We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to improve on”
Review of Tegal Sari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tegal Sari
Ranked #33 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing to improve on”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was our favourite place in all of Bali. We travelled as a couple with a 4 year old in August. We will come back here again, we agree with all the positive reviews. This place is heavenly, serene and quiet, wonderful happy staff, and 180 degree rice paddy views yet still walking distance to the central parts of Ubud. The pool is great for kids as it is split level with a large shallow section. We had the super deluxe wooden room, it was gorgeous. Thank you to all the wonderful staff! T'rima Kasi xx

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nanya2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,187
    305
    31
    10
    15
See reviews for
348
639
167
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Short and sweet, this place is nothing short of fantastic!!! If you even bother to read any of the negative reviews (of which there are hardly any), then just ignore them as these people must be just strange and weird! I'm a very well travled person globally, especially in Asia and this has been my second visit to Ubud, so I can safely say you'll be hard pushed to find anywhere better and nicer to stay. I recommend (if you can afford it - this place is still very cheap if your a western traveller) to stay in one of the Super Deluxe rooms. The scenery is amazing as is situated mid two rice paddy fields, the Pool is excellent and maintained perfectly, food and drink are great and it has to have the chepest / most realistic mini bar prices I've ever come across.

In short, don't waste your time reading any more comments or checking other places (life is just too short) and go ahead a book a room here! Trust me.....

PS - If your with young children (we had our two year old with us), yes there isn't soft play areas and kids clubs... but what do you expect you're in Asia and is a cultural hotel not a package holiday at an all inclusive... Our son loved this place, it was safe and if you're a responsible parent not letting your children run riot or be reckless, then your kids will have a fab time... The staff are so respectful and make the children feel immensely welcome. Yes they have Cot beds and most resturants have a High Chairs, so parents if your tempted, just go for it...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Tegal Sari's lived up to its reputation and actually exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed 3 lovely nights in Ubud and wish we had spent more there. The accommodations are clean, beautiful, and comfortable. The super deluxe wooden room overlooking the rice paddies was just magical. Every single personal who works at the Tegal Sari was friendly, always cheerful, helpful, and always greeted us with a smile. It is truly a remarkable staff. The grounds are lovely and the food was delicious. The location is wonderful as I could walk to the Yoga Barn, or stroll all the way into town if I wished. However, they provide free transportation into town as well.

I can't wait to return to Ubud and the Tegal Sari.

Room Tip: Enjoy a $8 massage outdoors next to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueziQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is my second visit to Tegal Sari and I'm sure it won't be my last.

The property has a variety of very reasonably priced rooms and villas surrounding the rice paddies - most with views. All rooms are very well appointed with comfortable beds and are very clean.

Tegal Sari is located behind the monkey forest, and offers a lovely pool, small gym and massage hut also overlooking the rice paddies,

With rates from AUD $35, Tegal Sari is a wonderful accommodation option to consider.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perthyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My second visit to Tegal Sari was just as good as my first. Once you get past the booking process (which can be lengthy and frustrating) everything else seems to run smoothly. Rooms are lovely and mostly have spectacular views (though I also stayed in the room with the private walled garden and found that equally charming though different) and the grounds are beautifully maintained. Though on the bottom floor of one of the super deluxe rooms we did not hear any noise from the upstairs room and the rooms are designed so foliage obscures any view of neighbours. Hotel breakfasts are good value, came to the room promptly and hot parts of the meal were hot on delivery. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is great. Ten-fifteen minutes walk up to the main shops and restaurants of either Monkey Forest Rd or JL Hanoman and if you don't feel like walking in the heat the hotel has a free shuttle service for places in the central part of town (and charge reasonable rates for places further afield). I would come to stay at Tegal Sari again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenni941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chittaway bay
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were picked up at airport with ease and transported up to our accommodation for 4 nights. Straight away we knew this would be the perfect setting for our return to Bali after 15 years.
Staff friendly, breakfast perfect,grounds lovely. Pool beautiful and massages nice. Loved our room number 12. Spacious room, bathroom, bathtub and good size balcony..... No problems with mozzies or insects. (however they do supply citronella oil sticks in room and a mozzie zapper)
To wake up every morning to watch the workers in the rice fields was breathtaking. My husband had his camera in hand constantly over the 4 days as there were plenty of photo opportunities
Great location to monkey forest, and not too far to shops, restaurants etc....Hoping to bring the kids here one day as we will certainly be back. Great value at approx $60 p/night.
Renaej
.

Room Tip: room 12, great size balcony, room big.. however not the best room for anyone with mobility issues as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renae j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The first (2006) few stays -- excellent in all ways, at this special place was with friends then with family, the last been over a couple of years ago now. Still we long very much to come back to spend some time at Tegal Sari, and the magical Ubud; and reading the recent reviews about Tegal Sari's consistency just makes us want to do so even more! notwithstanding it's been knocked off its No.1 spot at TA. Some places are special, and this is definitely one such place for us. So summer holiday '14 we look forward to re-visit and then just do very little but relax, stare at the green paddy fields from the balcony whilst eating goodies from Ibu Oka's, can't wait!

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CMT6363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 198 in Ubud
587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#52 of 198 in Ubud
510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#44 of 198 in Ubud
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#56 of 198 in Ubud
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#29 of 198 in Ubud
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Property: Tegal Sari
Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#9 Family Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#27 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tegal Sari 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tegal Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing