We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful as always”
Review of Tegal Sari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tegal Sari
Ranked #32 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Wonderful as always”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is my second visit to Tegal Sari and I'm sure it won't be my last.

The property has a variety of very reasonably priced rooms and villas surrounding the rice paddies - most with views. All rooms are very well appointed with comfortable beds and are very clean.

Tegal Sari is located behind the monkey forest, and offers a lovely pool, small gym and massage hut also overlooking the rice paddies,

With rates from AUD $35, Tegal Sari is a wonderful accommodation option to consider.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perthyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,201
    308
    32
    10
    15
See reviews for
353
642
168
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My second visit to Tegal Sari was just as good as my first. Once you get past the booking process (which can be lengthy and frustrating) everything else seems to run smoothly. Rooms are lovely and mostly have spectacular views (though I also stayed in the room with the private walled garden and found that equally charming though different) and the grounds are beautifully maintained. Though on the bottom floor of one of the super deluxe rooms we did not hear any noise from the upstairs room and the rooms are designed so foliage obscures any view of neighbours. Hotel breakfasts are good value, came to the room promptly and hot parts of the meal were hot on delivery. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is great. Ten-fifteen minutes walk up to the main shops and restaurants of either Monkey Forest Rd or JL Hanoman and if you don't feel like walking in the heat the hotel has a free shuttle service for places in the central part of town (and charge reasonable rates for places further afield). I would come to stay at Tegal Sari again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenni941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chittaway bay
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were picked up at airport with ease and transported up to our accommodation for 4 nights. Straight away we knew this would be the perfect setting for our return to Bali after 15 years.
Staff friendly, breakfast perfect,grounds lovely. Pool beautiful and massages nice. Loved our room number 12. Spacious room, bathroom, bathtub and good size balcony..... No problems with mozzies or insects. (however they do supply citronella oil sticks in room and a mozzie zapper)
To wake up every morning to watch the workers in the rice fields was breathtaking. My husband had his camera in hand constantly over the 4 days as there were plenty of photo opportunities
Great location to monkey forest, and not too far to shops, restaurants etc....Hoping to bring the kids here one day as we will certainly be back. Great value at approx $60 p/night.
Renaej
.

Room Tip: room 12, great size balcony, room big.. however not the best room for anyone with mobility issues as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renae j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The first (2006) few stays -- excellent in all ways, at this special place was with friends then with family, the last been over a couple of years ago now. Still we long very much to come back to spend some time at Tegal Sari, and the magical Ubud; and reading the recent reviews about Tegal Sari's consistency just makes us want to do so even more! notwithstanding it's been knocked off its No.1 spot at TA. Some places are special, and this is definitely one such place for us. So summer holiday '14 we look forward to re-visit and then just do very little but relax, stare at the green paddy fields from the balcony whilst eating goodies from Ibu Oka's, can't wait!

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CMT6363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Waking up to the the view of expansive rice fields was a great start to a vacation. We stayed 1 night in a duplex and 3 nights in a super deluxe room and had a great time in both. Everyone at Tegal Sari was genuinely friendly and helpful.

One minor caveat was that since our super deluxe room was on the ground floor, sometimes we had people who had taken a wrong turn look through our windows to realize that they had the wrong room. So I'd recommend a room upstairs for more privacy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bertha122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have been staying at Tegal Sari since 2009 and every year I think it gets even better. This time on holiday with family (hubby and kids 13 and 9) so we stayed in Villa Sesapi - the one with private pool and kitchen and sitting area. Just love staying here. There is enough space for everyone, should you want a quiet moment. The staff at Tegal Sari are so friendly and welcome you back like it's your second home. The staff do lots of duties at the hotel and you are always greeted with a big smile and a hello, how are you today. Ate most of our breakfasts at Warung Semesta - restaurant on Monkey Forest that is connected to hotel. The staff there are also lovely. Wonderful food at Warung Semesta and great spot to sit and watch the rest of Ubud go by. This year we did a visit to the art village of Keliki - Wee our tour guide was great. This really gave us an idea of how the 'average' Balinese people live. Continue to realise just how lucky we are in Australia. Visted an artist, whose work is apparently very popular in Europe - lovely man who showed us the intricacies of Balinese painting. We all had a go painting in some of his drawings. Then our guide took us for a walk through the rice paddies. A local man working in the fields offered to climb up and grab us a coconut! Our guide then quickly opened it up and produced straw for us to sample - tasted great. The thing I really liked about this trip was as we were walking back to our pick up location our guide stopped and planted a tree. Wee said every time he brings someone on the walk he plants a trip (courtesy of Tegal Sari) and then proceeded to point out ALL the trees he has planted - there were LOTS of them. Good on Tegal Sari for doing this and keeping Bali green. Kids also did the make your own kite, helped by the fellows from Tegal Sari - they all had a ball and then spent a couple of hours our in the rice paddies flying them.

What else can I say about Tegal Sari that all the other reviews here have not already said, it's a wonderful place to stay, location great, service impeccable, food outstanding, staff so welcoming, accommodation fantatic - don't want to rave anymore as it's getting harder to book when we want than ever! Already booked for next year as we know that the word is getting out and more and more people are finding this little piece of heaven in Ubud. And a message for Ketut - hope you like this review too :)

Room Tip: Book early otherwise you won't get in when you want too !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This hotel is very spacious and relaxing. The view from our ground floor veranda was of rice fields and occasional locals walking through them. Although you are in the heart of Ubud town here, and in walking distance to many good restaurants, the hotel shuttle will take you wherever you wish to go around town at any time. It will even pick you up until 11.00pm if necessary. We were picked up at this time from the Jazz Club (do go on at least one visit here). Although breakfast is not included in the tariff, it is very reasonable and can be delivered to your room after a phone call to reception. A $4.00 breakfast was enough for both of us and we enjoyed eating it on our veranda. We enjoyed reading books from the library also, which was good, as we both suffered from Bali belly whilst staying here (it's almost impossible not to catch it in Bali, because of the lack of sanitation in the country) so having access to books was good as we laid around recovering. Massage was very reasonable here also.

Room Tip: I think most rooms are pretty good, we had a super deluxe as all deluxe rooms were already booked by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 196 in Ubud
598 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#53 of 196 in Ubud
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#40 of 196 in Ubud
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#55 of 196 in Ubud
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#28 of 196 in Ubud
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Property: Tegal Sari
Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#9 Family Hotel in Ubud
#27 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tegal Sari 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tegal Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing