We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Place”
Review of Tegal Sari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tegal Sari
Ranked #30 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Have been very remiss as I stayed for 5 days back in mid May at Tegal Sari and this is the first chance to post. Stayed in Room 30 Superior Deluxe. Love these rooms as they face on to the rice pads so beautiful views all the time. Great spot for waiting for sunrise with morning cuppa and watching the birds fly home with a G & T in hand. Room always spotless and clean. Staff are wonderful - always happy to help, welcome you and offer assistance. Ate most of my meals at Warung Semesta - food always delicious - never had any problems and this is the 8th time I have stayed at Tegal Sari and had many meals there. Pool was never busy - sometimes I was the only one floating around ! Everyone asks me why I keep going back to Tegal Sari - the answer is - it's now my second home and I feel really welcome there. But it seems to be getting harder to book as more and more people are wanting to stay !! Going back with family in August for our annual family holiday and we have booked Villa Sesapi - I saw the building works at the hotel next door when I was there in May - so assume there will be some noise - but Tegal Sari really can't anticipate that - it's not there works. Ketut - hope you are still reading my posts - I love writing about TS. See you in August.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,583)
There are newer reviews for Tegal Sari
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 423 of 1,584 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was our first time in Ubud although we were travelling with friends who have visited a number of times and who made the booking at this lovely hotel. We were immediately struck by how friendly and helpful the staff was and this impression did not falter throughout our stay. Our friend had booked two Super Deluxe Wooden rooms and they were perfect. The room was attractively appointed and had comfortable beds with very much appreciated mosquito nets - nothing other than these really keeps these little critters off you in Bali. The best feature of these rooms is the large balcony with a sweeping view across the rice fields to the Monkey Forest. The balcony has comfortable chairs and a day bed that was perfect for the odd power nap. We had breakfast on the balcony every morning and it was delicious and delivered at the time we requested. We also did a cooking class through the hotel and had an extremely enjoyable, delicious and very filling morning - Wayan was a great teacher. We also liked Tegal Sari's location which is a bit away from the hustle and bustle of Ubud; don't ever go there thinking this is a sleepy little town.

So, to the building construction. Without this I would have given the hotel 5 stars but this would not be an honest and frank review if it was not mentioned and taken into account at this time. While the staff are very apologetic and claim it goes from 8am to 8pm they acknowledge it often went later - and it did - sometimes until 9.30pm. It was intrusive on the first of the 6 days we stayed but after that we started to get used to it although the banging of metal on metal was always a bit jarring. Tegal Sari claims the building works will be finished by December but it doesn't really look that way. So if you are planning on staying here before then ask if your room backs on to this site and if it does - and all their villas do - you should take your tolerance for noise into account.

Room Tip: At this time, take the noise of the building site into account. Loved the room we stayed in.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mini_d51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

we have spent a week in this hotel and we were very pleased ! Everything was great. The staff was exceptionnal, the rooms were very clean and tidy. We have organised all our tours with the hotel, the service was amazing.Not to talk about the food which was delicious ! Thank you to all the staff for this stay. Mister Matt and Miss Emilie :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chezmattetemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Tegal Sari, as its name suggest, is very beautiful place. Its in heart of the city, yet its secluded from crowd. The staff is too polite and happy to help always. Tegal sari's own restaurant serves excellent food. There are couple of good restau nearby. monkey forest is on walkable distance.
Highly recommended for visitors in Ubud.

Room Tip: wooden deluxe room is good choice.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaibhav A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Third stay there now. Loved the first two visits last year. Would have loved third visit except for the building site going on right beside Pool Villa Sesapi. The worst noise ever going on from approx 7 am to 10 pm. - unbearable. The workers slept on this site. There was really some noise at all times.

What upset me even more was that we paid 1.5million for this per night. Our two friends turned up two days after that and they were offered the other pool villa, Villa Bambu for 1.1million. They are both normally 1.5million. They declined because of the noise.

One of the toilets was flushing continually. They were unable to fix.

Two of us was very ill for two days after eating breakfast from their cafe Semester on our first day. Didn't eat there again.

It was such a shame about the noise and I expect it will go on for some time.

Apart from the fact that we had the extreme noise and they did not forewarn us, and then to have the cheaper offer to my friends was very upsetting. Tegal didn't know that we knew these people. Big mistake. Very disappointed with Tegal and won't be going back.

Shame because in the past stayed in Villa Bambu which I loved. Loved Villa Sesapi even more. Would have loved to go back. But not after what happened in May.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank GypsyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Peaceful and just felt as if we were living in the rice fields. Highly recommend Tegal Sari, attentive staff and nothing was too hard for them and always with a smile, Thank you for making our wedding anniversary memorable. Will be back soon.

Room Tip: Any room just as long as it has a view of the rice fields
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexS1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed in a Superior Room at Tegal Sari throughout my stay in Bali. At the beginning, I was impressed that the staff had patiently waited for me to come out from the airport's arrival, despite of my flight's delay. And by the time I reached Tegal Sari, it was already near 10pm. The staff at the reception still handled my check-in with smiles all over his face and led me to my room before showing me around the hotel.

When I woke up in the morning, I realised that the paddy field view was right in front of my room. How lovely. I then decided to take a walk around the hotel and I must say that the views within the hotel's compound were simply stunning.

Also, the hotel simply impressed me with all the services, like room service, tasty breakfast, daily housekeeping of my room, free shuttle service to Ubud's centre, towel for my swim at the pool and free re-fill of my own water bottle, and many more.

Now I totally understood why Tegal Sari is a Travellers' Choice Winner again and again. I would definitely love to stay at this hotel when I am to visit Bali again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Agnes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#58 of 199 in Ubud
614 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#53 of 199 in Ubud
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#97 of 199 in Ubud
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#56 of 199 in Ubud
554 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#43 of 199 in Ubud
379 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#31 of 199 in Ubud
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#9 Family Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#24 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £4 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tegal Sari 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tegal Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing