We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy stay. Friendly staffs. Poor wifi signal”
Review of Tegal Sari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tegal Sari
Ranked #32 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cozy stay. Friendly staffs. Poor wifi signal”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I have to say that this is the most famous hotel in Ubud. If you dont use any driver service, it could be quite hard to notice this hotel at first but no worries, everyone in Ubud knows this place. Even it is located a little bit out of the heart of Ubud center but it has 2 exits on both famous walking street of Ubud and also provides 24Hr free shuttle service for their guests so the distance isnt a problem at all. My 1 night stay at Tegal Sari was very pleasant. Their staffs are very friendly and helpful. The room (mine was the rice-field-view room type) was actually average. Please note that there is no TV in the room, breakfast are not included in the room rate and wifi signal in my room was more than awful.
Tips : book at least 4 months in advance because the only mean of booking this hotel is sending an e-mail directly to the hotel and wait for their reply which took around 3 weeks!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank tipthailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,187
    305
    31
    10
    15
See reviews for
348
639
167
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Tegal Sari is on the outskirts of the Monkey Forrest in Ubud town and is truly a great place to stay.
We stayed in the Duplex which is 2 levels and includes a private spa big enough for 3. The view over the rice paddies from the main balcony is unforgettable.
The staff were so attentive and helpful with our every need.
It's located close enough to town to walk in but they do offer a complimentary shuttle bus as well.
They also offer complimentary water refills which is great in Bali!
Will be back next time for sure!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
65 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have stayed two nights there. First, rooms are wide and well equipped and its design is traditional Balinese style. Second, the rice field view from the balcony is amazing. Third, the location is at the beginning of Monkey Forest Road and it's good to visit Monkey Forest Sanctuary. Last, staff are kind and skilled. It was great experience to stay there!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryNoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

delightful large rooms with balconies overlooking rice paddies. the hotel has expanded over the years so it is a bit "overwhelming" initially but hte long strip of rooms among the rice fields is a delight. the restaurants bring breakfast and other meals to your room without out extra charge. what a delight to have breakfast on our own balcony in the AM watching the wildlife and rice.
very convenient location, near the Monkey Forest and the nearby sites. bring good walking shoes and hats, the walks are longer than the maps seem to indicate. took 2 great walks for 2-3 hours south and north of Ubud. the only thing this hotel does NOT have is outdoor bathrooms!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingolfvogeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was our 2nd stay at the Tegal sari and we were delighted to be able to book the super deluxe wooden room as this is in such a beautiful position overlooking the rice fields. BUT - only a few weeks before our arrival we received an email informing us that there was construction going on nearby during the day and advised us of that we might want to cancel due to the noise. This was all fair and reasonable until you realise that the 100% refund applied only up to 2weeks before arrival and we were staying at peak season time leaving us little time to book a similar style of place in Ubud.
When we decided that we could put up with the noise as we would be out and about during the day, it seemed OK but when we arrived we found that the banging started at 8am and often went past 9 at night. Not all rooms were affected and the worse by far we're the villas that are right next to the new construction.
Of course the staff were very apologetic and the service and quality of food and facilities excellent, but if you have booked a room you may want to ask if the noise will affect you. In the end we were able to sleep and relax despite the banging and drilling but others may not be so lucky. The project is due to finish by January, but again, I would be wary of this completion date.
My only other small criticism is the location of the shower head and soap and shampoo dispensers. Why do they have to be up so high?
A big bonus was the cooking school. This was so good and the instruction and menu outstanding. Wayan's English and culinary skills are both excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank balihappy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Have been very remiss as I stayed for 5 days back in mid May at Tegal Sari and this is the first chance to post. Stayed in Room 30 Superior Deluxe. Love these rooms as they face on to the rice pads so beautiful views all the time. Great spot for waiting for sunrise with morning cuppa and watching the birds fly home with a G & T in hand. Room always spotless and clean. Staff are wonderful - always happy to help, welcome you and offer assistance. Ate most of my meals at Warung Semesta - food always delicious - never had any problems and this is the 8th time I have stayed at Tegal Sari and had many meals there. Pool was never busy - sometimes I was the only one floating around ! Everyone asks me why I keep going back to Tegal Sari - the answer is - it's now my second home and I feel really welcome there. But it seems to be getting harder to book as more and more people are wanting to stay !! Going back with family in August for our annual family holiday and we have booked Villa Sesapi - I saw the building works at the hotel next door when I was there in May - so assume there will be some noise - but Tegal Sari really can't anticipate that - it's not there works. Ketut - hope you are still reading my posts - I love writing about TS. See you in August.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
291 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was our first time in Ubud although we were travelling with friends who have visited a number of times and who made the booking at this lovely hotel. We were immediately struck by how friendly and helpful the staff was and this impression did not falter throughout our stay. Our friend had booked two Super Deluxe Wooden rooms and they were perfect. The room was attractively appointed and had comfortable beds with very much appreciated mosquito nets - nothing other than these really keeps these little critters off you in Bali. The best feature of these rooms is the large balcony with a sweeping view across the rice fields to the Monkey Forest. The balcony has comfortable chairs and a day bed that was perfect for the odd power nap. We had breakfast on the balcony every morning and it was delicious and delivered at the time we requested. We also did a cooking class through the hotel and had an extremely enjoyable, delicious and very filling morning - Wayan was a great teacher. We also liked Tegal Sari's location which is a bit away from the hustle and bustle of Ubud; don't ever go there thinking this is a sleepy little town.

So, to the building construction. Without this I would have given the hotel 5 stars but this would not be an honest and frank review if it was not mentioned and taken into account at this time. While the staff are very apologetic and claim it goes from 8am to 8pm they acknowledge it often went later - and it did - sometimes until 9.30pm. It was intrusive on the first of the 6 days we stayed but after that we started to get used to it although the banging of metal on metal was always a bit jarring. Tegal Sari claims the building works will be finished by December but it doesn't really look that way. So if you are planning on staying here before then ask if your room backs on to this site and if it does - and all their villas do - you should take your tolerance for noise into account.

Room Tip: At this time, take the noise of the building site into account. Loved the room we stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mini_d51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 198 in Ubud
587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#53 of 198 in Ubud
508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 198 in Ubud
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#56 of 198 in Ubud
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.2 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#28 of 198 in Ubud
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tegal Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tegal Sari

Property: Tegal Sari
Address: Hanoman Street Padang Tegal, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ubud
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#9 Family Hotel in Ubud
#27 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tegal Sari 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tegal Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tegal Sari Hotel Ubud
Tegal Sari Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing