We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, wonderful location”
Review of Tegal Sari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tegal Sari
Ranked #32 of 197 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great value, wonderful location”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Very reasonably priced for what you get. Service is great, staff are all friendly and smiling, very easy to arrange driver/shows/massage/ etc with front desk. I stayed in the wooden room for 9 days (booked in 6 months in advance), which was wonderful, and evidently in high demand according to the staff.

Amazing layout, rooms are stretched out along a walk path between two rice fields, with most rooms having views across rice field to monkey forest. Several strategically placed water stations to refill your plastic water bottle for drinking water.

Food was also very good. Both onsite restaurants (smaller one by lobby for breakfast/lunch and larger by monkey road entrance which is also for dinner) have quick and attentive service compared to the usual Ubud standard. View from veranda over rice paddies is amazing, watching the ducks come in while the sun set over monkey forest was beautiful. Room was clean and well kept. As a side note, lite sleepers may want to bring ear plugs, the frog song at night can get loud, as it woke me up a couple of time :).

Room Tip: Wooden room requires booking well in advance, based on view from wooden room (which is on stilts) be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shadowsmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,193
    305
    32
    10
    15
See reviews for
350
642
167
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Most of the rooms have unbeatable views of the rice fields and nature, and this is quite rare for hotels in Bali. Comfortable mattresses and bedding, with nice functioning a/c to complement (a must on hot sunny days in Bali, even in Ubud). The general layout of the property is very interesting, especially in the evening: walking towards your room/villa is like wandering the small alley of a local village. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Location-wise: it's located on a mildly busy street towards downtown Ubud, which is walk-able. Lots of cafes/restos around with good food for good money.

Room Tip: The renovated villas at the back have nice private pools. Super deluxe rooms have great views toward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8degreessouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Another lovely stay with u again 4 nights good value, service all with a friendly smile!!
your new villas look great... but for us the WOODEN ROOM is the bestest....... More of those would be good!!
Also we found ...as u do... every time we go to Bali....something different... Made Spa and beauty salon outside near Arma Museum and Resort Jalan Raya Pengosekan.
Let me say ultimately the best traditional bali massage ever!!!! ..... if u have a liking for a strong massage, pleasant clean surroundings and great value ....(Rp.60.000 for 1hour)
Thankyou Putu and Ketut to us you are legendary!!!.
I also found a painting class for 2 hrs with I Nyoman Suarsa on Jl Hanoman No.65 Padang Tegal Ubud... for Rp500.000 ...inspiring time ..... painting and talking with him was awesome and you come out with your own masterpiece. Until the next time Thank you Bali :)))))

Room Tip: Book way in advance.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gizmoPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Me and husband stayed here only for 1 night. I was curious why this place so famous and we decided to booked super deluxe wooden room #32.
I booked through email since Jan, and did full payment as well. Trust me, TS is that famous so you should book your room min 3-4 months before your arrival.

First impression was just okay. But when we came, staffs gave us ice lemon tea when we're waiting our room get prepared. Like others said, the staffs were really friendly, every single staff greet us and smile. They also gave us small tour on our way to room.

Room #32 was really clean, spacious and beautiful, you got what you've seen in pictures. We even have a bed in our balcony. it was so good lying on balcony and enjoying sunset or morning atmosphere. TS was soooo relaxing.

We gave a try for their massage, only IDR 95,000. It was really good, you should try them. And we also rent a motorcycle for IDR 50,000/day for our Ubud trip. We recommend you to use motorcycle instead of car for exploring Ubud.

It feels like home when stayed here, the atmosphere was really calm and quite. so relaxing even in Bali hot days. What a great experience to stayed here, and sure we'll come back for longer stay in Tegal Sari.

Room Tip: Better stay on upstairs if you don't bring babies or toddlers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pretty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We first stayed at Tegal Sari in June 2011 and fell in love instantly. We returned in May 2014 and it is just as beautiful. We had spent the first part of our holiday in Kuta and Sanur. When we arrived at Tegal Sari we realised nothing beats this place. The staff remembered us from 3 years ago and were friendly and welcoming. Our room was luxurious and made us feel that we were the only people staying there. The outlook over the rice fields was relaxing and interesting. A quiet and peaceful place to stay with everything available. Tegal Sari believe in a restful stay so there are no televisions in any rooms.....bliss! We will be back again soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. Just book within your budget. You wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I made a mistake of staying there for 3 nights. The plus points are: Room is big, air is fresh(nothing great about the padi field. There are other hotels with padi field view too). Quiet surrounding but it gets noisy from as early as 5am with the insects/birds chirping and padi farmers talking at 6am.

Minus points: 1.5 to 2 hrs away from city/Semiyak/Kuta. Not many facilities. Swimming pool is very small.

Good to stay for one night. I started to get bored after the second night.

Smarter option is to stay one night in Ubud, one night in Semiyak and one night in Kuta.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiketoTravel288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed at Tegal for 2 nights, I was able to make a last minute booking for a deluxe king room, which was fantastic. I had a room with great air conditioning (you will need it in most places in Bali) and it overlooked the rice fields. Stunning. They had just been harvested before I got there, but offered some lovely reflections in the evening.

My room was clean, tidy, large, king size bed, balcony, it was up stairs - say 1st floor, the stairs were quite steep, however not a problem for me. They had porters who took my luggage up there which was really great. This was not a crowded resort, in fact I found is lovely and quiet. They do have a pool and spa facilities available.

Outside the Tegal are some fantastic restaurants and lots of shops if you need to buy some souvenirs etc.

For the price I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 197 in Ubud
591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#53 of 197 in Ubud
524 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#55 of 197 in Ubud
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#41 of 197 in Ubud
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#44 of 197 in Ubud
1,918 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#26 of 197 in Ubud
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Property: Tegal Sari
Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#9 Family Hotel in Ubud
#26 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tegal Sari 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tegal Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing