We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place in Ubud”
Review of Tegal Sari

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ubud
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tegal Sari
Ranked #25 of 200 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

delightful large rooms with balconies overlooking rice paddies. the hotel has expanded over the years so it is a bit "overwhelming" initially but hte long strip of rooms among the rice fields is a delight. the restaurants bring breakfast and other meals to your room without out extra charge. what a delight to have breakfast on our own balcony in the AM watching the wildlife and rice.
very convenient location, near the Monkey Forest and the nearby sites. bring good walking shoes and hats, the walks are longer than the maps seem to indicate. took 2 great walks for 2-3 hours south and north of Ubud. the only thing this hotel does NOT have is outdoor bathrooms!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingolfvogeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

447 - 453 of 1,628 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was our 2nd stay at the Tegal sari and we were delighted to be able to book the super deluxe wooden room as this is in such a beautiful position overlooking the rice fields. BUT - only a few weeks before our arrival we received an email informing us that there was construction going on nearby during the day and advised us of that we might want to cancel due to the noise. This was all fair and reasonable until you realise that the 100% refund applied only up to 2weeks before arrival and we were staying at peak season time leaving us little time to book a similar style of place in Ubud.
When we decided that we could put up with the noise as we would be out and about during the day, it seemed OK but when we arrived we found that the banging started at 8am and often went past 9 at night. Not all rooms were affected and the worse by far we're the villas that are right next to the new construction.
Of course the staff were very apologetic and the service and quality of food and facilities excellent, but if you have booked a room you may want to ask if the noise will affect you. In the end we were able to sleep and relax despite the banging and drilling but others may not be so lucky. The project is due to finish by January, but again, I would be wary of this completion date.
My only other small criticism is the location of the shower head and soap and shampoo dispensers. Why do they have to be up so high?
A big bonus was the cooking school. This was so good and the instruction and menu outstanding. Wayan's English and culinary skills are both excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank balihappy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Have been very remiss as I stayed for 5 days back in mid May at Tegal Sari and this is the first chance to post. Stayed in Room 30 Superior Deluxe. Love these rooms as they face on to the rice pads so beautiful views all the time. Great spot for waiting for sunrise with morning cuppa and watching the birds fly home with a G & T in hand. Room always spotless and clean. Staff are wonderful - always happy to help, welcome you and offer assistance. Ate most of my meals at Warung Semesta - food always delicious - never had any problems and this is the 8th time I have stayed at Tegal Sari and had many meals there. Pool was never busy - sometimes I was the only one floating around ! Everyone asks me why I keep going back to Tegal Sari - the answer is - it's now my second home and I feel really welcome there. But it seems to be getting harder to book as more and more people are wanting to stay !! Going back with family in August for our annual family holiday and we have booked Villa Sesapi - I saw the building works at the hotel next door when I was there in May - so assume there will be some noise - but Tegal Sari really can't anticipate that - it's not there works. Ketut - hope you are still reading my posts - I love writing about TS. See you in August.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was our first time in Ubud although we were travelling with friends who have visited a number of times and who made the booking at this lovely hotel. We were immediately struck by how friendly and helpful the staff was and this impression did not falter throughout our stay. Our friend had booked two Super Deluxe Wooden rooms and they were perfect. The room was attractively appointed and had comfortable beds with very much appreciated mosquito nets - nothing other than these really keeps these little critters off you in Bali. The best feature of these rooms is the large balcony with a sweeping view across the rice fields to the Monkey Forest. The balcony has comfortable chairs and a day bed that was perfect for the odd power nap. We had breakfast on the balcony every morning and it was delicious and delivered at the time we requested. We also did a cooking class through the hotel and had an extremely enjoyable, delicious and very filling morning - Wayan was a great teacher. We also liked Tegal Sari's location which is a bit away from the hustle and bustle of Ubud; don't ever go there thinking this is a sleepy little town.

So, to the building construction. Without this I would have given the hotel 5 stars but this would not be an honest and frank review if it was not mentioned and taken into account at this time. While the staff are very apologetic and claim it goes from 8am to 8pm they acknowledge it often went later - and it did - sometimes until 9.30pm. It was intrusive on the first of the 6 days we stayed but after that we started to get used to it although the banging of metal on metal was always a bit jarring. Tegal Sari claims the building works will be finished by December but it doesn't really look that way. So if you are planning on staying here before then ask if your room backs on to this site and if it does - and all their villas do - you should take your tolerance for noise into account.

Room Tip: At this time, take the noise of the building site into account. Loved the room we stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mini_d51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

we have spent a week in this hotel and we were very pleased ! Everything was great. The staff was exceptionnal, the rooms were very clean and tidy. We have organised all our tours with the hotel, the service was amazing.Not to talk about the food which was delicious ! Thank you to all the staff for this stay. Mister Matt and Miss Emilie :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chezmattetemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Tegal Sari, as its name suggest, is very beautiful place. Its in heart of the city, yet its secluded from crowd. The staff is too polite and happy to help always. Tegal sari's own restaurant serves excellent food. There are couple of good restau nearby. monkey forest is on walkable distance.
Highly recommended for visitors in Ubud.

Room Tip: wooden deluxe room is good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaibhav A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Third stay there now. Loved the first two visits last year. Would have loved third visit except for the building site going on right beside Pool Villa Sesapi. The worst noise ever going on from approx 7 am to 10 pm. - unbearable. The workers slept on this site. There was really some noise at all times.

What upset me even more was that we paid 1.5million for this per night. Our two friends turned up two days after that and they were offered the other pool villa, Villa Bambu for 1.1million. They are both normally 1.5million. They declined because of the noise.

One of the toilets was flushing continually. They were unable to fix.

Two of us was very ill for two days after eating breakfast from their cafe Semester on our first day. Didn't eat there again.

It was such a shame about the noise and I expect it will go on for some time.

Apart from the fact that we had the extreme noise and they did not forewarn us, and then to have the cheaper offer to my friends was very upsetting. Tegal didn't know that we knew these people. Big mistake. Very disappointed with Tegal and won't be going back.

Shame because in the past stayed in Villa Bambu which I loved. Loved Villa Sesapi even more. Would have loved to go back. But not after what happened in May.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank GypsyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#15 of 200 in Ubud
376 reviews
1.6 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 200 in Ubud
303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alam Indah
Alam Indah
#71 of 200 in Ubud
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#50 of 200 in Ubud
554 reviews
0.4 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#33 of 200 in Ubud
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#7 Family Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#20 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £4 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tegal Sari 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing