 Banjar, Bunutan, Desa Kedewatan, P.O. Box 999 Jln. Cocoa II 2, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#66 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#76 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Payogan Villa Resort And Spa
The Payogan Villa Hotel Ubud
Payogan Hotel Ubud
The Payogan Hotel
The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing