We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not sure what all the fuss was about”
Review of Tegal Sari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tegal Sari
Ranked #33 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Collie, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“not sure what all the fuss was about”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We picked this hotel because there was so much raving about it and it had won trip advisor awards, sure it was nice but we had stayed at the Saren Indah on our previous trip and that was a much better hotel. Don't get me wrong it is deffinatly a beautiful hotel rooms were fantastic, didn't see much of the staff so cant say about them, just I think there are better up in Ubud

Room Tip: we had a duplex room very nice, has outdoor private spa big enough for 2 people. be aware this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,200
    308
    32
    10
    15
See reviews for
353
642
168
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had a BFF reunion, party of fourteen people, who came from Montreal, Basel, Melbourne and Jakarta, We rented 1 Villa, 2 Super Deluxe rooms and 1 Standard room and some extra beds.
We loved the place and the service given by the hotel staffs; superb!!
Opening our curtain in our super deluxe room, we could see rice fields of Ubud, a view we did not have in the cities we lived.
In our rented villa, we have swimming pool, where our 2 teens could enjoy swimming all the time, without worrying to share the facility with other hotel's guests. They loved it! The villa is provided with living and dining room, enough space for all of us to have a nice post-dinner gathering, enjoying wines and its pairing. It was a perfect BFF reunion, everybody was very happy, thank you Tegal Sari!

Room Tip: If you want to have a broader view of rice field, get a super deluxe on 2nd floor. Otherwise, the 1s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnggyGustiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

OK can you keep a secret - Tegal Sari is a gem of a hotel in Ubud. It is centrally located, not too big to be pretentious and small enough to have that intimate feel. This was my third time there and the consistency in standards across the years always amazes me. The staff are by far Tegal Sari's greatest asset. They stop and chat, and can never do enough for you. Rooms (I stayed in a super deluxe) are very clean, comfortable, spacious and the grounds are kept immaculate. Having a room-service breakfast each morning overlooking the rice paddies was the ultimate way to start the day. I've already booked my stay at Tegal Sari for next year!

Room Tip: The super deluxe wooden rooms are fantastic value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 24Happytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungun, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Hotel just beside paddy field. Friendly staff, we check in quite late due to delay of our flight but the staff was so friend and greet us with a smile and took our tiredness away. Welcome drinks await for us at reception. Room was okay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amylklim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

As usual ,the reviews on Trip Advisor were bang on target. Tegal Sari is simply wonderful.
At the reception we were given a welcome drink and an introduction to the hotel facilities and layout. The hotel is sort of ' T ' shaped, so it turns out that most rooms have quite a view.
We were in room 23. It is more like a cottage. From the front of our room what was visible were the rice fields, and more rice fields beyond. Yet , across the opposite side of our room was the road to the Sacred Monkey Sanctuary , with restaurants and taxis and a shopping centre. Anyone looking out the front of our room would be forgiven for thinking that we were in a remote Bali countryside location.
All the staff gave it their very best at arranging all our local trips apart from thinking out the finer details to make all our sightseeing very comfortable.
The restaurant at the hotel is really good value for money and clean. The grub is yummy.
The people at the hotel including Putu, Sudharth and Sureka were the embodiment of the finest Balinese hospitality and deserve all praise.
My only grouse perhaps is the reservation system which needs a redo.
To those planning a trip. Book really well in advance . The hotel is top notch and in top demand !!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremyBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Very cozy hotel. Staff are extremely friendly! Walk 5 mins to yoga barn so it is good for yoga-lover if you do not want to stay in the yoga barn guesthouse. Everything is in good condition and room price is really reasonable. Many good restaurants nearby. Highly recommend it if you want to stay in Ubud center.

And remember to bring your insect repellant since there are lots mosquito in that area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Su N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Tegal Sari is close to everything but being a few hundred metres back from a main road and nestled against 2 rice fields makes it feel worlds away. The rooms are not the newest or fanciest, they are however large clean and comfortable. Breakfast is served on your front porch overlooking the rice fields or in the restaurant. The pool is adorable and so refreshing after a long day site seeing. The staff were the most accommodating in Bali and only to eager to help. Will definitely be back if I'm ever in Ubud again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AALouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 196 in Ubud
598 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#53 of 196 in Ubud
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#41 of 196 in Ubud
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#55 of 196 in Ubud
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#28 of 196 in Ubud
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Property: Tegal Sari
Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#9 Family Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#28 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tegal Sari 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tegal Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing