We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Payogan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa
Ranked #86 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
CT, U.S.A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Payogan”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I just returned from a 5 day stay at the Payogan with my husband and two children ( 5 and 3) and we could not have had a better time! From the moment we arrived, the staff were kind, courteous and nothing was too much trouble! From ferrying us around the beautiful grounds in their handy gold carts, to catering to my kids needs on occasion, this would be the perfect place to stay with kids, or without. Our villa was out of this world! Two huge bedrooms and an amazing outdoor area complete with a huge pool, pool loungers and even a pagoda where you could eat alfresco. The room was clean and tidy and they even provided a cot for my youngest which meant less for me to bring all the way there.

While we were staying at the Payogan, there was trouble with the hot water system. The staff were extremely apologetic and comped some meals and invited us to try their amazing spa. Needless to say, we thought we were staying in paradise! From the kindness and attentiveness of the staff to the wonderland of the actual hotel grounds (unique villas, views to the jungle, the huge infinity pool that provided hours of fun complete with swim up bar) we will be back. Not if, but when. This would also be the perfect place to bring lot of friends and bliss out here which is our plan for 2014.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank v_and_kCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    145
    58
    39
    34
See reviews for
92
303
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is where we started our honeymoon from and it couldn't have been better !
We had booked a private villa with a swimming pool. The rooms were archaic in design with high ceilings and wooden floor, overlooking paddy fields. The staff was extremely affable and courteous. There were golf carts to take us in and around the hotel. Private, peaceful and perfect for a romantic stay. Highly recommended :)

Room Tip: Considering the size of the room, the air condition did not seem to be very effective (So, not a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prachirashmi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We had a nightmare with the original hotel we booked in seminyak and decided to book a night up in Ubud at the payogan. We booked a pool villa. This is what a hotel should be like the world over. A massive room, separate shower and bathing area, separate toilet. A private sun bathing area and pool, with endless day beds to yourself.
The hotel is outside of the main area of ubud, but if like us you don't mind getting on a bike or bus. It is great. During our stay we maybe noticed 3-4 other guests. We loved it that much that we cancelled our reservation with another hotel and stayed for the rest of our trip.
The views from the restaurant or villa look into forest and paddy fields. I cannot describe how wonderful it is.
We will be back for sure, my second favorite hotel in the world now behind Santhiya in Thailand. Thank you to all the wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Room 105 or 106 are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My boyfriend and I had a lovely weekend staying at the Payogan.

I had read that there was some construction, but there was no noise and we weren't in contact with any workers. You can see some of the building that is going on but it didn't get in the way of the breathtaking views from our private pool.

We ate in their restaurant both nights and thought the food was lovely, we had complimentary cake, tea and breakfast.

The staff were very friendly and had great English. We ended up going on a rice fields tour with one of the workers from the hotel which we thoroughly enjoyed, if you have not seen them it is worth a visit.

We were allowed our room for two hours more without charge and could still use their facilities while we waited for our taxi to the airport. We were also given a beautiful spa room to freshen up before our flight.

It was very clean, there was however some yellow stains on one of the pillow cases. This did not bother us though.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

After checking in, I realized that this hotel was once was a luxury resort, somewhere between 4 to 5 star boutique resort. The resort area was quite large, very quiet and should be a perfect place for relaxation.
We stayed in a villa at the back, which had good views of the valley, but now the new under-construction villas are blocking the view. The bathroom was large, too large it seemed inefficient. The bedroom was great, in term of size, view, and the interior, although they could benefit from more lighting at night time.
The breakfast matched only a 3-star quality (bearing in mind that this resort listed itself as a 5-star in some online travel agents). Choices were limited and quality was average. Waiters and waitresses were slow in reacting to guests demands, in providing coffees/teas, or adding more spoons and forks before they ran out.
I woke up early that morning so I could swim first before breakfast, but was disappointed to find the common pool near the breakfast area quite dirty. Waited by the poolside until the pool cleaner guys finished his work. Was still dirty when he finished, so I changed my plan.
Overall, this was a nice resort, and it should still be a nice resort. The management hasn't been doing their job well. Falling leaves should be cleared daily so the resort area could remain clean and attractive. Pools should be maintained as attractive as possible. The service standards of the hotel team should be reviewed, so they could match a standard of 4-star.

Room Tip: There was a construction going on for newly appointed villas which can be disturbing at daytime and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regawa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stabling three weeks in Bali and we spent two days at Hotel The Pagoyan Resort. We enjoyed quality hotel for the reception of people, for cleanliness, for the comfort of the room and the beauty of the environment. If you want a moment of rest, Pagoyan Hotel The Resort is for you. See pictures that confirm this comment.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlitosMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We travelled in August 2013, we booked 3 different places to stay at just to try so we knew where to go next time we came.

We stayed here for four nights at the end of our Bali stay and I'm so glad we did. It gave us time to wind down out of the hustle and bustle of Kuta. Ubud is absolutely beautiful and a lot less commercialised, which is nice to see.

I was a bit worried at first when we were going through the village alley ways which all the stray dogs and such, wondering what we got ourselves into...then we came to the front gate entrance and the massive security gates opened up into another world, our jaws dropped. It was the bloody garden of Eden.

We were greeted by lovely staff who assisted us through a smooth and easy check in and showed us to our room.

We were gobsmacked when we were shown where we were staying, I was expected a room not a mansion, it was massive. We stayed in a very spacious "Private pool villa" - definitely worth the bit extra and staying in this rather than a garden villa. It was better than the pictures in the travel brochure ( I think it was one of the newer rooms).

The villa was some-what traditional with a modern twist. We had our own infinity pool, outdoor dining area, a balcony seating area looking over the valley and big gates to look the world out. Very private!

On our first night we went to the 'Satay Night' which was very nice and worth the money, the free happy hour was great too!

The only faults:

->There was construction going on - they are building more villas so workmen were about ( approx. two villas away, we could see them from our pool and our windows) This impacted on our amount of privacy.
-> Room service menu extremely limited, when you have a beautiful villa like we did you don't want to really go anywhere you want to enjoy it so room service comes in handy.
-> Breakfast seemed to be cold/stale every morning.
->Wifi was non existent.

The quality of the accommodation and service from the staff outweighed the negatives though.
You will notice the language barrier become more prominent out this way though, was hard at times communicating over the phone - may be it was our Aussie accent LOL.

Overall, a good stay and would stay again, really hope they add to the room service menu and finish the construction by then though.

Room Tip: Private pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy92y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.1 mi away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#26 of 198 in Ubud
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
1.3 mi away
The Lokha Ubud
The Lokha Ubud
#58 of 198 in Ubud
594 reviews
0.5 mi away
Puri Sebali Resort
Puri Sebali Resort
#40 of 198 in Ubud
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa

Property: The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa
Address: No. 77 Banjar, Bunutan, Desa Kedewatan, P.O. Box 999 Jln. Cocoa II 2, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#62 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#73 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Payogan Villa Resort And Spa
The Payogan Villa Hotel Ubud
Payogan Hotel Ubud
The Payogan Hotel
The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing