We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value”
Review of Tegal Sari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tegal Sari
Ranked #29 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We arrived after a very long day of touring and without a reservation on the recommendation of a friend. They had one budget room on the second floor which we could have but would have to move the next night to a larger deluxe room. The first room was clean and large, had two beds. The next morning we left our luggage in our room so they could move it to our new room, and we set off for the day. There is a lovely stone pool overlooking a rice paddy, all in a calm, quiet setting just behind the busy main street of Ubud. Our second night was in a large room with a sofa, patio with lounging bed, large tub in the bathroom, all overlooking the rice fields. The staff was very friendly. The shuttle was a welcome bonus.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank konacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,584)
There are newer reviews for Tegal Sari
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

657 - 663 of 1,584 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

I just had a lovely holiday in Bali, recharging my batteries. Why I so love Tegal Sari is it is small and harmonius and all the staff are friendly and get to know you well. Its very easy to relax here, with the beauty of the rice terraces surrounding you.

Fresh papaya juice, fresh avocado juice, ginger tea, all available all good and served up with a nice smile and gentle salutation. Fresh Bali Coffee and Tea is provided in your rooms complimentary, and water stations throughout the resort are placed so you may refill your water bottles with bottled purified drinking water for free. it is easy here.

If you like to get away from cocktail bars, loud music, traffic jams, and shopping malls then come visit Ubud. The pace is less frenetic here. Take in the beauty of Tegal Sari, the ponds, the running streams, the orchids, the flowers, orchids, trees and nature, the ducks after rice harvest season, the birds waking you with their song at first light. the sunset over the rice terraces, its all here and abounds, but each visit it is different yet familiar as before. As everchanging are the lifecycles of their the gardens and the rice fields. Take some time out to pamper yourself with in-house Balinese massage in the Tegal Sari massage pavillion. At $9 for an hour massage you'd be mad to miss out! Their pool is small intimate and refreshing on a hot day.

Nearby Ubud has many more spas and great places to buy craft, and eat wonderful food. Tegal Sari provides free transport around the inner zone of Ubud, and a nominal charge of a few dollars if you want to go further afield.

Staying at this Balinese Resort is a nice way to spend some down time in a beautiful part of the island of Bali. Nothing is too much bother and the Team at Tegal Sari treat every guest with respect and great care.

I have been coming here for years and stayed in all standards of accommodation here. Its faultless, I cant recommend this special living treasure enough.....relax and enjoy yourselves as it's easy to do that here at Tegal Sari.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fredtrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

You can see why this is the highest-rated budget accommodation in Ubud -- the rice paddy setting, the stone bottom swimming pool, the big rooms, the wonderful staff...even the welcoming drink they give you. All first-class. But to get a room, that can be difficult. They have their own web-site for booking but instead of letting you book immediately if there is an opening, you have to reply and tell them you are interested and then they send you another e-mail asking for your credit card information. In the meantime, the room is booked from under you. Not sure why they don't let you reserve and book with credit card in one step. While I was denied my first night, they did accommodate me for the next night - but only one night. I was told that 90 percent of their business is repeat and that guests often reserve their next stay when checking out! If you can overcome the hurdle of reservation, it will be worth your while!

Room Tip: If you are rolling the dice to get a room, why not roll sevens and ask for one on the second floor...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dj W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Booking 3 months before, but only get 1 night, the staff is not to much but Very friendly. stay in super deluxe room, second floor with view to rice field. Big room with sitting area. The bathroom have a big bathtub with wonderfull view to ricefield. Fresh air, quite place, green view, nice food. Great experience to stay in here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edisalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We booked Tegal after reading TA reviews and we are definitely not disappointed !
From the first contact - booking via email through their website - we have been treated in a professional yet friendly manner, a lot of hotels in Australia could do with taking a crash course in hotel management here! We have been treated with the utmost courtesy by every staff member we have been in contact with, the check in was efficient and we were treated to a welcome drink while everything was explained to us and our bags were whisked away to our room. We were then escorted to our "super deluxe" room and shown how to get to the restaurant and Monkey Forest Rd. later that evening we were dropped into town for dinner at Fair Warung Balé (please see my review). Breakfast this morning on our verandah overlooking the rice field was magical. We were them dropped into town again and whilst we were there the staff arranged a massage for us at Peritanen, once again we were dropped off and picked up. We head to legian tomorrow but I really wish we had more nights here, never mind we will return:)
Now for the basics-
Beautiful spacious rooms, immaculately clean bathrooms, comfy beds and pillows, laundry service, hair dryer on request, water filters to fill your own water bottles, and our room was $66 a night for two, fantastic value !

Room Tip: We stayed in the super deluxe room - beautiful! Also viewed a one bedroom villa- great for couples...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tindale17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Tegal Sari is a quiet place in UBUD among the rice fields. Very clean, great pool. Book in advance as the hotel is booked even in low season. It is a bit of a walk from the central area but that is okay becasue they have a shuttle that will pick up nd drop off anywhere in UBUD. Staf was wonderful. Very helpful. Also this hotel is close to Yoga Barn.

Stayed: January 2013
3  Thank Evon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I found this hotel based on tripadvisor review. Everything that they said in the review is absolutely correct. I really love this hotel, perfect place to celebrate my birthday. This hotel can be reached through hanoman street and monkey forest street. There are a lot of restaurant, cafe and spa near the hotel. Only few minutes from YogaBarn, beautiful place to meditate. All the hotel staff is very polite and helpful. The hotel can arrange car to drop you into attraction near ubud, like kecak dance and cafe around ubud. They also have bicycle faility for free. I really like the view in my deluxe room. My room surrounded with paddy view. Besides, the room is very good with the amount only idr 550,000. The room is very spacious and the bathroom is very clean. The pancake for breakfast also very delicious, you have to try it. The garden and how they arrange every room and swimming pool is very beautiful. I feel like in the secret garden. I found that there is a room like rapunzel room in this hotel, this room is new and located in the tower. You have to book this hotel 3-6 months before because of always fully booked. I definitely will be back to this hidden gem

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank MissRiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#58 of 199 in Ubud
614 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#53 of 199 in Ubud
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#98 of 199 in Ubud
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#56 of 199 in Ubud
557 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#45 of 199 in Ubud
383 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#31 of 199 in Ubud
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#9 Family Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#23 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £4 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tegal Sari 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Tegal Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing