We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel I have ever stayed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tegal Sari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tegal Sari
Ranked #32 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best hotel I have ever stayed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Review from May 2011. We booked Tegal Sari already 7 months beforehand. We stayed in the duplex room which is the most expensive and the best villa of the original Tegal Sari (nowadays Tegal Sari owns also another property next to original Tegal Sari). The villa was marvelous. Best quality for the money (Rp 750,000 + 10% tax excluding breakfast)! Excellent breakfast with some extra money. The private Jacuzzi was no lovely and romantic! Service was excellent and fee drop-off and pick-up to an from Performance Kecak Ramayana and Fire Dance show was so nice. Perfect location near to the Monkey Park and walking distance from the city center. I don't find any complains.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReikoSan_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,162
    296
    31
    10
    15
See reviews for
344
623
163
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
132 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed at Tegal Sari in late August for four nights and then again at the end of our trip in early September for four nights. During the first half, we stayed in an older Super Delux Room (upstairs in room 12) and then during the second half we stayed in the "Duplex", room 14. Both of the rooms had amazing rice field and Monkey Forest views. The Duplex is a two level room with a private outdoor jacuzzi downstairs. If I had to choose between the two, I would pick the Duplex for the jacuzzi and privacy. The rooms were always incredibly well cleaned each day with fresh linens. The hotel restaurant delivered our drinks, meals or snacks promptly and we really liked the morning breakfasts. The hotel library is well stocked with books and there is a computer upstairs if needed. We were pleasantly suprised that the water cooler was free to refill our water bottles and there is free transportation to the market area of Ubud both ways if you would like. We ate at Mozaic restaurant on three occassions and transport there was only 50,000 rp. The only thing we had to complain about the entire time was the Wi-Fi (free) was spotty and we would lose connection frequently. The reception desk team was always helpful with dining recommendations, Balinese dance entertainment suggestions and transported us into Legian three times for 60,000 rp an hour to visit a tailor there to have some leather coats made. We felt the transportation fees were very reasonable and when we mentioned that we were planning on buying spices at the Ubud market, our driver, Ketut, mentioned that spices were much less expensive at the LotteMart near Legian. He took us there, helped us get the spices and they were much cheaper. That's the way the people of Tegal Sari are. Always helpful, courteous and they absolutely go the extra mile to make the holiday more enjoyable. The newer restaurant which fronts on Monkey Forest road had great food and a view of the local tourists when we ate there one evening.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pdxfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biella
Level Contributor
225 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Just few minutes walk from the monkey forest Tegal Sari is a very good choice for your stay in Ubud. Luxury rooms (but with affordable price) overlooks the rice fields, have a really nice and relaxing veranda and a confortable king size bed. Reception staff is efficient and can easily arrange for you the transport to the airport, tickets for a dance performance or a taxi to go around for a little personalised tour.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

This is our 4th trip to Ubud and this time we stayed at the Tegal Sari with the recommendation of our neighbours. We stayed in a superior room for the 1st n which was very clean and comfy... then moved to the wooden room (for a 1000,000rp more)
.............well what a great feeling this house on stilts has with a great view of the rice paddy's and monkey forest, it felt very private ......you also woke with this view as your bed is elevated and facing your balcony, nice big bath also. Excellent service..........nice walk to shops and they also offer free transport to town. They are building new town houses which are the same design and look fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gizmoPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

This place exceeded our expectations! After reading some of the reviews on here that the place was "a bit out of the way" we expected to have to wait for ages for a shuttle or hike for miles! It was a fifteen minute stroll into the city - and when we didn't feel like the walk, shuttles were a maximum wait of about 5-10! The staff were so friendly and helpful!
The view from our room and our friends' room were perfect - overlooking rice paddies and the monkey forest!
Will be back next time were in Bali, for sure!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Es_awesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

This place lived up to its reviews, its cheap, the staff are lovely, its beautifully done, with stunning views from your porch out over the rice paddy. Its right in town near to lots of restaurants. The swimming pool is small but adequate, especially nice after a day of roaming the streets of ubud. I would defintely stay here again, remember to book in advance as it does book out.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in August 2011. The hotel was recommended by a friend. We walked in and couldn't believe the view! The hotel sits right next to a rice paddy, so the view is phenomenal! We stayed in a super deluxe room for the 1st three nights, then the superior with twin bed the last night. (we had to switch rooms because when we booked the hotel was almost fully booked, so they offered us to switch rooms to allow us to stay more night).

The Superior deluxe was great! It had a nice king size bed and a large bathroom with a nice large tub (2 people can fit). The terrace looked out onto the rice paddy and was a nice private area. There were big comfy chairs so we could sit there in the early morning and just enjoy the peace and quite, or at night time relax before bed. This place is like staying in your own secluded villa somewhere. The Superior with twin beds was great! The beds are not twins (according to US Standards). The beds were double, so 2 could easily fit!

They say there are a lot of mosquitos there because it is right on the rice paddy, but we didn't have any problems. They provided a citronella candle for the outdoors, and this thing you plug in indoors. We used both repellants and didn't have any problems with mosquitos in or outdoors.

Also, you have to check out their spa. they offer services right at the hotel, or they provide free transport to their spa about 2 min from the hotel. The spa is called Pertenin. We had massages off sight and right at the hotel. I had a mani/pedi for my first service, and since it was so good, I scheduled the balinese massage for my 2nd service. My husband had 2 balinese massages and he loved them as well!

Overall the staff was very accommodating. We thought it would be annoying to switch rooms, but all we had to do was pack our bags, and they moved everything into the next room for us (including the water and beer we had in the fridge). They were helpful with any questions we had about the hotel, transportation, or the area!

We did eat breakfast at the hotel once. Great food!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frogger17a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#57 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#50 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#46 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Property: Tegal Sari
Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#9 Family Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#26 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tegal Sari 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tegal Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing