We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Firm Favourite”
Review of Tegal Sari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tegal Sari
Ranked #33 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Firm Favourite”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Just been to Tegal Sari again for my upteenth visit. You will not find friendlier, more obliging staff anywhere. Their attention to detail is fantastic and as far as wonderful value for money is concerned, you will not find it anywhere else. Well done to all the staff who are so attentive, keep the grounds so beautiful and are always ready to oblige. Treat yourself to a massage at the outdoor massage spa overlooking the rice paddies. If I cant get accommodation at Tegal Sari for the dates I am looking for, I change my flights ;-). Thank you Wayan, Indra, Pratiwi, Muning and ALL the wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Super Deluxe room No. 8 is my favourite or the Wooden Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PonkySouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,200
    308
    32
    10
    15
See reviews for
353
642
168
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We booked and paid our room (superior with double bed) from February 2012 and we had to customize our itinerary just to fit in to the room availability. The booking was handled very good by the staff. We mentioned that it will be our "honeymoon" gateway and to our surprise, the decorated the bed with towel swan & rose petals! We were so happy and immediately fell in love with Tegal Sari. The place is so peaceful and definitely the right sanctuary for honeymooners. We could hear the duck quacking, the birds chirping and the view of the padi field is just too awesome!

The staff was very friendly & helpful, even-though we're Indonesian (since most of the guests are westerners, Japanese or Chinese). The room is very clean, we even thought it was the cleanest room we've ever been to. The breakfast tasted nice and the price is very reasonable. We could never get enough of their Pineapple Jam. We even had a massage by the pool, superb masseuses came from their Pertenin Spa with only IDR 85.000 + 10% tax and it was so good, we fell asleep!

They have free shuttle all around Ubud so we could be drop and pick up whenever we need to go out for lunch or dinner or shopping. But they also have a back door to Monkey Forest street if we want to take a walk and enjoy the city by foot.

All in all, it was the best moment of our trip. Would definitely stay here again. We even plan our next trip already!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our stay in Superior, but would definitely go back to try the Wooden room. The waiting li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nanushka247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

Staff are friendly, service is exceptional, rooms are very clean, environment is fantastic, location is perfect and meals are a delight.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gangus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed here early April and had such a lovely stay with our 20 month old boy Joe. Staff couldn't be nicer, very child friendly and great location near to the centre and yoga barn (which has lots of classes running everyday)
Great pick-up from airport too. Thanks to all the staff.
Katy, Jim and Joe from London xx

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katypotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wentzville, Missouri, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

My daughters and I stayed here in February. Watched them plant rice. Beautiful place, staff was great. Very customer friendly. Watched out for us and anything we wanted or needed was no problem for the staff. Life is at a slower pace than I am used to, which means it was a great place to relax. Would love to have another watermelon juice and some of their yummy homemade pineapple preserves. We even took some home. I would stay here again, absolutely loved every minute.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I stayed there two years ago and it was absolutely fantastic value for money. It only has 27 rooms and is very popular. They have really marvellous rooms to deluxe rooms and you have to book and pay well in advance. I was lucky enough to get in again this year. Last year, they were full.

Room Tip: You have a better view on the second floor but take the more expensive rooms if you want to spoil yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judymollison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

The Tegal Sari is a wonderfully unique hotel within easy walking distance of Ubud centre yet set in a peaceful spot surrounded by rice fields. The hotel consists of a series of individual buildings set along a small strip of land. We stayed in the two-storey duplex which, upstairs, has a large bedroom with four-poster bed and a huge balcony overlooking the rice fields. Downstairs is another outdoor seating area, shower room and massive jacuzzi. The balcony is a great place to take the very good breakfast, although by the time it was delivered to the room it had become a little cold. Breakfast is not included in the room rate so we also took breakfast in the excellent nearby Pond Restaurant. A great hotel in a great place! If you are travelling to Ubud, stay at the Tegal Sari.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardRJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 196 in Ubud
598 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#53 of 196 in Ubud
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#41 of 196 in Ubud
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#55 of 196 in Ubud
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#28 of 196 in Ubud
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Property: Tegal Sari
Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#9 Family Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#28 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tegal Sari 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tegal Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing