We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Justifiably booked up months ahead”
Review of Tegal Sari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tegal Sari
Ranked #30 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2012

What terrific value and terrific rooms.
We emailed a fe days ahead and they had just one room left ... A super deluxe wooden room (20) and it was phenomenal.
A massive room with a lovely 4 poster bed surrounded by mosquito nets, a lovely balcony overlooking the paddy fields, even a tub with a view!
Such a comfy bed and the balcony was a great place to hang out in the afternoon and read or relax.
The room had a great little mini bar, a book with local info and even a settee inside and was huge for just the two of us.
Set about a 20 minute walk from Ubud Palace and 5 minutes from the Monkey Forest it's a great location, very peaceful, but not too far from anything and if you don't fancy the walk the staff can organise a shuttle drop into town with about half an hour's notice.
For us it was the best of both worlds.
The staff helped us organise tickets for local shows, transport into town, our fast boat to the Gilis, you name it they could organise it.
All of them speak very good English, and Nyoman who collected us from Seminyak was so helpful and informative ... During our 2 hour trip to Ubud he gave us lots of information and advice without being obtrusive, and couldn't have been more helpful during our stay.
All the staff here are exceptional dans more than happy to help with whatever you need.
Next time we'll book with more notice so we can stay a little longer ... It's a massive thumbs up from us!

Room Tip: Check out the website ... They have reasonable photos of all the rooms but we were mor impressed in...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,584)
There are newer reviews for Tegal Sari
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

717 - 723 of 1,584 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed 1 night in a rice field facing superior room back in September. Hotel is locted about 15-20 min walk from the City (which can be a pretty long walk under the hot sun!) but the hotel can also arrange car transport within the City area if you prebook a couple of hours ahead. Walking back at night seemed to be safe and there is a supermarket just on the main road. Access to rice paddy fields. We strolled in around sunset - no tourists, just us and a couple of locals doing their own thing. Our room was facing the fields and it was very nice having breakfast out on the terrace. Service was good. The staff was accommodating and always greet you with a smile. One of their staff came over to our room to take our breakfast order because we didn't fully understand the reception on the phone. Room was basic (I don't recall having a TV but we didn't need it anyway). It was not fanciful but it was air-conditioned, clean and spacious. Wifi was a bit weak in the room though.

All in all, great value for money. We stayed at a couple more expensive places in Bali. I would say Tegal Sari provided a similar level of service but at a much much much lower price!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ryky20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012 via mobile

We spent 2 nights at Tegal Sari and were very pleased with it. The room was big and clean and comfortable with a beautiful view of the rice paddies and the staff were all so lovely and helpful.

The little hotel has lovely grounds and gardens. and a cute little pool area too.

It's an easy walk to the Monkey Forest through the back entrance and there are heaps of restaurants close by out the front (check out Mama Mia).

Massage treatments are crazy cheap and can be done in your room, or in a little house by the pool.

For the price, this is an awesome place, recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingWordSlinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Stayed 5 nights in a downstairs bungalow (31) with 2 adults and 2 children (11 and 14), it was awesome. Cannot beat waking up to such a beautiful peaceful view over the rice paddies. Very quiet and serene, away from any road noise. The rooms are huge, plenty of room for a queen bed and two singles, along with a lovely sitting area to relax and enjoy the view within the confines of the air conditioning. The bathroom was fantastic with a huge shower, and a spa bath overlooking the rice paddies. Each bungalow was very private from the others due to the beautiful gardens. Loved our own balcony, relaxed and read our books in the afternoon. The pool is a gem, and the restaurant(s) served excellent food at a very reasonably price. The staff were very very friendly and happy to assist at any time, and serviced our room to perfection every day. We made great use of the free shuttle which was a real bonus. Only suggestion would be a few more sun lounges around the pool. An absolute gem of a place for a very very reasonable price.Thank-you for such a memorable stay, we will be back!

Room Tip: Request a newer bungalow. Downstairs is great if you have children or alot of baggage.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psmith60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Just got back from Tegal Sari a day ago. It was my 2nd stay.. and still in love with this place. Staying in Tegal Sari is a complete 'package' for a memorable Ubud vacation. Breathtaking view to the paddy field, right in front of your room's terrace/ balcony. Clean and spacious room. Good value for money. Good services; the staffs are friendly, free shuttle service within Ubud center area. Perfect location; it's within walking distance to the monkey forest, Ubud center, shops, eateries and the Yoga Barn (only 3-5 minutes walking)! If you're not in the mood for walking around outside, Tegal Sari is the perfect hotel to 'waste' your time. I spent the 2nd day at the hotel just to enjoy the room, swimming & sunbathing at the pool, being massaged, ordered foods from the room & took a nap on the day-bed (which facing to the paddy field). It was amazing, I wish I could stay longer. I love Tegal Sari so much! Definitely will go back and suggest it to everyone visiting Ubud.

Room Tip: almost every room has an incredible view to the paddy field, but I'd recommend the wooden room f...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhianita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Located very close to the heart of the City of Ubud and within walking distance of the Monkey Forest. Offer a 24/7 shuttle service to and from the centre which is free. Staff are extremely polite and helpful, rooms are very clean and views are impeccable. Despite being so close to the city centre rooms look onto an unobstructed view of rice fields. Highly reccomend this hotel to anyone travelling to Ubud since i felt that we were given more than what we paid for!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I'd suggest this place. Worth a stay. Beautiful room, great location and good service. Rice field is just in front of our room. It takes short walk to shopping street. Try Balinese massage for your experience too. We just love it!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toonier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#58 of 199 in Ubud
614 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#53 of 199 in Ubud
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#97 of 199 in Ubud
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#56 of 199 in Ubud
554 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#43 of 199 in Ubud
379 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#31 of 199 in Ubud
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#9 Family Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#24 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £4 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tegal Sari 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tegal Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing