We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“12 Days in Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tegal Sari

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tegal Sari
Ranked #32 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“12 Days in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have been staying at Tegal Sari since 2009 and every year I think it gets even better. This time on holiday with family (hubby and kids 13 and 9) so we stayed in Villa Sesapi - the one with private pool and kitchen and sitting area. Just love staying here. There is enough space for everyone, should you want a quiet moment. The staff at Tegal Sari are so friendly and welcome you back like it's your second home. The staff do lots of duties at the hotel and you are always greeted with a big smile and a hello, how are you today. Ate most of our breakfasts at Warung Semesta - restaurant on Monkey Forest that is connected to hotel. The staff there are also lovely. Wonderful food at Warung Semesta and great spot to sit and watch the rest of Ubud go by. This year we did a visit to the art village of Keliki - Wee our tour guide was great. This really gave us an idea of how the 'average' Balinese people live. Continue to realise just how lucky we are in Australia. Visted an artist, whose work is apparently very popular in Europe - lovely man who showed us the intricacies of Balinese painting. We all had a go painting in some of his drawings. Then our guide took us for a walk through the rice paddies. A local man working in the fields offered to climb up and grab us a coconut! Our guide then quickly opened it up and produced straw for us to sample - tasted great. The thing I really liked about this trip was as we were walking back to our pick up location our guide stopped and planted a tree. Wee said every time he brings someone on the walk he plants a trip (courtesy of Tegal Sari) and then proceeded to point out ALL the trees he has planted - there were LOTS of them. Good on Tegal Sari for doing this and keeping Bali green. Kids also did the make your own kite, helped by the fellows from Tegal Sari - they all had a ball and then spent a couple of hours our in the rice paddies flying them.

What else can I say about Tegal Sari that all the other reviews here have not already said, it's a wonderful place to stay, location great, service impeccable, food outstanding, staff so welcoming, accommodation fantatic - don't want to rave anymore as it's getting harder to book when we want than ever! Already booked for next year as we know that the word is getting out and more and more people are finding this little piece of heaven in Ubud. And a message for Ketut - hope you like this review too :)

Room Tip: Book early otherwise you won't get in when you want too !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,152
    293
    31
    10
    15
See reviews for
340
618
161
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This hotel is very spacious and relaxing. The view from our ground floor veranda was of rice fields and occasional locals walking through them. Although you are in the heart of Ubud town here, and in walking distance to many good restaurants, the hotel shuttle will take you wherever you wish to go around town at any time. It will even pick you up until 11.00pm if necessary. We were picked up at this time from the Jazz Club (do go on at least one visit here). Although breakfast is not included in the tariff, it is very reasonable and can be delivered to your room after a phone call to reception. A $4.00 breakfast was enough for both of us and we enjoyed eating it on our veranda. We enjoyed reading books from the library also, which was good, as we both suffered from Bali belly whilst staying here (it's almost impossible not to catch it in Bali, because of the lack of sanitation in the country) so having access to books was good as we laid around recovering. Massage was very reasonable here also.

Room Tip: I think most rooms are pretty good, we had a super deluxe as all deluxe rooms were already booked by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I found Tegal Sari via Trip Advisor whilst planning a trip to Bali and was intrigued to why such a reasonably priced & medium starred property was getting such high praise from reviewers.

I wasn’t previously planning a visit to Ubud but curiosity got the better of me and I booked 4 nights in Villa Sesapi during August 13. I was not disappointed.

As highlighted in other reviews, this hotel is very popular and needs to be booked (directly) and paid for a long way in advance. There is no on-line reservation facility so everything is done by email.
Do not let delays in responding concern you as they will get back in touch eventually. I did have some concerns with sharing payment/personal details with Tegal Sari by email but there was no problem in the end and everything was arranged without issue.

The hotel is located near Monkey Forrest (5mins walk) in a series of 2 story villas surrounding a paddy field and interconnected by small winding pathways. Although obviously busy, you would not know that there was anybody else staying in Tegal Sari such is the generosity of space afforded to the hotel complex. This creates an aura of tranquillity and relaxation which is one of the outstanding qualities of the hotel.

I stayed downstairs in Villa Sesapi (Rp 1.5m +10% Tax per night). The villa is at the rear of the complex in one of 2 separate villa buildings. It is a couple of mins walk to reception but more handy for Monkey Forest road and the local shops (Large supermarket right next door).

The villa is a large open plan design consisting of a bedroom, kitchen/living area and bathroom surrounding a private pool and with sliding glass doors on each wall that when open give the impression of a wide open space. Large walls surround the villa on all sides which offer privacy without feeling too enclosed.

I must say that the décor is slightly dated and there is a space in the living area that obviously once hosted a TV which is no longer there (it now has an Ipod docking station that doesn’t work). Normally these things would concern me in a hotel room, but the peaceful and natural atmosphere that Tegal Sari generates made TV and fancy furniture an irrelevant and redundant luxury to us. There is a LCD TV in the bedroom with an overly complex cable box setup for anybody who requires a TV fix.

The pool is excellent (and cold) with a raised sun deck at one end. We used it a lot. Sitting on the sun deck listening to the sound of chirping insects and the gentle trickle of water overflowing from the pool was wonderful and sent myself and my family off into a blissful snooze on several occasions.

Breakfast is not included but can be ordered to the villa (or room) from the hotel restaurant if required. We chose to eat in the restaurant as it was only 2 mins walk from the villa.
As with the hotel, the restaurant is not pretentious in any way and neither is the menu. The food however is very nice and caters to all tastes. We also used the restaurant in the evening on two occasions as my family enjoyed the large vegetarian choice and I enjoyed the very reasonably priced Bintang.

In summary. As with everybody else who reviews Tegal Sari, we loved this place. There is no individual quality that stands out and makes this hotel so wonderful, but it is exactly that… Wonderful.

Tegal sari is well located, well run and well-priced. The peaceful setting and overall calming atmosphere are superb. If you can stretch the extra few dollars and manage to secure Villa Sesapi, I would recommend doing so as it is a fabulous property and a stay that you will not forget.

My daughter uses a wheelchair. This hotel has some ramps and many willing staff to help where they are lacking. The hotel is ok for moderate accessibility needs. I would advise asking the staff to recommend suitable rooms when first booking should you have any special requirements as most of the villas are not accessible.

Room Tip: If one of the villas is available, they are worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yokeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was our best accomodation in all Bali during our 3 weeks trip. Service is just the best you can think about. Always smiling, help you with every request. Very low price if you compare with the service you get. The place is incredible in surrounded by rice fields and rooms are clean and confortable. We even left our luggage there for 5 days and came back after a trip in the north of Bali. I will recommand to anyone. Only one thing, you really need to book in advance (few weeks I guess) if you want the best rooms. We didn't book so we had only the tower rooms but it was also find and quite cheap.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yannick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

All the reviews are true! It's the best place to Ubud. Close to everything and if you are lazy to walk, they have free shuttle. There is no TV in the room but internet speed is great for you to youtube a movie. Cons is you have to book in advance (some people even booked it a year in advance)! We stay at the deluxe room with a great view to the rice field, but the major draw back is there is a lot of lizards at the balcony. So if you are afraid of or hate Lizard, you may want to consider other place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JiaLinANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed in a superior 2 single bed. The quality-price ratio is great. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The quality is more or less the same than most 100 euro hotel in the Netherlands (only with a bit more space at Tegal Sari).

You can walk to the city center in 5-10 min but if you dont want to walk they have a free car ride shuttle all day long.

The service is amazing! I will definitely stay there again!

If you can try to book in advance because they are usually fully booked. Email them and call them right after.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kry_bp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

next month will be my 3rd stay at tegalsari..nice place to stay....cant wait to be back next month
booked 5 months in advace and worth to wait..

restaurant was great...

last nov 2012 we stayed 1 night at superior and move to wooden room for another 2 nights...
last 2005 we stayed at deluxe room.. at that time ..its a new room..

we saw that they built a few rooms. looking forward ..

its a great palce to stay in ubud... love it

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arinizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#56 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#50 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#47 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Property: Tegal Sari
Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#9 Family Hotel in Ubud
#26 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tegal Sari 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing