We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel was amazing and so were the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa
Ranked #89 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel was amazing and so were the staff”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We arrived at this hotel and were instantly blown away by the surroundings, the hotel has a very relaxed vibe. We started off in a Garden view room, but after having a little nose around the resort me and my friend decided we wanted to live like celebrities for a couple of days and asked to upgrade to a villa with a pool. The hotel manager was very sweet and allowed us to look at a number of the villa before deciding which one we'd like to upgrade too! The villa we chose in the end was AMAZING!! The buffet breakfast set us up for the day and the hotel staff were very chatting and accommodating. I'd highly highly highly recommend this hotel!! we didn't want to leave come the end of our holiday! Also FYI taxi from Ubud to the hotel takes about 15 mins and you can get them down to 50,000rp

Room Tip: Villa with a pool is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becka C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    143
    58
    39
    34
See reviews for
91
297
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

If you arrive at the payogan the very friendly staff is waiting for you to make sure everything is ok! They check you in and take you to your room.

We had a private poolvilla (303) which was really nice. If you just don't mind the little details. The private pool is great. We had a lovely time. The breakfast is also very nice.

The resort is a little bit old and need some maintenaince in the rooms and the resort itself. We had some cracks in the wall and the pool was clean but had cracks as well.

Our bathroom had a really bad smell. When we told the staff they showed us some other rooms, great service! We decided to keep the room we initially had and they gave us a airfreshener to use! Great and consideret.

It is a lovely hotel and if you do not have the funds to affort a Hilton or 4seasons hotel this is a good alternative. We felt as king and qeeun with our own private pool!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dnies1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed 4 nights in a pool villa. Pool was great size. Stunning ambience, big 4 poster comfortable bed. Fantastic views of jungle valley. Was a bit dubious reading other comments re construction work etc. It was still happening when we were there but had little impact on us, in fact was quite interesting to watch. Very friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again. Recommend Koki Restaurant in main street of Ubud. Best brushietta I've ever had.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussie_Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel is impressive. The design and landscaping of the swimming pool area looking out over the valler and rice paddies beyong is breathtaking. We stayed in a villa with a private pool. The villa was spacious and clean with a large very comfortable bed. The villa had no privacy though and staff could walk right up to the door of the bedroom without knocking. There was a lovely outside shower which I would have lovedto use but couldn't due to the lack of privacy.
The service was good. Breakfast was a bit disappointing - especially the presence of canned fruits. Shame since Ubud is a tropical paradise where fresh fruit is so abundant.
I would definitely return to this hotel but would request a more private villa.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa with private entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This resort is just amazing! It looks like an old temple and it feels like you have fallen into a videogame or something unreal. It's great when it's sunny but when it's raining it sort of suits the whole environment and it's just great to watch the views from your room or the restaurant. Location is prefect. Rooms are great with nice views. Bed is great. Bathroom amazing with a very large tub (me and my boyfriend fitted in there easily and we are quite tall - 180cm and 190cm) Staff is very friendly. Food was good, breakfast very nice as well.

Only downside, they where having constructions done right under our villa. They 'only' started at 7.30 and stopped at 4.30. I paid quite some money for a private pool so we could relax in privacy, but now couldn't because of the noise. On the other hand the renovation works are welcome because the resort could use some updating. So go when constructions are over or ask for a room far away from it.

Also, the spa staff wasn't really friendly and quite rough (even after asking for a lighter pressure), but I like it REALLY soft.

Overall a spectacular resort!

Room Tip: Private pool not per se necessary for the main pool is not that occupied. Resort was fully booked wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank novemberapril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Our three night stay at this Resort was very relaxing indeed. We were treated to a villa with our own private swimming pool, complete with a fantastic bed. (We were told the villa had only been built a year ago.) Only disappointment with the villa was there were no comfortable chairs to lounge around in! All the staff we encountered were very helpful with our requests. Although the Resort itself is very old, we had everything we needed to make for a relaxing stay. Beware the walk and stairs to breakfast ...great way to walk off what you indulge in, though we did notice some people relied on being picked up by the resort staff in a golf cart. Although a 10 minute drive to the centre of Ubud, there was a shuttle bus provided by the hotel every 2 hours, or you could pay 50,000 Rupiah for a one way fare and then negotiate a taxi back from Ubud for much the same.

Room Tip: To completely relax and enjoy the Payogan experience, I'd suggest treating yourself to a one bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsauken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We recently returned from a 3 night stay at the Payogan. We stayed in Villa 301, a one bedroom with an infinity pool. The room was very spacious, and clean and the view was breath taking. Upon our arrival, we checked in with Dian. I mentioned to her that our luggage did not make it to our destination. She went above and beyond and worked very hard with the airline to locate our luggage and was successful. As for the rest of the staff, we could not have been better accommodated. Our driver Wayan, was always there for us and was very knowledgeable. He took us to various places around Ubud, showed us the volcano and the coffee plantation.
The spa was beautiful, with an amazing view, and friendly staff. The grounds are very lush but very well maintained.
I would highly recommend this resort,as the staff and the beautiful villa we stayed in made our stay perfect!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barcelona46725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
4.9 mi away
Furama Villas & Spa Ubud
0.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
4.4 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.5 mi away
Jungle Retreat by Kupu Kupu Barong
2.4 mi away
Natura Resort and Spa
Natura Resort and Spa
#102 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa

Property: The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa
Address: No. 77 Banjar, Bunutan, Desa Kedewatan, P.O. Box 999 Jln. Cocoa II 2, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#62 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#76 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Payogan Villa Hotel Ubud
The Payogan Villa Resort And Spa
Payogan Hotel Ubud
The Payogan Hotel
The Payogan Villa Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing