We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the hype is true, but...”
Review of Tegal Sari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tegal Sari
Ranked #32 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“All the hype is true, but...”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We enjoyed our anniversary stay but soon after checking in discovered it wasn't going to be entirely peaceful rice field views. Directly behind our Super Deluxe room (upstairs # 28) there was a bamboo scaffolded worksite with incessant hammering and sawing(between 8am and 5pm anyway). There was one night where hammering maintenance on an adjacent room was undertaken as well. Forget about an afternoon nap or nodding off on the balcony daybed!

I guess you can't begrudge progress but it would have been nice if we were informed and had had a choice of upstairs room(we were offered an older downstairs room on day 2) away from the villa construction. We did book back in January after all!

Room Tip: I'd think twice about rooms 24-32 and, probably, the villas which are in earshot of the construc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zozo1725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,193
    305
    32
    10
    15
See reviews for
350
642
167
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bergen
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We went to Ubud with our daughter due to her interest for yoga. She had lived in Bali for over two years and spent 1 month in Ubud and learned yoga. Word of mouth by friends had made her try at that time to book a room for one month, Tegal Sari was so fully booked that only a few days was available. Our daughter wanted us to visit Ubud and the nearby temples during our Bali visit. She contacted Tegal Sari and they had rooms available 16th. of October for 1 night. When we arrived, we could understand why it was so popular.. Tegal Sari is truly a little paradise, clean; neat and relaxing resort.They are mostly two story individual cottages,very balinese and situated in beautiful gardens with perfect relaxing views over the green rice fields. We stayed on the second floor in a beautiful deluxe room / suite with a big balcony overlooking the mentioned rice fields. The rooms was huge, bright and modern, bathroom was also huge with a double bath tube and separate shower.

The pool area is small but looked very nice, we did not have time to use it.

The staff at Tegal Sari are fabulous, they cannot do enough to make your stay comfortable, relaxing and memorable.

We had breakfast at their little restaurant at the front. You can choose from set or a la carte, we ordered a la carte set menu nr.1, a great breakfast.

The resort is very close to the main area of Ubud. You can just walk out onto Monkey forest road and 15 minute walk around to main shops and restaurants. If you walk, be aware of the many holes in the sidewalks, especially when dark. You can do serious damage to yourself if you fall down in the holes.

The Tegal Sari staff are always ready to drop you off or pick up free of charge. The staff drove us back to Jimbaran for a very reasonable price.

We can highly recommend Tegal Sari. Thank you Tegal Sari, you made us miss Bali when we returned home to cold Norway.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaxels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I had booked the Villa Sarang Bambu which is a villa for 2 with a private pool. It's amazing and absolutely clean even in the outdoor areas. There's a veranda for a private massage for 2. I paid 3.3 million for 2 nights stay without breakfast which I think is reasonable price. Set breakfast cost 65,000 excluding taxes and include eggs of your choice, toast, grilled tomatoes, sauteed mushrooms, baked beans, sausage, bacon, a glass of fresh food juice and a cappucino which is not expensive at all. The only thing that I do not like is that someone still came to makeup my room when I was out even though I had the privacy sign hanged at my villa entrance. This is as good as invading your own privacy and you may have left your money around in the villa. The upper floor balcony of the 2-storey villa next door can also overlook to your pool. It's awkward to have someone looking at you when when you are sunbathing at the pool and not forgetting you have paid to have your own private villa. Other than these, this villa is perfect. Forget about eating at their restaurant though, you have much better choices outside. The villa is also located at the hotel exit near the monkey forest road compared to the other exit at the reception. Bebek Bengil, the famous dirty duck is just 5-10 mins walk on the right from the hotel exit near the villa, next to the 2-storey Coco supermarket. Turn left after exit if you need to head to Monkey Forest.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmurfSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We went to Ubud not expecting too much and thought we may have overbooked with 6 nights. What a lovely surprise with what we found. Tegal Sari is truly a little paradise, and is by far the cleanest.neatest and most relaxing place i have stayed in Bali. There is an assortment of accommodation to choose from and any one of them would be great.They are mostly two story individual cottages,very balinese and situated in beautiful gardens with perfect relaxing views over the green paddy fields.
The pool area is small but very nice. You can phone for pool service if desired.A fabulous massage hut next to the pool and also an outdoor gym for your workouts. The pool area was always quiet and relaxing with sun beds available.
The fabulous staff at Tegal Sari are second to none and cannot do enough to make your stay comfortable,relaxing and memorable without intruding into your space.
We stayed in a Super Deluxe room downstairs The rooms are huge,bright,modern and with everything you need for a comfortable stay. No TV, and we did not miss it at all. Next visit we will try the wooden room which looks very quaint and very Balinise. Also had a look at the new villas and if you want something more modern with your own pool they are beautiful. It would not matter what room you choose at Tegal Sari ,they would all be amazing and the prices are so very reasonable.
We ate breakfast at their little restaurant at the front. You can choose from set or a la carte. All very nice and well priced.
The accommodation is very close to the main area of Ubud. You can just walk out onto Monkey forest road and 15 minute walk around to main shops and restaurants.Or the other direction along Hanoman Street up to Ubud main street. There are many fantastic Restaurants close by that you can easily walk to. However the Tegal Sari staff are always ready to drop you off or pick up free of charge.
We travelled as a middle aged couple and loved this place. I am sure it would suit any age group and i would highly recommend anyone going to Ubud to consider.You would probably need to book some time in advance to choose a particular room.
All in all one of the best stays we have had in Bali. Thank you Tegal Sari.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank needabreak12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida City, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We were here beginning of Sept for 4 nights. Driver came pick us up at the airport on time and with a big smile on his face. Was dark when check-in, weather was cool and can smell fresh air and hear the crickets and lizards from the padi fields....felt good right away!

4 of us stayed in the new deluxe room, it was spacious, high ceiling and view was breath
taking....green padi with no obstructions!

Booked a full day car rental with them, hotel staff /driver speaks fluent Japanese and he brought us to a local restaurant that served the best fried chicken (of course we invited him to eat with us) and stopped at anywhere we wanted. He helped with my mom on stairs and even carried shopping bags for us...The van was clean and in good condition and service was GREAT!

We ate quite a few meals in their restaurants. Good food and extremely affordable prices.

Also tried massage by the pool, it was ok but the environment just being outdoor was priceless!

Dont bother to change money in the airport, cos you will get better rate in the hotel, they are very fair, honest and I felt like I totally trust them and that they wont take advantage of the foreigners!!

Book ahead and you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NamasteNing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Excellent place! I could not described other words. For the first time, Tegal Sari had shown its friendly and helpful staffs since I reserved room at June 2012. It continued in October when we arrived to this beautiful accommodation. Actually, we reserved superior room, but luckily, there was other guest who didn't enjoy staying at second floor. So that guest took our superior room and as substitute we got his room, which is Wooden Room :) The best luck ever!
The staffs was very informative, they told us about traditional dance show and they also provided shuttle bus to its location. I love how they answered our call, mentioned our name and showed a very respectful attitude. Great personal touch.
It was raining in the morning, so we could not go anywhere. But we enjoyed a very beautiful morning; we had our delicious breakfast at wooden balcony and watched awesome rice field. They build another new rooms and when we checked out, the staffs said goodbye with words: Hope we will meet you soon, and please come again to enjoy our new room :)
I will come back.

Room Tip: Wooden room 16 near to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riexyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed our first three nights in Bali at the Tegal Sari and were very impressed with this small hotel. Peacefull, good sized room and bathroom with our own veranda. The hotel arranged a driver and car for a day and we had a great tour and were very well looked after - and it didnt cost very much, either. The rice field position is lovely and the pool and gardens too. Extremely reasonable pricing.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulineNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 198 in Ubud
590 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#53 of 198 in Ubud
524 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#55 of 198 in Ubud
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#41 of 198 in Ubud
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#44 of 198 in Ubud
1,915 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#27 of 198 in Ubud
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Property: Tegal Sari
Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#9 Family Hotel in Ubud
#27 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tegal Sari 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tegal Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing