We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful...duplex room is great”
Review of Tegal Sari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tegal Sari
Ranked #32 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful...duplex room is great”
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Very belatedly, I'm posting a long overdue review of our visit to Tegal Sari in September 2010. So many good things have already been said about this wonderful place. I'll simply endorse them all, while adding a few additional comments:

1. My wife and I stayed at three other places in Bali and loved them all. But simply in terms of value, Tegal Sari was the best. The others all cost twice as much or more. TS delivered a stay just as nice. And the view from our balcony overlooking the rice fields was priceless.
2. Speaking of which, we highly recommend the duplex unit if you can get it. Not only due you have the wonderful (sunset) view over the rice field, but you also get sunrise over the rice field on the other side. In other words, a wonderful two-way view.
3. I've read great things about the new villas on the property. I didn't get a chance to look inside them, but passing by them from the outside they look very nice. Still, if price and/or views are a priority, I'd recommend the duplex since it is less expensive and (unlike the villas) looks our on the nicer of the two rice fields.
4. In preparing for this trip, I've read different things about how far TS is from the Monkey Forest, the center of town, etc. It's been several months so my recollection isn't precise. But still, I'd say both were easily walkable for us--perhaps 15 minutes to the Monkey Forest and 25 to the center of town??? And you can get a taxi to take you to or fro if necessary (though be advised that sometimes walking can almost be faster when traffic is bad).
5. In fact, I'd say the location of TS is great in terms of having the rice field views but still being walking distance to many parts of Ubud.
6. As for Ubud itself...yes, it's touristy and yes, parts are crowded. But it still has lots of charm and lots of spots where you can easily get off the beaten track five minutes from the main road. In other words, it's well worth a visit.
7. The staff of TS are wonderful. Both friendly and efficient. And in fact, they went above and beyond the call of duty one day when I needed some attention for a relatively minor medical problem that I wanted treated sooner rather than later (to make that long story short). Even though it was pretty early in the morning, they promptly called a nearby medical clinic (actually, walking distance from TS) and arranged a ride over there. My point is that there service and hospitality go beyond mundane matters.
8. One very small quibble is that the internet access is from a computer in the small library above the reception area and you have to sit on the floor in a (for me) slightly uncomfortable way to use it. Maybe an actual chair and table would be better?

Still, take that last point as just the quibble it is. This is a wonderful place, and one of the best values in Bali.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,187
    305
    31
    10
    15
See reviews for
348
639
167
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Plympton SA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We spent ten nights in the Tegal Sari, including Nyepi Day, and the experience was great.
During our time there we stayed in three different rooms, since I booked a bit late- a year in advance is not excessive, as it's fantastically busy- and so we saw a bit of what the place has to offer.
We started off with the airport pickup, which was very prompt and cost about the same as a taxi, and sat back in airconditioned comfort for the ride back to Ubud. Since we arrived before the usual checkin time, they kept our cases while we had lunch at their little restaurant.
Our first stop was the Garden Room, one of the deluxe rooms, and it was very nice We were there for 4 nights, and the only thing I didn't like was that it's a split-level room. It's very attractive and beautifully appointed: I just don't like steps in the bedroom!
After that we spent one night in a super deluxe room with ricefield views.Again, a tastefully appointed and well-serviced room, with a lovely outlook.
For our last five nights we were in a superior room- this is the cheapest option- and it was great! There were no steps to navigate, and the views were lovely.
Next time, if I can't have the Wooden Room, I'll go for the superior.
The service is excellent. The rooms have safes, which is handy, and we had breakfast at the hotel every day. They exchange money at a very good rate, without any of the risks you take of being swindled at the street money-changers. The laundry service is very good and fast (same day), and we missed it after we left.
The rooms and bathrooms are clean, the courtesy car service is very good, and security is unobtrusive but seems effective.
I would have liked to be able to make more use of the facilities and services offered by the Tegal Sari, but since we had prebooked a driver, we weren't able to avail ourselves of many of their offers.
Their staff are delightful, very helpful and nice people.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyFidella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in October. This was the most amazing, romantic, gorgeous place, with a beautiful energy all around. The staff were helpful and efficient, and made our stay a fantastic one.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi1074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2011

What can I say, the villa was mindblowing! We had just driven up from Amed and what better way to unwind than cannonball into your own private pool!! The room - Villa Sarang Bamboo, was out of this world - Big windows on all four sides, a separate kitchen by the pool, the private pool, an exclusive spa room and best of it all - an outdoor loo! I was close to attaining nirvana, taking a dump in the outdoor loo... looking at the trees, the green grass, little birds chirping away... Man, it was awesome! The only thing is the villa is quite new and the bamboo surrounding the villa is not very tall yet. So there is a remote chance that some unlucky chap could have spotted me in full glory! I guess by now, the bamboo would have grown! Didn't explore the rest of the resort since we had everything in our villa and the fact that the main street was just a minute away. Ubud was fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We decided to return to TS after enjoying our previous stay so much in 2009. This time round we were lucky enough to stay for just over 3 weeks in a deluxe wooden room (same one as before).

The staff were fantastic. My wife became quite ill on arrival and the staff organised the local doctors visit. They were very caring and considerate, leaving us alone when required but always there if we needed anything. The reliable drivers were available to take us to the SOS clinic in Kuta a few times the following week. We won't go on about how great TS is because we know it is. Yes, it's maybe not like the Four Seasons, but in terms of the staff, room standards, service, friendliness and efficiency it is spot on. We know which we would choose.

We have just read through a few of the old reviews, and we are sorry to say that some of them niggle us. Having spoken to a lot of the TS staff (who we have to tell you remembered us from our previous stay) we feel that we should write something on their behalf.

Some reviews stated the long delays on answering emails. The reception staff have to deal with hundreds of emails besides dealing with their paying guests and many other jobs. If it was a chain hotel that's easy, central reservations deal with it all. This is a very small hotel with staff that do everything and we mean everything. They all multi task, from reception, cleaning, driving, gardening and maintenance etc etc etc. Get the picture. We think it works really well. So please, if they take a couple of days to answer chill out, you should be booking well in advance anyway for this place. Also their policy of pre payment is what they do to keep your booking. Until you've paid the room's not yours. So get a move on or be prepared to loose out. We paid a year in advance for our last stay, were we bothered about that, no, they have a good cancellation policy. Think of it as less to pay when you check out, spread the cost instead of grumbling!

Some have mentioned old buildings, out dated rooms etc. The rooms are kept really clean and they have a good maintenance program. Please, if you find it hard to cope without the latest TV, the very very odd bit of flaky paint, a bathroom odour (never had one myself) or something similar, don't come. It leaves the regulars and others that really love this place more availability. Our room was gorgeous. A four poster with nets hung on it, so big and comfortable. A step down to the sitting area and then glass doors onto the balcony, it was very spacious. In fact the layout reminded us of our room at the Shangri La Rasa Ria hotel in Borneo.

We woke up one morning to find an awful lot of ants near the door and on the balcony due to the heavy rain the night before. We told reception and while we were out the problem had been totally sorted. We never saw them again. We loved seeing the cekaks (small versions of geckos) running around and some of the birds were really beautiful. On one occasion a troop of monkeys appeared from the forest and on another a single old monkey wandered around the rice field. Talking of the rice field, in the 3 weeks we were there we saw most of the rice process from stomping in the old greenery, rotovating and then planting. The ducks and their "handlers" made us chuckle more than once.

Ubud is a lovely town, yes it's more commercialised now than years ago but not many places have escaped that. You can still experience the culural side with dances, painting, silversmithing etc. One staff member told us that years ago all the shops on Monkey Forest Rd were open, like the market stalls. We didn't come across any "hard sell" in fact the shop staff were very relaxed and friendly to us. We found the restaurants to be fairly priced and a lot cheaper than the UK depending on how much you ordered. Our favourites were Warung Enak, Siam Sally and The Three Monkeys. Lamak was excellent as well but a bit more pricey. The food in TS is pretty good too. They have an excellent room service menu and it is delivered very cheerfully to your balcony. The older restaurant is quite cute and quaint whilst the larger new one is very trendy.

The new reception area on Monkey Forest Rd looks very modern. If you are using the hotel transport they can pick you up from either there or the parking area at the other reception.

All in all TS is an excellent place to stay. You feel welcomed by the staff and they enjoy talking to you. We would have no hesitation in recommending this wonderful hotel. Ten out of ten, well done Wayan, Ketut, Nyoman, Astana and all the others whose names we have for the moment forgotten. Thank you for a wonderful stay, best regards to you all.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HarryKensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2011

i realy enjoy and happy stay at tegal sari
1st day- wooden room
2nd day - duplex room

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seng03262002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Beautiful and peaceful. Fabulous breakfasts on the patio in the mornings. Great service and a wonderful setting. One of the best lodging deals in Ubud.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyingjbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 198 in Ubud
587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#53 of 198 in Ubud
508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 198 in Ubud
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#55 of 198 in Ubud
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#29 of 198 in Ubud
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Property: Tegal Sari
Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#9 Family Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#27 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tegal Sari 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tegal Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing